We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than sleeping on the floor at Schiphol”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #349 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
826 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Better than sleeping on the floor at Schiphol”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

The best thing about this place was its convenient location near Centraal Station. That and the price compared to some of the marble-foyered places nearby. Otherwise this place served only as a port in the storm of the Iceland volcanic ash chaos. You pretty much know what you're getting into when you walk in the door. Unfortunately the online photos seem to paint a much prettier pic. Didn't actually SEE any roaches or bedbugs, but the feeling they were there persisted. Staff was friendly enough, even marginally concerned about our plight.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    70
    59
    120
See reviews for
24
91
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

I stayed in the hotel neutraal due to needing a triple room for the group to stay in. I don't know why I didn't check trip advisor as I normally do and would have avoided at all costs if I had of done.
I suppose the main reason was I was booking for a stag trip, which usually means your not bothered about your digs, but after my friends and I came up in lesions from bed bug bites, I thought this is pushing it too far!!
The room itself is so badly painted and decorated you would have thought Stevie Wonder had done it himself... Paint varied from lime green on the door, to white on the wood work (which was meant to be left varnished). The communal shower was like something out of a horror movie and the toilet was unpleasant to stay the least!
The service was sometimes ok, but generally ranged from aggressive to lax.

So to sum up, I can happily say that I have stayed in teh worst hotel in the world and payed 150euros a night for the pleasure.. Please don't make the same mistake!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnygid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sunderland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Rooms are disgusting, bed linen dirty, carpets are full of burn marks, showers never clean. The hotel is the worst hotel ive ever stopped in, a absolute nightmare.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

That's it, the worst hotel I've ever been. Room with no window, horrible, looked like a hospital, a very old one. Very noisy, I thought I was in a brothel or something similar, and I changed the room, but they're all the same!
I stayed here 2 years ago, and still trying to forget!
The only good thing, is wuite good located, but that's all, don't make the same mistake I made...goy to any other hotel! (Pd.: don't even think The Flying Pig neither)

Bueno pues eso, que lo peor de lo peor. El peor hotel en el que he estado y con diferencia, y era la segunda vez que iba a Amsterdam, pero grave error de elección. Comienzo. fue llegar y nos dieron una "habitacion" por llaarlo de alguna manera con ventana (q no se abria) en el techo pero sin persiana.. hayq q tener en cuenta q en amsterdam en verano anochece muy tarde y amanece muy pronto.. por lo que o duemes las 4 horas que hay sin luz, o te pones un antifaz.. El baño era compartido, eso sí, esta primera habitacion tenia ducha.. que era lo que yo creia inicialmente un armario, pq hay no cabe nadie y encima mojas toda la habitacion...horroroso... Pedimos obviamente cambio de habitacion a la media hora y nos pusieron en la otra q tenian libre, no habian mas.. Esta no tenia ni ventanas, solo que una pared ea como de cirstal ahumado que al otro lado se intuia (y se oia...vaya si se oia) una caldera enorme que ademas estaba iluminada y daba un calor del copon... La habitacion parecia de psiquiatrico.. dos camas mal puestas, mitad de la pared de madera cutre y la otra mal pintada, el suelo ya ni me acuerdo pero bueno... Total, la sensacion de claustrofobia brutal..teniamos que dormir con la puerta de la habitacion medio abierta!! aun me pregunto por que no me fui corriendo de ahi el primer dia... tonto de mi. El de la recepcion que pasaba de todo..decia q era una habiacion normal... normal no sé donde.
Ademas, valia unos 90 euros por noche... nada barato.. es que ni pagandome me quedaria ahi de nuevo.
Eso si, bien situado.. solo faltaria que encima estuviese lejos, vamos...
Pasamos 3 noches, y reconozco que ha sido la peor escapada de mi vida gracias a este hotel...daba un mal rollo volver al hotel por la noche que ni imaginais..y eso que me pasaba el dia fuera por tal de ni verlo! O sea que si lo habias pensado.. no!!! no vayais aqui ni locos!!1 Tampoco se os ocurra ir al albergue The Flying Pig que es del palo... yo no fui, pero si mi pareja anteriormente y otro tanto de lo mismo

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything! specially rooms.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

I came to this hotel with my boyfriend, but we didn't really had the choice as we hadn't booked before coming in this city - maybe a bad idea !
The room was a triple dirty noisy small humid room. 135 euros for a night, no sanitary in the room (except a washbowl with no warm water in the evening).
It's well situated, the only good point I could find.
Above all, it was really too expansive !
The staff was ok. But they had been lucky that we had nowhere esle to sleep...

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AmelieCalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

When we arrived in amsterdam, we had no accommodation booked and ended up staying at this hotel.

Location is just a few minutes walk from central station and Dam Square, in front of the canal where all the tour boats leave.

The 'hotel' is over priced for sure. It's absolutely filthy. Mould on the walls. Damp on the ceilings. Filthy toilets/shower (if you're brave enough to take a shower there).

The hotel is open 24 hours and everyone and anyone can enter it. It is exceptionally noisy and contains all sorts of people you wouldn't really want to meet.

You could well fear for own safety in this place. Amsterdam is an expensive city but pay the extra 20€ a night to stay somewhere safer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything about it!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

This hotel was disgusting. We had a mouse living and pooping under our beds! Dirty room, dirty shower, dirty toilet (which are both across the hall!) The wallpaper was peeling off, sink leaked, window didnt open properly. We put our bags on the table so they didnt have to touch the floor and we had to constantly wear shoes or our socks would go brown with dirt.
This is the worst hotel ever. It should be shut down.

  • Liked — Going out of it.
  • Disliked — The dirty wet carpet
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#301 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#313 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#236 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Property: Hotel Neutraal
Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing