We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sophisticated boutique hotel - warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #95 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived on a bitterly cold but Sunny February Day for my wife's birthday trip to Amsterdam, having carefully selected this hotel from a number of review sites. We are careful not to rely on one site due to the inconsistency of reviewers and their foibles.
Rest assured, this hotel will not dissapoint once you have decided on the price and booking. Everything else is taken care of when you arrive from the charming welcome drinks and biscuits to the wonderful anytime service of teas coffees biscuits and wine and soft drinks all included in the tariff. Breakfast was beautifully done, a full continental with all the trimmings you need without the pressure of larger hotel offerings.
The location is perfect and we were able to walk to all visitor areas, restaurants, museums and shopping. The only taxi/car usage was to the airport and do allow the hotel to arrange a car as we found this no more expensive than the taxi we took from the airport.
Friends met us for pre dinner drinks and the option of three very comfortable public rooms to welcome them in to a roaring fire on a cold day was wonderful, reminding us of the very pleasant boutique hotel we use in London in the same way.
Our junior suite Tolkien (4) was very spacious and aside from the unusual bathroom door arrangement was excellent for our purposes and on the quieter side of the Hotel. That said I would not expect there to be an issue on the canal side certainly not in the low season.
We will certainly be back again perhaps in warmer weather. We recommend the Hermitage Museum, and do try the Lucius Fish Restaurant. The Hotel also has some excellent recommendations which we took up. This Hotel makes a visit to Amsterdam even more enjoyable. Turn up and relax.

Room Tip: recommend first or second floor - stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltireblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

A great loaction for Amsterdam City centre, tucked now too far away from the main shopping and bar/restaurant areas. Beautifully appointed rooms on a grand scale with all expected amenities, add to that courteous and helpful staff and you have the perfect place for a weekend visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Situated close to hand to everything that makes Amsterdam special including the glorious Prinsengracht canal with its fine houses and architecture, traditional bakery on the corner and cheese shops only a minute away.

What made this hotel extra special was the quiet, dignified service from the warm friendly welcome to the Mercedes transfer at the end of our stay. Combined with expert local knowledge, restaurant recommendations and a huge effort made on the hotel's part to book us a table during this New Year period, illustrates perfectly their dedication to service.

Staying in the Picasso Suite it took the first floor of this magnificent former merchants house and was equipped with fine artworks, 6 or so huge windows opening onto the canal and a bed with some of the finest Egyptian cotton I've ever encountered!

With complimentary wine of great quality delivered to your room, complimentary bar and afternoon tea should you wish to take it, this hotel will not only enhance your trip to this beautiful city but will enhance it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acid-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our recent one night stay at Hotel Seven One Seven could not have been more perfect.
All the rooms and suites are unique and the staff was kind enough to let us change to an even more special room than the one we had reserved online.
The charm and subtle elegance of Amsterdam is echoed in every part of this hotel and the service is impeccable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful but as there is no elevator, if you are traveling with lots of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I'm so impressed and surprised of not knowing this lovely boutique hotel offered charm yet modern ammenities, history without compromising the standards. The hotel staff were very accomadating and the concierge has helped me drop off a few Christmass gifts that I was unable to delivery myself since my trip was cut short.
The breakfast was fresh and perfect with its small windows overlooking the tiny patio. Flowers were arranged meticulously and the china, cloths & napkins were so perfectly thought of.
There are 3 lounge areas with fireplaces, magazines and a great place to host guests.
I have recommended this property for my friends especially for those who want intimacy, quality and that special something.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baida888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I am a regular Amsterdam visitor and recently stayed at the Seven one Seven for the first time following a friend's recommendation and had a truely exceptional experience. It is a wonderful and centrally located boutique hotel, a home away from home. There is tons of detail, the staff is very passionate and was really helpful securing a booking for a great dinner venue. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I went on a business trip to Amsterdam but ended up having a romantic getaway, thanks to this hidden gem! Hotel Seven One Seven is a beautiful, quaint hotel with a lot of character and class. It is a small hotel with a lot of special attention to their guests. The minute you walk in to the hotel you are taken to very different world....the smell, decor, and music sets a perfect ambiance. Every morning a delicious breakfast was either served in their cozy patio or brought to your room in an adorable basket. Everything served on the most beautiful table setting with special attention to detail. The hotel is in a perfect location (walking distance) to visit all the sites and enjoy the restaurants. The concierge was very helpful, friendly, and quick in finding any restaurant or attraction of choice. After a long day of meetings or touring we would return to the hotel for an afternoon of tea and cookies promptly brought to our room. In the evening we would end our night with a bottle of wine and appetizers delivered to our room...all at no cost to us. The staff was very attentive and made sure that we were enjoying our stay in their hotel and Amsterdam! Our room (called the Tolkien Room) was very spacious and beautifully decorated. I spent many hours in the room enjoying my book....it was very peaceful....I did not want to leave the room. We were sad to leave Amsterdam...and Hotel Seven One Seven....but I look forward to visiting it again. When we returned to the US the hotel contacted us that we had left a toilettery case behind. This was a special gift given to my husband a few years back...I asked them if it was possible to send it to us and promptly I received it in the mail. My husband and I love to travel but I have to say such service and class is very hard to find. Hotel Seven One Seven, thank you for making our stay so special.....Amsterdam is truly lucky to have a gem like you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 372 in Amsterdam
619 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £281 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing