We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to hang your hat”
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suite 259
Ranked #109 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“A wonderful place to hang your hat”
Reviewed 17 May 2006

We (a family of four) stayed at 259 for three nights. We can't remember if it was the Safari or the Sahara room, but it was the smaller one of the two and we still had plenty of room for all four of us. As everyone on this site has mentioned the service provided by Peter and Aziz is incredible (excellent food, stocked fridge, DVDs to borrow). We were very well taken care of and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
84
115
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2006

this place is really special as the owners peter and aziz are such fantastic hosts. they make it very clear from the outset that they are there to help you in any way possible and nothing is too much trouble. we wanted to go on a couple of tours and they took care of all the details and provided us with directions. the apartment is just as it looks on the website and a great calm space to return to after a day exploring the city. we had the grand sahara suite which was ideal for our party of 3 as there was a sofabed in the living area. would definitely stay there again on next trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank StuartBrownGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 May 2006

We have just returned from a 3 day break in Amsterdam and stayed in Suite 259. The B&B is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. Peter and Aziz were excellant hosts and helped us out in any way they could. On arrival we were giving a quick induction into Amsterdam by Peter. We stayed in the Suite safari and it had everything we needed from widescreen TV, jacuzzi, comfy bed, fridge full of mineral drinks and snack, bottle of wine, fruit etc, all compliments of Suite 259. Breakfst each moring was different to your average breakfast ranging from prawns and scrambled eggs to minced beef. Very different but very tasty. The coffee was also the best I have ever had.

Overall I would say this is probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It is definately worth the money as you get more of a personal touch than you would get in one of the 5 star hotels. The B&B is centrally located and is within walkable distance of all the main attractions in Amsterdam especially the Van Gough musuem and Vondelpark. If you are not in the mood for walking the tram is right at your doorstep. If you are going to stay in Amsterdam we would truly recommend this truly amazing and unique B&B.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2006

We stayed with my family from 11 April to 14 April 2006.

We referred to a Japanese woman's comment of the tripadviser and decided to stay in Suite 259. That was as good a place as commented.

When we arrived at the tram stop, Peter was waiting for us and kindly carried our luggage up to our room. It was a large room and enough space for four members of our family. For my daughter and son, they arranged two small beds. So we could sleep well through our stay.

We first visited Amsterdam and did not know Dutch well. So Aziz and Peter kindly arranged various booking. Thanks to them, we could spend comfortable time throughout our stay in Suite259.

In case of our second visit to Amsterdam, we will necessarily stay in Suite 259 again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 April 2006

The amazing welcome we were given by Peter and Aziz at Suite 259 made us feel so comfortable and cared for. They had thought of every little detail to make us feel at home - flowers, wine and even a celebration cake for our wedding anniversary.

The room itself has all the comforts you could ever want - jacuzzi, dvd, beautiful comfy bed and wonderful furnishings from across the world. A true oasis of calm and comfort.


..and the breakfasts - prepare to treat your tastebuds to something very special each morning.

Peter and Aziz have thought of everything so you don't need to think about anything, except having a wonderful time!

Louisa and Stuart (Scotland)

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2006

I give this B&B a 5 star rating. It's like condo living with added touches including daily maid service and delicious breakfasts. If you need help getting around don't worry your hosts will give you all the information you need!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 March 2006

I can't say much instead of the great service we got from suite 259. The suite (we stayed at the safari) was just beautiful, big, and comfy. Plus...the extra little details just set the mood. Sure it's a little far from the central station. But with the tram line #1, you can reach the museums, shops, more shops, central station and the canals within 1-20 minutes. Breakfast? more like a feast, pancakes for the kids, nice "something" for the mother (she liked it!).

Advice: Ask Peter for a DVD to watch, he's got over 800 of them!

Advice: Both the Suite Grand Sahara and the Suite Safari are the same size

Advice: Sleep early for breakfast and lot's of Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
94 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#196 of 367 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#127 of 367 in Amsterdam
870 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Property: Suite 259
Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing