We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID at all costs”
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neutraal
Ranked #357 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 12 August 2007

When we arrived in amsterdam, we had no accommodation booked and ended up staying at this hotel.

Location is just a few minutes walk from central station and Dam Square, in front of the canal where all the tour boats leave.

The 'hotel' is over priced for sure. It's absolutely filthy. Mould on the walls. Damp on the ceilings. Filthy toilets/shower (if you're brave enough to take a shower there).

The hotel is open 24 hours and everyone and anyone can enter it. It is exceptionally noisy and contains all sorts of people you wouldn't really want to meet.

You could well fear for own safety in this place. Amsterdam is an expensive city but pay the extra 20€ a night to stay somewhere safer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Neutraal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2007

This hotel was disgusting. We had a mouse living and pooping under our beds! Dirty room, dirty shower, dirty toilet (which are both across the hall!) The wallpaper was peeling off, sink leaked, window didnt open properly. We put our bags on the table so they didnt have to touch the floor and we had to constantly wear shoes or our socks would go brown with dirt.
This is the worst hotel ever. It should be shut down.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank amieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

Amsterdam is a great place to visit. The laid back buzz, the coffee shops, red light district. museums, etc. However, the one place i would urge visitors to avoid at all cost is the Hotel Neutraal. I was unlucky enough to have this nightmare visited upon me, and while I only stayed for one night i can honestly say it was one night to many. How they have the nerve to call this dump a hotel is nothing short of criminal! I Would like in the intrest of fairness to add a saving grace but for the life of me i cannot find one. Avoid it like you would a rabid dog!!! The musty smell still haunts me. This place has a 24hours open sign, so expect some drunk or stoned person to bang on your door at all hours, looking for the Shared Toilet / Shower. To sum up..........The worst place ive ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank niceguypaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

we stepped off the plane on a sunday morning glowing with excitement about our group trip to amsterdam. some of us had been before and were full off stories about the good naature of the dutch and the pride in their settlings. our world was about to be damaged severely. the musty smell of rotten carpet, the unaccepting snarl of the receptionist an d the dickensian workhouse feel of the micro-bedrooms all added to our joint journey into the abyss. amsterdam was lovely, if not a bit tarnished by our knowledge that at some point in the next 24hrs we would have to return the hotel neutraal that out of fear we only referred to as the place where bad things happen.
if you have done bad things in your life and feel god hasn't punished you enough check into hotel neutraal-no guests for more than half an hour.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank amsterdam/crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
austin texas
12
Reviewed 25 May 2006

i stayed at hotel neutral may 11-16 06,stayed 2nd floor. very quiet, across hall from shower-toilet. clean rooms and bathroom! the management was very friendly.. i walked in no with reservations asked for 3 nites, ended up staying 5 by choice. good location, fair price good location across from canal tour boats, lots of resturants easy to find! 1 block to redlight district-shopping, everything you came for! i will return there my next visit to amsterdam .... morris

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Denmark
16
Reviewed 19 February 2006

This is definetely the worst place we have ever been. We stayed 2 nights in a double room in this so called hotel. Our room had a sweat nauseous odour which was probably cannabis from the previous occupants. We paid 65 Euros a night and you can find much better accomodation in Amsterdam in this prize range.

We shared bathroom and toilet with a group consisting of 10 British teenage boys who came home at 4 o'clock in the morning and ran yelling up and down the corridor. They also played Manneken Pis from the balcony next to our window... This has of course nothing to do with the staff, but you should be aware of that this place is really noisy and shabby.

The breakfast is boring.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2004

We were forced to stay at this place as we couldnt find anywhwere else. The best you can say is it had two beds in a small basic room and a wash basin.

Showers and toilet were along the corridor. Payment was required up front and then 5% added for payment by Plastic.

The first morning I went for breakfast which was included in the room price. For the rest of the stay I didnt bother. The coffee was only coffee by name and it was a lite brown mixture that tasted of nothing. A half a loaf of sliced bread lay on the small table together with a few slices of cheese and some curled up process meat product. The man on duty proudley said with a smile on his face, Help yourself.

I did ... next morning I went out and got a proper breakfast at a nearby Cafe.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank geoffboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 371 in Amsterdam
445 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#290 of 371 in Amsterdam
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#271 of 371 in Amsterdam
237 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#224 of 371 in Amsterdam
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £60 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing