We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #104 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Good news is that they keep on high standards. The downsides: the breakfast menu doesn't change, would be great if they can amend it slightly depending on their guests wishes. The other thing (not very significant, but still) - the leading hotels manage to make reservations for the guests in the most popular restaurants even on short notices. In 717 concierge/reception try to do it's best but with no success so far. Anyway - good luck to the hotel!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SVG2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the requested restaurants had no availability. We do the utmost to arrange all the dinner reservations for our guests. Hopefully we can show you next time you are in Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked at 717 after an extensive research as I was looking for a classy, romantic, intimate hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. 717 has it all and could have not made our stay more enjoyable. From the moment they opened the door until the time we left, we felt like we were living in our own house as everything was exactly as we had wished for. We stayed in the JR Tolkien suite and loved it: spacious, well furnished, comfortable bed, very elegant. As we are quite picky on breakfast, I have to say that it was well above our expectations and certainly worth the EUR 20 additional charge. As other contributors stated, location is perfect and staff are welcoming, friendly, young yet informal. If I were to go back to Amsterdam I would certainly stay at 717.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo_0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This entire stay at 717 was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and situated right in the heart of Amsterdam. Breakfast every morning was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep and there is no elevator. If you have any physical limitations, a lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

After a truly horrible "welcome" at Hotel Seven one Seven -- caused by an incredibly rude, and downright belligerent employee -- the rest of the stay was perfect. Normally after such an upsetting incident, we would have left immediately, but being part Dutch (and having family there), I had researched this hotel and was looking forward to our stay there.

I specifically booked the "Franz Liszt" suite (loved it!) but upon arrival we were told that we would be staying at the "Room at the Top." In the hotel's defense, I think they thought that this was an upgrade (as the view is supposed to be incredible from that room etc.), but I wanted the suite which I'd booked (and had the paperwork to prove it). Here's where things went very wrong -- the staff member (it's a tiny hotel and there is usually only one, or maybe two staff members on duty) -- started to argue with us, and did everything wrong from there. My husband wanted to leave, but I insisted on speaking to the manager, who was off-site. The employee did call her (he didn't seem to care that we were unhappy and prepared to leave), and when I explained the situation she was beyond apologetic.

From that point on, everything was superb. And thankfully, we did not see that particular staff member again until the morning we checked out (at 5am). If it wasn't for this incident, I would have awarded the hotel 5 stars. I have already reserved the same suite for later this year. We loved it that much!

Con's:

** With the exception of our terrible experience upon arrival, there were no other cons.

Pro's:

** The building is exquisite. The public rooms are gorgeous. The entire facility is warm, welcoming and beautiful. You feel like you are in a private home, and yet it's big enough so that you don't feel like you are in a bed and breakfast (i.e. there's plenty of privacy). I think it's the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. Yet, it's not fussy (a plus!) at all.

** We loved the Franz Liszt suite. It's on the ground floor, which is not really the basement (as others have said), but is ground level (when you look outside you can see the sidewalk, but you can also see the canal etc.). The suite is two separate rooms with a door that closes.
The front room looks out at the street and the canal -- it did get noisy on a weekend night, but only for a short time. The bedroom is in the back of the hotel and overlooks a beautiful and very quiet patio. The bathroom is quite large and well appointed (lots of plush towels daily, too).

** Wi-Fi is free, and the internet connection was good. The tv is new and seems to have a million channels (tons of them in English)!

** Our package included breakfast, which was excellent and plentiful. There is one person who serves (and maybe cooks) breakfast every day, so it's essentially made to order. We had a couple of different servers during our stay and they were all wonderful -- friendly, nice, and yet always efficient.

** The main staff members (not sure what they are called -- essentially concierges) -- with the exception of the one upon arrival -- are also outstanding! They were also friendly, kind, helpful, and could not do enough for you. Bravo to each one of them!

** The location is downright perfect (another reason we wanted to stay there). There is simply no better location in Amsterdam; almost everything is in walking distance, and if not, the tram is steps away (we took the tram to get to the train station to visit other parts of the Netherlands. Pretty much any place in the country is less than an hour away by train). Museums, shopping, restaurants are all within a very short walk.


Other particulars:

** Like all houses in Amsterdam, the steps are very steep (and there's no elevator). Please note this while making a reservation. For example, The Room at the Top (the room we were almost put into) is at the top of the house which is 5 extremely steep flights up. Although in my mid 50's and very fit, even I was a bit out of breath by the time I got up there. If you have concerns about stairs, rent the suites on lower floors.

** To get into and out of Hotel Seven one Seven you must ring a doorbell (as the door is locked). This is pretty standard in the nicer and smaller hotels there, but it means you might have to wait a minute or so to get in (no big deal).

** Watch the bicycles! Unlike London, where motorists will run you over rather than stop, here it's bicyclists who will run you over. They do not follow street directions, signs or even traffic signals, and they clearly do not make way for a pedestrian. They even come up on the sidewalks (at times), so be very aware while walking. The Dutch bicycle in all weather (with umbrellas, if need be) so there's no let up from being watchful of the bicyclists. Cars, on the other hands, do make way for pedestrians, but it's famously a nation of bicyclists (be alert to them).

** Everyone speaks English in Amsterdam. Even the signs are in Dutch and English (and often another language, too). However, once you into the country, the signs are no longer in English, too. That said, the people (usually) still speak English.

** The trains are really fast, clean and easy to figure out. The train stations also have plenty of staff to help you.

** The Dutch truly are a forthright people. I grew up with this (on one side of my family), but it might be a bit startling at first (i.e. they get to the point, quickly). They are friendly, nice, helpful and welcoming, but they don't mince words.

** There are no pooper scooper laws in the Netherlands (at least not in Amsterdam, or in the other towns/cities that we visited). This is a huge problem considering that the Dutch are dog crazy (a good thing! We have three wonderful dogs). The cities (streets, towns, buildings) are immaculate except for dog poop. You really do have to watch your step. It's shocking that for such meticulously clean folks, that they have not done something about cleaning up after their dogs.

** Of course, The Rijksmuseum is a must see (we went twice).The renovation is gorgeous! Do note that unless you get there very early, the lines for admission are ridiculously long. That said, you can buy a ticket online (we did, and the hotel printed it for us).

** I have been to the Anne Frank Huis in the past so didn't go this time. However, the line to get in (we walked by it) must have been more than two or three hours long (seriously, too).

** A visit to the Portuguese Synagogue (the oldest one in Europe) is a must. Also, do go to the Jewish Historical Museum (they are affiliated so there's only one admission fee).

** There are plenty of good restaurants everywhere in Amsterdam. The dollar is fairly strong against the Euro so there's no need to pay a lot for good food. There are also lots of nice (and clean) pubs, supermarkets, small markets etc., too.

** There are many great bookstores in Amsterdam! Most sell English books, too.

** Enjoy! It's a fabulous city and country!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeborahPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Deco is excellent. Beds are super comfy. Couch are comfy as well. Caviar/ wine/ champagne menu is good. Toilet spacious. Location, the best. Service could use some boosting. Breakfast spread as well. An expensive hotel, for the higher end crowd. But worth every penny.

Room Tip: No lifts so choose your room wisely. The Room At The Top as added privacy but like the name suggests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsEzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in the Picasso suite, and could not believe our luck. The suite occupies the whole canal-frontage of the hotel, on the second floor, and is huge, with mammoth sofas! Bulgari bathroom treats, and an elegant breakfast room overlooking a terrace at the back of the hotel. Steep stairs, but our bags were always carried up or down. Very well situated on the Prinsengracht just a few minutes walk from the fabulous Rijks Museum. Hotel suggested a very cool intimate restaurant and made booking for us too. There was some street noise fairly late at night, but with this location (and over the Queen's abdication/King's coronation too), it was inevitable. We did not have to pay the full hotel rate as our original choice of hotel had overbooked ... and would not have stretched to the full rate. Which is not to say that it is not worth it, but that it is outside our budget.

Room Tip: Cannot beat the Picasso suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adifferentvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A delightful, comfortable small hotel with attractive and elegant furnishings. Recommendations and suggestions given by Receptionists were very helpful and made our visit even more enjoyable. Excellent position and easy to get around.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank papillon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan Amsterdam
The Dylan Amsterdam
#22 of 376 in Amsterdam
642 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,395 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#20 of 376 in Amsterdam
700 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,886 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £249 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing