We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #292 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went for three nights at Amsterdam for my boyfriend's birthday...our double private room was on the ground floor right by the canal which was RAD. However there was some lights gone in the bathroom and in the bedroom, the bathroom door had peeling paintwork but otherwise it was clean.
The "double bed" was actually two single beds pushed together which got a bit annoying at times when we wanted a cuddle but guess can settle for the awesome location...
For no frills, on a budget amble around Amsterdam you can't really beat Old Quarter's location, 5 minute walk from Centraal station, 20 minute train ride from the airport (for like 4.5 Euro) - walking distance for the Red Light District, Chinatown. Hunter's coffee shop next doors means you can literally crawl back to your hotel room if you get too stoned ;)
The staff are friendly, plus Micky the cat = adorable. I highly recommend and when I roll back to Amsterdam will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peu666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Old Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Good price for a really good central location. Be warned that the stairs are steep but that is the same with all of these types of property . Room was basic and could have done with tea making facilities but the staff were really nice and very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable

Room Tip: Room at back would be quiter and if you are not able to climb stairs very well then this hotel may n...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobski62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Given the price, one can't seriously expect fabulous accommodations. Its a small, single room, with a shared bathroom. Yes, stairs are a little steep, but traveling as a young, fit, budget conscientious person, this was a great sleeping spot. Its close to the main strip and the train station. I got off my train, dropped bags in hotel, and went out exploring. Slept from 11-7 in room, and left bags in a locked closet so I could explore the morning before catching my train to my next city. Its not a posh stylish place, but its perfect for simply sleeping. Can't beat the price. No major complaints

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last week for a 2 night break, The hotel was located around a 5 minute walk from the station, 2 mins from the red light district and many coffee shops etc. We stayed in the canal view room which is located in the main hotel, we noticed a couple went across the road so cant really comment on that side. The room was basic two single beds pushed together didn't make for a comfortable nights sleep but were suffice, the bathroom was a wet room so when you had shower you soaked the toilet, the bonus was the double french doors on to the canal, nice view and great for a crafty fag.The price was good for what you got would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew_olive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Couldn't really fault this hotel for the price, the day staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were as expected staying in a twin with shared toilet facilities.

Night staff on our second night not so helpful, asked for help with local food places etc and they were not interested.

Would recommend staying here if on a budget, just remember to use it as a B+B

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for 3 nights in January we were at first put across the road to the hotel in a horrible room and fire alarms continuously went off and on the second night we were woken up to someone kicking our door in being very threatening and demanding we open our door the next morning we complained and staff were very apologetic and we were immediately moved into a lovely room in the main hotel where you had to be buzzed in by a member of staff. Room was 10x better with a lovely canal view and felt much safer. Staff are great particularly Robert! Wouldn't have had a bad word to say if we weren't originally put in the pit across the road! Word of advice to anyone planning on staying here, go agead however if upon arrival they tell you you're going across the room try not to.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 371 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,340 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#176 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#297 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,614 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#219 of 371 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £75 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing