We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotelroom”
Review of Hotel Torenzicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Torenzicht
Ranked #278 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I came here for a hotelroom. There was however one wasbasin with a mirror in the room of that hotel. It was a good location in the city. I found the breakfast o.k. and the staff was very friendly and kind.

Room Tip: People could better wear eardops in their ears. It could be noisy sometimes because it is a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've now stayed here several times and its a friendly easy going hotel, the rooms aren't 5* but they are clean and comfortable and the location is brilliant, whats also brilliant is the staff and the 24 hour bar, Stefan and Niels were friendly and tried to answer any questions. Also the wet shower rooms are very good and clean.

Probably wouldn't recommend this for a quiet weekend away but if you want a central location go for it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank greiggadams
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Location awesome. Prize cheap. 24 hour pub. Wi-Fi okay. Staff alright, if your cool with them they'll be cool with you. Just don't be up to outrageous behaviour. No smoking the sticky in the room, people just put socks over fire alarm though I heard, YOLO. In truth good place to crash and get a pint. Want luxury go pay for it elsewhere, want to rip the place apart staff will maul you. Stonkman recommends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank thestickmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was travelling with two other people, I have been to Amsterdam 6 times before and have stayed in a variety of Hotels.
I loved the location of Hotel Torenzicht, in the centre of the Red Light Discrict, very close to Dam Square and within walking distance of many tourist attractions as well as Coffeeshops, restaurants and bars.
The 3 gentleman we met that worked at the hotel were very friendly, informative and helpful. I had quite a few discussions with one of the bar staff and found him very pleasant.
You're able to smoke in the bar once the hotel is shut to the public at around 3AM. This is good to know when you wake up at 7AM and don't want to stand in the cold outside having your first morning cigarette.
The room was a good size, yes it could have done with a fresh paint but that's more the previous guests' fault than the hotels. The shared bathroom (large wet room) and toilet was clean, very spacious and more than adequate. The only negative was there was a lack of places to hang worn / clean clothes so it was difficult to get undressed and dressed in there but I took my own towel and wandered the corridors in my towel back to my room to get dressed.
Breakfast was what you expect - bread / toast, coffee / tea / fresh juices, jams and spreads, cheeses and cold meats. It's served until 10AM
The bar facilities offer a variety of hot / cold, alcoholic drinks for a reasonable price. Cheaper than sitting in a Coffeeshops.
I recommend visiting the Anne Frank House, it was €9 per adult and worth the experience.
We walked there and took approximately 18 minutes. We also visited Madame Tussaud's and Amsterdam Dungeons for €31 per adult.
Trams aren't necessary but cost €2.80 for an hour travel ticket, €7.40 for a 24 hour ticket and €12 for a 48 hour ticket.
I will definitely stay here again! It's very reasonable, a fair price and pleasant staff. Thank you Hotel Torenzicht for a pleasant stay.
Laura

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a warm welcome at the hotel. Paid our money and this is where all the pleasantries ended. Went to my room which had a stunning view of the strip, looked out the window to reveal that the window didn't close. My bed was directly under the window, and had to sleep fully clothed due to the January wind and rain opening the window constantly through the night. Had to use a shoelace to tie it up. Went to the bar to get a drink, where the ginger rat who hasn't washed or shaved for 5 years behind the bar said he wasn't serving us. When asked why? He replied "because I don't like you". Having breakfast in a freezing cold cellar with the same old dutch smiling faces was minus 26 degrees. If you like ham and toast you'll be fine. If not, you'll have to do like we did, pay 12 euros for a breakfast. All in all Amsterdam is fantastic and most of the locals are ok. I wouldn't call any of them friendly, but tolerable. To cut a long story short, 20 of us paid our hotel fee to a smiley faced manager. Once he had our 1600 euros for our 2 night stay they turned into ignorant pigs. Queueing up for showers and toilets is also another feature worth mentioning, as there is 1 of each (per floor). STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE AND SPEND A LITTLE MORE MONEY! Spliffs were class, otherwise it would've been a miserable trip.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank damo1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

In the past I visit the Hotel many times, now they have a new management and owner, and Peter puts a lot of new effort inside the Hotel wich makes it more nice, I liked that.Now the beds are clean and not full of insects anymore.
Very nice for the good price.
So I was last weekend in Amsterdam and stayed overnight 2 nights , good beers and good staff.

Room Tip: Front with vieuw at the cannals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinfriedBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#274 of 376 in Amsterdam
308 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#306 of 376 in Amsterdam
132 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#334 of 376 in Amsterdam
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#240 of 376 in Amsterdam
307 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#310 of 376 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#221 of 376 in Amsterdam
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torenzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torenzicht

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £59 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Torenzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torenzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torenzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing