We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #302 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very central. 10 minute walk from Dam square. Great food very friendly staff. Staff were good at suggesting placed to visit. Night attendant wasn't very helpful all he did was let us into the building. Room was great top floor with a great view. Rooms were cleaned every morning at 11 very safe to leave your belongings in ,as if anything goes missing (highly doubtful) you know it was either who ever your staying or the one person who cleans the rooms great place would 100% recommend this fantastic hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LongJohnHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    191
    156
    97
    145
See reviews for
42
190
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location. However, it is very cramped, dirty, and smells a lot like mould.
Our room had two beds squashed into it, and hardly room to move around... we were side stepping past each other. Definitely over priced for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've stayed in The Old Quarter on numerous occasions in the past and always considered it to be ok; clean, very central and basic. However, with a weekend night now costing €85.00 pn excluding city tax and breakfast I was left feeling very disappointed. My room was at the back of the main hotel with a view of the rooms opposite and above me, surrounded by so many rooms it was noisy even at 4am. The décor is in need of an upgrade, I'm sure I've stayed in the same room several years ago and I wouldn't be at all surprised if the décor was the same then as it is now. All that said the staff were as helpful as ever and the bar is highly recommended as is the location.

Room Tip: If available I would recommend asking for a room in the annexe building (The Old Harbour) this is us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel very central.. 5 mins walk from Central Train Station .. Clean rooms but a little on the small side .. Very friendly staff .. Breakfast, Meals and bar snacks available .. Happy Hour 5/9pm ;) ( €3 Euros for a pint of Heineken ) .. Deffinetly worth a visit

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liens69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked a private room with shared bathroom during a stint travelling round Europe, earlier this month.
The downstairs bar area is very impressive, with good coffee and reasonably priced drinks.
Our room was very tired and a little dirty in appearance, but ok for two travellers in their twenties!
The shared bathroom was ok, the shower did leave the bathroom floor soaking, but ok if wearing flip flops!
The main issue we had was the staircase! Obviously, the buidlings in Amsterdam are taller rather than wider, but the staircase was so steep it wad boardering on dangerous. It was very difficult to carry our cases up and would have been impossible after a few too many drinks or visits to the famous coffee shops!

All in all, good for travellers or those looking for a very low budget option.

For more information on Amsterdam, visit my blog http://flicksandfancyfree.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/sunny-old-time-in-the-dam/

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelButterfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were 4 girls staying at this place. The location was amazing (middle of the red light district) with coffee shops and restaurants all around! The staff was very helpful and nice, and the lobby was a bar/restaurant with great atmosphere and service. I definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Amsterdam and looking for a good time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank sarahh_b_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good low budget Hotel not only for backpackers, but also for families.
Very kind staff, clean, excellent breakfast at your choice. Near the Central Railway Station (5 minutes). Near to the most important places in Amsterdam. Scientific Museum a must !

Room Tip: Reservation in advance necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HpRLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#229 of 364 in Amsterdam
413 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#173 of 364 in Amsterdam
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#245 of 364 in Amsterdam
280 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#246 of 364 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Property: Hotel Old Quarter
Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing