We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #64 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We Stayed Here As As Group Of 4 In A Family Room Just For One Night And Were Totally Blown Away By It. We Arrived Mega Early, Got There At About 9am Even Though Check In Wasn't Til 2pm, They Let Us Check In There And Then Which Was Great! The Standard Of The Hotel Was Impecable, It Was Luxurious! Everything Was Clean And The Room Was Wonderful. There Was A Kettle With Teas And Coffee, Shower Gel, Hand Wash, Individually Wrapped Plastic Cups, Mugs, Shower Caps And 2 Towels Per Person. There Was Also A TV, A Wardrobe, Full Size Mirror, A Desk, A Safe And A Light Switch Next To Every Single Bed. Our Needs Were More Than Catered For. To Top It Off Breakfast In The Morning Was Delicious! All You Can Eat For €8! They Had Hot Food (Scrambled Egg, Sausages, Bacon, Beans) Fresh Fruit (Strawberries, Bananas, Apples, Oranges Even Tomatoes) Fresh Bread, Croissants And Pastries, Cold Cuts Of Meat And Different Cheeses, Cereal, Fresh Orange Juice, Milk, Chocolate Milk, Yoghurt, Muffins And Plenty Of Different Jams And Spreads, Also A Wide Variety Of Hot Drinks. We Were Not Disappointed. The Icing On The Cake Was That It Was Right In The Heart Of Amsterdam, Everything Was Walking Distance, And The Door Was Always Locked There Is A Buzzer So Anyone Who Isn't A Guest Simply Cannot Get In, And There Was No Noise Whatsoever Once You Step In The Hotel. Cannot Wait To Go Back Again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank dobdobterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I found ourselves in Amsterdam somewhat last moment and went looking for a hotel. There was some conventuion going on and rooms were difficult to find. We went to one of those travel info places to help find a hotel and what they sent us to was a joke. We were very discouraged and thought we would just get back on the train after we walked around a bit. We stumbled across the Luxer just walking down the street and my wife went in and asked if there were any rooms available and fortunately for us there were. We got one of the last two rooms and it was fabulous. It was right in the center of all the night life and also very quiet when we retired for the evening. The breakfast was 8 Euros extra but well worth it. I would and will return to the Luxer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD_Berlingeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a very small but well presented hotel. Located on one of the oldest street in Amsterdam it is a great place to start exploring. The hotel entrance is small but cosy with the bar and seating situated as you walk in the door, the rooms are well presented, clean and modern with the usual tea/coffee maker etc, the beds comfortable but not much of a view from any room. I was located at the back which seemed quiet. While this is a non smoking hotel they have provided a side area outside and out of the way for people to smoke if they require. I didn't get time to try breakfast so cannot comment on this but the staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and location good, so for a mini break in Amsterdam this place is ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Convenient location, everything appeared clean, staff was friendly. Room was musty, moldy smelling, and damp. Overall adequate for a last min booking. Easy walk from central station. Plenty of sleazy bars nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewlapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great little hotel on one of the funnest streets near the Damrak. Steps away from the RLD, and a very clean, modern facility. I stayed here twice, once for 3 nights, and then just a single night. My 3 nights were on the 3rd floor, alley facing, and noise wasn't an issue at all. Rooms were very clean, and for Amsterdam, weren't too cramped at all. Bathrooms were nice, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Their breakfast was decent for the price, but I recommend eating at one of the MANY nearby breakfast shops (Teddy's Corner was my fave).

Only thing holding this back from a 5 star rating was the showers were a bit messy. By messy, I mean the shower runoff tends to go into the rest of the bathroom, requiring a mop up with a towel. Not really that big of a deal to me though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Easy to find from the train station (and lots of fun dragging your suitcase on the cobble stoned paths!) Check in staff friendly and efficient.

We were given a room on the first floor on the side of the hotel. I was worried about noise being on the first floor but it was very quiet for the area we were in! The room was clean and a nice lay out, the shower was huge! The one thing that puzzled us though was the size of the bath towels. They seemed to be no bigger than the foot towels for the floor! We thought maybe after housekeeping we'd get bigger towels but we got the same size! Very odd!

Close to everything; an easy walk to Dam square with lots of places to eat and tourist shops on the way.

The beds were very comfortable and air conditioning could be controlled in room.

I did not smell weed in the hotel once which was great (I have stayed elsewhere in Amsterdam and when you don't particularly like the smell, it's not nice to come back to your hotel and still smell it!)

Lovely modern hotel. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluechilli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good clean hotel... located very close to dam square and train station.
lot of food options around and also very close to rld. lot of coffeeshops around.
its on a bustling street with lot of bars and cafes around. lot of hotels also there but rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pompi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#122 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,238 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#171 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing