We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”
Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
Ranked #66 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed in Luxer for 2 nights with some friends for Aug bank holiday. The location was ideal, a few mins from the train station, Dam square and the red light district. The street was busy with many restaurants and coffee shops. We particularly liked the restaurants Pasta Pasta and Wok to go. The room/bathroom was clean and modern. Not the biggest but adequate for a 2 night stay. The only downside was that the staff were not very helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for an unbeatable location in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Francescaw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I was very happy with the location and cleanliness of the hotel. We had to park about a 20 min walk away, which sucks with luggage, but that seems to be the norm if your staying in the red light district. It's a little pricy and the rooms are fairly small but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrylann111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel delivers what is says on the tin ! Ideally located for the Central Train station 10 mins walk and in opposite direction for eateries, coffee houses etc. Rooms clean and tidy, maid service in line with your requirements for cleaning, tea coffee and other bits and bobs. We did not have food at Hotel as so many other options outside in the nearby streets. Baggage storage available at hotel if late departure. If travelling from Airport do not get a Taxi....60 euros. The train from airport to Central station is only 5 euros an drops you almost on top of hotel ! Only downside was rooms were a bit small but this is in keeping with a lot of buildings in Amsterdam. Walking down streets at night you will savour the flavour of Amsterdam literally as the aromas flow from the various coffee shops. Enjoy a high old time ! Alan &Tracey

Room Tip: Double bedroom is fine, we stayed in room 112. Not street facing and no real disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alanandtracey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stopped in Amsterdam for 2 days before going on a cruise. Picking up the train at the airport and getting off at the central station, its an easy 3 block walk to the hotel. Next to the central station are all the trams for surface travel and visitor and tram ticketing offices. Easy 20 minute walk to the cruise terminal port or take a tram to get there. Hotel small but clean and quiet, we were there during the week. Located on the border of the of the red light district. Plenty of food places and adult style entertainment. Location not for a family with kids. Room was small but updated. Bath hair dryer has 120Volt outlet. Cable TV and Wifi was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrekingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I spent three nights in the hotel. We found that location was excellent, as it is at the beginning of the red light district area (where there is lots happening) and also, quite close to the train station.

The rooms were a bit small but I guess in Amsterdam all buildings are small. The bed was comfortable and shower in the bathroom great! Also, we found the hotel to be quiet, not noisy.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't really comment on that.

Overall, a good hotel!

Room Tip: We got a room in the ground floor and it had great natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaroAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having failed at all attempts to seek refund of being charged one night extra for our stay in May, I am constrained to put up my most unpleasant experience on this site to forewarn intending guests. at the time of booking, i was assured that I had to provide my card details only for guarantee purposes. However, without even taking my prior permission, they debited on my Debit Card particularly when I in fact checked in as per my booked dates and paid them up front in cash for the entire stay. In spite of me requesting them to refund and/or reverse the entry they haven't done so and I was charged 158 euros extra and despite of repeated mails, they haven't refunded the same.

the staff is extremely unhelpful in such matters and are misusing card details. guests need to be extremely careful while booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Poojapatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good hotel, clean and modern only one complaint. A travelling companion in another room had charged drinks to it. On leaving all was fine except a 40 Euro bottle of Champagne. The reception insisted he paid and after a while had no alternative as they said they would just charge it to the credit card used to book the room (mine) They did say they would look into it and possibly refund it to the card - 1 week later this has not happened so I presume it now will not. I did not book drinks to my room but paid cash and still had 10 Euros to pay for drinks I did not have. whilst I am sure that the hotel gave these drinks to somebody they have a responsibility to check. Travellers beware.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,364 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,277 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#173 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,568 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £78 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing