We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but very clean and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #70 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small, but very clean and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Would stay here again, Right in the red light district and central to everything. Arrive on train from airport, 26 minutes, walk 400 metres are you are here at the hotel.
Rooms small, but very clean, great for mates or couples looking to be right in the mix of everything.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank matt094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    401
    104
    23
    15
See reviews for
111
412
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Travelled as a couple, and we didn't agree on everything.... However there is no doubt that the location is 100% spot on; 5 mins walk from the station, Dam Square, shopping streets, and on the edge of the Red Light area which is great for eating, drinking etc. Although the hotel is on a very busy pedestrian street, we were not disturbed at all by any noise.
We asked for room 401 (we had read an earlier report) and were given it; it's at the top of the hotel on the 4th floor (3 by lift and 1 by stairs), by itself so no noise in corridor outside. There are also 4-5 steps once you are inside the bedroom. The room is situated in the attic, so has sloping ceiling. This meant that the mirror on the bathroom wall was pointing down at you at a 45 degree angle, which really annoyed my partner as it was difficult to apply make-up etc, especially as there were no mirror lights, only those higher in the ceiling. There was also no mirror on the wall by the dressing table in the bedroom, although there is plenty of room to put one up. There is a long mirror on the wall just by the door but again the lighting is poor. Back to the bathroom, and the floor gets wet during a shower as there is no curtain, there are very few places to hang your towel (a few hooks/rails would be nice), we imagine its cold in the winter as there is no heating for the tiles, and the extractor fan is next to useless so there can be a lot of condensation. These are the things my girlfriend didn't like, and it's only fair to write about them.

Otherwise the room was nice and large, big bed, 2 windows, dressing table with tea/coffee, chair, wardobe, bedside tables with lamps. There is a code-safe inside the wardrobe but I couldn't get it to work, probably my fault. The flat screen TV has various English Language channels such as BBC World News, BBC1 and BBC2, CNN.
On arrival at the hotel we were given the code for the free WiFi, which worked very well. Also they gave us a city map which was excellent. A wake-up call one morning happened without any problems. We found the staff to be helpful, with no English language difficulties. The breakfast is well worth the €8.
We walked everywhere in the city; no bicycle, tram, bus or taxi. Anne Frank museum is about 20 minutes away, Museum Quarter (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum etc) were maybe 35 minutes away.
Would we stay here again? Almost without doubt, although my girlfriend would take her own mirror with her... Thank you Hotel Luxer x.

Room Tip: Room 401 quite large, very quiet, but poor mirrors and lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExHolidayRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a well located three star hotel on the edge of the Red Light District and five minutes walk from the Central Station. That considered, it is a very safe area. There are plenty of good, well priced eating places right outside the front door. Despite its location amidst this old part of the city, it is modern and well equipped. The rooms are modest in size, but comfortable. The staff were very obliging and the breakfast for 8 euros was very good value. It has a well priced bar and sitting area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Amsterdam is a place where hotels are overpriced in general. Visited in October for a concert in the Ziggo Dome, brilliant venue. However we had never been to Amsterdam before and did not know where to stay. We stayed about 5mins walk away from popular tourist café "The Grasshopper". The hotel was hideous on the outside but inside clean and presentable, we left our bags at the desk and returned later to check in. For a couple of two we were given a room with four single beds, we had booked a double bed. When my boyfriend complained the receptionist told him he was getting a good deal of four beds for the price of one. ridiculous. We were changed to another room, rooms are tiny and bathroom is even worse, at first I didn't think the room had a bathroom till I noticed a strange half sized door at the end of the room, the bathroom was in the slant of the roof so my boyfriend struggled to stand comfortably. The bathroom was as barrow as a metre wide and the shower was even worse. I would not stay here again, however after hearing what friends paid and how they found their hotels I think we had the best of a bad deal. There are nicer hotels in Amsterdam but not particularly around this area, they are overpriced. Also our room had a window that did not close and the safe did not work.

Room Tip: Try to avoid top floor rooms as they are imbedded in the roof making it difficult to stand in some p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devanna90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. upon arriving we were given a room , when we got to the room the phone was ringing, it was reception asking us to come down again.......they had upgraded our room for us!! how nice :)
This room (309) was bigger, had a huge bed,flat-screen tv, air con/heating... was perfect for us.
we did not take the breakfast, as we cant eat first thing.........but it sure did smell nice.
Staff so polite, friendly & helpful........we had a late flight back & they were happy to look after our cases for us free of charge!
Spotlessly clean, amazing value in the heart of all dam has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

No complaints from me. I've stayed in lots of hotels in Amsterdam and this hotel can surely provide a a quiet night of sleep. Great location away from car traffic.
Staff shows great skills of service and skills regarding fire drills.

Room Tip: the smell of breakfast might excite or annoy you, if you are living on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Property: Hotel Luxer
Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing