We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Synopsis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Synopsis
Ranked #145 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
manchester, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing - can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed one night in a large and well-decorated room. Good location as I didn't want somewhere right in the centre, but that was well within walking distance of pretty much anywhere you wanted to go in Amsterdam. Received a very warm welcome and the owner was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Enjoyed a good quality breakfast in the privacy of the room, which had lots of useful amenities like a computer with free wi-fi, a discreet kitchen area with minibar and some free items. The other items were priced very reasonable. Loved every moment of my stay at the Synopsis and hope to go back again when I next visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I could not recomend this exquisite establishment more highly enough, in fact I cannot understand how its rating is on Trip Advisor is only 28th in Amsterdam! After going back to compare with other B&B's on this site it surely belongs in the top few! I concur wholeheartedly with the praise in others comments. The quality of the furnishings, amentity, atmosphere were faultless. Elisabeth was a gracious, generous but unobtrusive host who went out of her way to make my first solo overseas holiday (seasoned couple traveller that I have been) a total pleasure. During an unseasonally hot period she even planned to organise an outdoor umbrella to supplement the shade of her beautiful apricot tree so guests could have options of where to sit at breakfast in her lovely garden courtyard without the sun becoming too intrusive. Her care, consideration and local knowledge was appeciated and much used. With reasonably substantial experience of european leisure travel accomadationI have never seen such attention to detail and thoughtfulness in the range of items available in the clever well equiped concealed kitchenette, well designed bathroom and bedroom (flat screen TV and computer, desk, table & chairs and window positioned cafe lounge chairs). Its amentity was matched by a high level of comfort - that bed was a recipe for guarranteed sleep despite hours of walking weariness and complaining legs!. Contrary to one comment a continental breakfast is certainly provided and the selection within that quite generous but additional options are available at extra cost. There are 3 rooms not 2 as mentioned in one comment - 2 at ground level and 1 on the first floor. The garden is an oasis - delightful in the morning sun at breakfast and soothing at the end of the day with a glass of wine and a good book. When I return to Amsterdam with my partner there is no way I would consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grant_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was lovely. We had the canal room and it was spotlessly clean and very spacious. There was no skimping on facilities in the room - satellite tv, free use of the computer in the room (very handy as we were going to Paris and were able to book the Eiffel Tower from there), tea/coffee making facilities and a proper sized bathroom. The area was central enough to walk round the centre of Amsterdam yet on a quieter side street opposite the Hermitage Museum.

The owner is very helpful and makes the breakfast for you (you order the day before). Make sure you have a look at the little cards by the door with details and special offers of tourist attractions in Amsterdam - some give 50% or 25% off entry fee.

It was lovely to stay in a proper old Amsterdam house overlooking a canal. It's not cheap, probably average for this type of accomodation in this city but at the end of the day you get what you pay for (most of the time anyway!!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Synopsis, and it couldn't have been better. We chose the Garden Room, and I am so glad we did. Our room opened up to a beautiful terrace. After a day of touring, we would sit on the terrace and enjoy a glass of wine.

Our hostess, Elizabeth, is charming, and extremely knowledgeable about Amsterdam.

When we return, this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

a beautiful 3 room hotel in amsterdam central a very gracious host and an experience that other chain hotels could learn from well done rooms are large by european standards and oh so tastefully fitted out a real experience

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurigabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

WOW - having been to Amsterdam four times now and staying in many different hotels and in many different locations - this property is a true gem. If you are looking for a charming, elegant, romantic, and central property in Amsterdam - this is it. The rooms are luxuriously and elegantly appointed. They are large as are the bathrooms with a very nice and large tub. Elisabeth, the owner, takes great care in decorating the rooms and seeing to it that her guests are received warmly and have everything that they may need during their stay. The property is very central and about 10 minutes walking to the Dam Square - it is in an excellent location out of the seedy and noisy areas of the city in a charming and upscale residential neighborhood. There are many great boutique shops and restaurants in this part of the city - not as touristy as many other parts closer to Dam Square. I have used this property for many of our clients during their Honeymoons and now having personally visited and stayed there, I can say that our agents were right on with recommending this hotel to many of our clients. This is a true three star hotel with only three rooms and extremely personal attention. Thank you Elizabeth for a truly wonderful experience

Kayla Zeigler
Destination Europe

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinationEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton,England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Stayed end June 2009 in the garden room.
The hotel is well situated close enough to the main city centre attractions. Room was imaculate, large and well equiped. Mrs Witte was very helpful and made the stay special with lovely touches such as a welcome bottle of wine and chocolates. The garden was a bonus and made the room an oasis of tranquility. Didn't have the breakfast but there are loads of eateries locally. It is opposite the Hermitage museum which opended during our stay and is a bonus for the area.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#208 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#266 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#92 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#38 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Plantage & the East
Zoku Amsterdam
Zoku Amsterdam
#1 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Plantage & the East
Plantage Apartment Suites
Plantage Apartment Suites
#147 of 225 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Synopsis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Synopsis

Property: Hotel Synopsis
Address: A Nieuwe Keizersgracht 22, 1018 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Synopsis 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synopsis Hotel, established in a state classified historical canal house, is located in central Amsterdam's top-location. Situated on a quiet canal, Synopsis is surrounded by museums, theatres, restaurants, shopping centers, parking lots and public transportation. Synopsis offers two comfortable studios which are fashionably decorated with modern design furniture. In addition to the already comprehensive standard amenities extra services are possible; for example a full gourmet breakfast can be served in the room. Synopsis creates an oasis of tranquility in elegantly decorated rooms with guaranteed privacy and excellent services, in the midst of the hectic city life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing