We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be the nº 1”
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suite 259
Ranked #113 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Suite 259 was an awesome experience in Amsterdam. This was the 2nd time we were in Amsterdam and it was the most pleasant stay. The room are huge, top in everything, cleaning, confort, decoration, breakfast, location, open fridge, compliments, etc. I cant complain in anything. For sure i would stay with them again when I come back to Amsterdam. Congratulations Peter and Aziz ! We miss you so much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victorkpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Suite 259 from May 2 - May 6. The hosts, Peter and Aziz, were just wonderful. We stayed in the Safari suite which was huge. Some reviewers mentioned the noise from the street. We didn't hear a thing. There was more than enough room and we were supplied with all amentities we might need: a tv, fridge, coffee pot with supplies, a bottle of wine, etc. And best of all we were served amazing breakfasts every morning at the time of our choosing. One day our hosts took our picture and by that evening it was in a frame waiting for us in our room when we returned at the end of the day.
The hotel is a short tram ride from the center of Amsterdam. But, since Amsterdam is so compact, we usually walked everywhere.
I highly recommend you stay at Suitte 259 when you come to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There are just two rooms. We never saw the larger suite so we cannot compare them. But, from readi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had a really lovely stay. Peter and Azziz were super friendly and very helpful. They helped us buy tickets and plan our trip. The Safari Suite was beautiful and very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend it.
Arica

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank wilddave18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed in the Safari Suite, which is a beautful room, with everything you could need (fridge, coffee machine, spa bath, fresh flowers, wine, chocolates). Peter and Aziz are great, friendly hosts and the breakfasts are fantastic. Great location - 15mins on a tram into town, head to the park just a couple of minutes away, and great restaurants nearby.

The only thing I'd say, is that Safari Suite is at the front of the building and whilst it does have great double glazing, there's still some noise from the street. It didn't bother us, but if you were looking for silence to get to sleep then you might want to head to the back of the house (Grand Safari).

Peter/Aziz - thanks for a fantastic holiday and if/when we come again we will bring the kids.

Room Tip: Safari Suite - front of the house, a bit of street noise (but double glazed, so really, not a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is our second stay at Suite 259; we stayed here in 2004. Today, Suite259 is still just as lovely, friendly, warm, welcoming and homely as I remember from back then.

Peter and Aziz are fantastically hospitable and friendly hosts. If you have any questions about attractions or locations that you plan to visit, they are very happy to give you tips on what's worth seeing and the best ways/times to see it. They are friendly without it seeming false or sycophantic - it's not over-the-top and you get the impression that they are genuinely interested to making your stay fun and enjoyable.
Peter even gave us a little framed photo he'd taken of us enjoying the amazing breakfast one morning (see later in the review), as a memento to take home with us - a nice little touch.

The accommodation is on the first/second floor of a large traditional town-house style building, which apparently used to be a bakery.

Suite 259 is located on Overtoom, which is a main road (used to be a canal, in fact) running from the south-west end of the city centre, adjacent to Vondel Park. It is a quiet residential type area - there are shops and restaurants along the road but you won't find any rowdy groups of tourists like you can sometimes get in the city centre or red light district.
If you are visiting for the museums or large diamond houses, then this is the perfect location: a short walk through the lovely Vondelpark (complete with semi-wild green parakeets!) will take you straight to the main museum area of town.
It's relatively easy to walk into the centre of town from Suite259, but you can catch the number 1 tram if you'd like to save your legs for exploring the streets and canals of the centre. The tram stop is about 100yds further down Overtoom, so it's very close.

This visit was our (belated) honeymoon, so we decided to book the smaller 'Safari' suite - recommended as best for honeymoon couples on the suite259 web site and we thought we'd save a little cost vs the large 'Grana Sahara' suite where we had stayed previously.
Upon arrival, Peter met us at the door, helped with our bags and offered us a free upgrade to the larger suite which we eagerly accepted - fantastic! :)

The Grand Sahara suite is large, airy, bright and has a nice homely feel to it. It is immaculately clean and it's obvious that a lot of attention to detail has been put in to making your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

There is a large double bed and en-suite bathroom with shower on the mezzanine floor (up a spiral staircase from the main living area). The main area consists of a sofa (which converts to a second double bed for another couple or children of a family perhaps), small kitchen area with microwave, fridge, nice coffee machine and we had a nice bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived.
There is also a desk with computer in case you need it, but we just used the suite259 WiFi with our own phones/tablet.
Peter and Aziz have a huge collection of movies on DVD, with a list provided in the room. If you'd like to spend an evening in, you can ask to borrow any DVDs that you fancy. There are two very large flat screen TVs (one in the living area and one on the mezzanine/bedroom).

The breakfasts are simply amazing - Peter and Aziz will note your preferences and aim to please. For us, breakfast consisted of a lovely fresh fruit salad, mini pancakes with syrup, speciality breads of various types and my personal favourite: a 'wildcard' dish of delicious spices and flavours created by Aziz from his expertise with Malaysian/Singaporean cuisine. Needless to say, after these breakfasts we only needed a very light lunch!

This is my favourite accommodation I've ever stayed in - not just in Amsterdam but anywhere else too. The problem with Suite259 is that it sets an impossibly high bar for others to meet. Whenever I stay elsewhere, I can't help thinking how much better the breakfast would be if I was at Suite259.
It is not the cheapest place to stay, but it's definitely the best value - especially if you consider the fantastic service, helpful advice and of course the incredible breakfasts (which in our case meant we could mostly skip lunch!).

I'm aware that this is a gushing review, but I tried to think of some negative points in the name of balance, and couldn't think of anything. Perhaps the energy saving light in the main bathroom (with double whirlpool bath by the way) takes a long time to warm up, so it can seem a bit dim in there? That's literally the only niggle I can think of.

Luckily, we didn't have time to see everything on our 'to do' list while in Amsterdam, so I have a perfect excuse to book a return visit for next year! :)

Room Tip: The larger Grand Sahara suite offers more space and a lovely balcony, as well as being quieter due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My wife and I spend two days at this marvellous find and it was the best two days of our trip. We took the Safari Room and it was huge! It’s the opposite of the tiny hotel room that we stayed in Paris. The room was very well-equip with small kitchenette complete with a microwave, small fridge and coffee machine.

The host, Aziz & Peter were wonderful and will make you feel at home. As were been travelling for more than a week and missed Asian food, Aziz was kind enough to cook for us a delicious Asian Breakfast with his trademarked pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice. Both were knowledgeable and offer good advice on things to do in Amsterdam. We were there in spring but Amsterdam feels like winter this season so we spend much time in the room as it was too cold to go out in the evening. It was fortunate that the room came with a 60 inch TV complete with lots of English channels and if you prefer to watch a movie, Peter have an extensive collection of more than 1000 DVDs for you choose.

Travelling to the entertainment and shopping district is also convenient with the tram stop just 2 minutes walk and two stops away from the entertainment district. This establishment really change our perception of B & B lodging. It is not surprising that Suite 259 is among the best B&B in Amsterdam. We would give this place a six star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our family stayed in Suite 259, the Grand Sahara in July 2012. Peter and Aziz were not only welcoming and helpful; they were also charming and funny. As well as the legendary baby pancakes we loved the different breakfast experiences, modern facilities and the homely touches provided every day. The Macdonalds, Aberdeen, Scotland

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 372 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#49 of 372 in Amsterdam
115 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Boutique Capsule Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#81 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,268 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 372 in Amsterdam
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £156 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing