We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good !”
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #352 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good !”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Really, we thought that it will be not so nice as it is ! Rooms are really clean, service in the room every morning :) Double bed actually was very very comfortable ( I would like to have it in my room ). Even though that bathroom and shower is shared with other guests but it was unexpectedly clean. About the staff - they were really friendly. And location its just PERFECT. Everything is near ! Next time when will visit Amsterdam will stay in the same hotel !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaneta_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    71
    60
    122
See reviews for
25
91
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We wanted somewhere cheap and central. Every other hotel was well over 100 quid a night. We stayed here and the location was brilliant surrounded by restaurants bars and of course coffee shops. As the location was so good we barely stayed in. Our room was tiny but we had a sink and a super comfy bed. The corridors are horrific as you walk to your room with wall paper falling off and wires coming out everywhere but the room was fine. Painted white and very basic but we only wanted to get our heads down. The bathroom was shared and the shower was amazing. Toilet was separate to the wet room. Every shower we went for it was spot less until the end of the night but we just rinsed the floor down with the shower and then in the morning it was spot less again.
There was mice bobbing about everywhere, but what do you expect in a city??? Particularly if your above McDonalds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Rooms are small but clean (a double bed is 125 cm wide...), breakfast is Ok, staff is friendly but to be honest, it's fairly expensive for what it is, but well, Amsterdam is probably one of the worst quality/price ratio even if it's gorgeous

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank rillantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Roche, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Depending obviously on what you are looking for in a trp to Amsterdam this litttle hotel could be the ticket. If like me n my two mates u want a central location to base urself so you can go and enjoy the less cultural products the city has to offer this hotel couldnt be better located.

Right next to Mcdonalds incase u get the munchies and its also a 5 min walk to the red light district and Suzies Saloon !

Rooms are terrible but if all u want is a bed to collapse on its a result.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Upon check in I was over charged. The guy tried to tell me that the deposit I had paid was to budgetplaces.com and not the hotel. I had to show him the amount I had to pay. I didn’t have enough cash and was only short a few euro but he made me go out to the ATM which for a few euro is very poor. They wanted to charge me 10% fee to pay on my card. When he finally agreed to the correct price there was no apology, I just said to him I was correct in the first place and he said “It’s your lucky day”. The entrance is fifthly and there is dust and work going on in the hotel with wires hanging down. The room had no ventilation or windows. Having said that, the bed was clean and good linen / pillows. The shower and toilet were modern and clean. I was based at the back of the hotel so was not disturbed by noise at all. It’s a great location for the main shopping street, Red light district, bars and restaurant and minutes away from central station. The entrance is not clear due to building work but basically it’s over the McDonalds. It’s the door to the left. You go upstairs and reception is on the first floor. As a well-seasoned traveller my experience was not as bad as other reviews however bear in mind is a cheap basic hotel so perhaps go with low expectations like myself and you may be ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#176 of 367 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#296 of 367 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#256 of 367 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#304 of 367 in Amsterdam
641 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Property: Hotel Neutraal
Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing