We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FFFFANTASTIC HOTEL AND STAFf”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #62 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FFFFANTASTIC HOTEL AND STAFf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Simply great this hotel is in the middle of the action best Hotel in Town.

Close to all the action and easy for trains and trams all good reports

Nice staff , good breakfast .

No complaints at all , not the cheapest but may be the best ?

Room Tip: Room 401!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDAVIES148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    400
    104
    23
    15
See reviews for
111
411
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel Luxer is in a perfect location for all sightseeing and entertainment! It is only a 5 minute walk away from the main train and tram station (if you can find it ok!).
The rooms are all very clean and modern but a little bit on the small side - this is to be expected in Amsterdam though. There is good tea and coffee facilities, A/C and television. The only issue with our room was the shower which flooded the bathroom everytime we used it.
The hotel is very secure as the door is only opened for hotel guests and reception is open 24 hrs to enforce this.
Breakfast is only £8 and us definitely worth it as it's delicious! There are many other places to eat and drink on the same street.

Would definitely recommend Hotel Luxer for your trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is one of the only times that TripAdvisor has failed me, and it was an epic fail. We arrived in Amsterdam early on a Sunday morning. The hotel is conveniently located within a 5 minute walk from the train station but on one of the grossest streets in Amsterdam. It borders the Red Light District and the street was disgustingly filthy, lined with garbage and urine from the night before. Many people say this hotel is ideally located. It it not; Central Amsterdam is fairly compact, and there are many other hotels in better locations, equally as walkable to the key sites.

Our double room was located on the ground floor, the first room behind the dining area. I believe it was room 10. It was cramped and dark, with hardly any room to open our suitcases. The bathroom was equally as cramped with a shower that leaked all over the floor. There were screaming kids staying in the hotel, and it sounded like they were in our rooms as the insulation was so poor.

The reception/bar area is cute. Those pictures actually sold me on the hotel. At no point, however, did I actually see anyone sitting in the bar, perhaps because the woman at the front desk/bar was rather unapproachable.

Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristyL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Luxer provided for a great, clean and comfortable stay with very helpful staff. The location is perfect and has cafes and restaurants in the neighborhood. It is close to the red light and central station. The rooms are not exactly King size but yes for the price you pay I found it good enough with being clean decently spaced and comfortable. Stayed there for around a week and the location made it perfect to get around the city being in the heart of Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place was nothing special and really overpriced in my opinion. What you are really paying for is the location. If you really want to stay in the Red Light District and plan on hanging out there most of your time in Amsterdam then I would say this place is good, otherwise I'd suggest staying somewhere a little nicer, especially if you have a car. We brought a car and parking was 20 euro and very far away from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKennaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The best part of the hotel is the location. The street is beside the red light district and is lined with restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. It is only a 5 minute walk to the train station which makes it perfect for train travellers. The street is cut off for motorists, so enjoyable to walk down. Goes straight down to the Dam square.

The hotel room we had was small and very tight. A little too small for our liking, but we were only there for two nights, so not a big deal. The room only had a small window that opened to a back alley. Not very attractive. The bathroom was tight, but nicely done. There were coffee cups, but no coffee maker or kettle. Bed was OK. There is a safe in the room.

The hotel breakfast was not too bad, mix of hot and cold. Worth the 8 euros compared to what a restaurant will charge. The front desk staff were only moderately helpful. They did not seem to engage any of the patrons. There is a bar right at the front desk which we did not use, Perhaps they are more friendly if you are sitting at the bar.

Hotel felt secure as had to ring to get in. There was no noise from the other guests, and the place was clean. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend as an ideal location for a couple of fun days in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barfly-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Property: Hotel Luxer
Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing