We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Stay in Amsterdam!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #65 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Stay in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

717 was an absolute dream - we loved being there. The hotel is lovely, with very luxurious decor and large suites. The staff is hands-off but approachable if you need anything, it was really lovely. the location is ideal, walking distance to everything but not in the very touristy and stressful centrum area. The canal is lovely. Our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shakespeare suite, which is just up the stairs and facing the back. It was very bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CDHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    55
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
252
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

we stayed at hotel seven one seven for three nights in june 2013 on our honeymoon. stayed in the room at the top. views were lovely and the room was spacious, bright clean and wonderful. loved the decor. the staff was wonderful especially weibe and alex. breakfast was delicious and in a gorgeous room downstairs. the rooms are accessed only by stairs but the staff helped us with our luggage and we didn't mind the walk-up. amazing location looking over a beautiful canal and close to everything. would absolutely stay there again! in either the room at the top or the two rooms that face the canal. small hotel too so feels like you are staying in someone's home. highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrm195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

It is a perfect choice for people without fisical disabilities, as a historical buildimg it has no elevators and has old stairs. It is very charming and the decoration is wanderfull. I felt as if I was in a friend's house.

Room Tip: Sheakspeare room is very nice and is near the ground floor, jus a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduarda1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I had a peculiar and rather disappointing experience at Hotel 717. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the location of the hotel could not be better, the décor is lovely (though why the bare, unvarnished floorboards: were the oriental carpets out being cleaned?), and it makes for a good base for tourism in Amsterdam.

But I didn't enjoy the degree of comfort I was expecting. I had the Franz Liszt suite on the ground floor: it is a genuine suite, with a bedroom, a living room, and, rather awkwardly, a bathroom in between. The bedroom windows open on the patio, where breakfast is served in good weather (so curtains have to be drawn at night and in the morning), while the living room windows open on the street (ditto). It is nicely furnished; the beautiful orchids are real; the Bose television and DVD/CD player so new as to be hard to figure out at first. But the toilet is so small that I found it hard to use (disclosure: I am 6'3" tall) and glass door to the shower doesn't close properly -- I had to prop it open with an elbow while showering (luckily, I could shower elsewhere, as the water flow wasn't very strong). The bed is comfortable, though I disapprove on principle of the Dutch habit of using two single mattresses to make a double bed.

I stayed during the week, so I had a discounted rate of 250 euros per night. That was within reason for the room and the city, but the normal room rates seem out of proportion to the degree of comfort. For what they charge, you could get a club room at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore! The 75 euros per day charge for food and beverages is ridiculous: the breakfast is good, if limited (eggs soft-boiled OR scrambled, bacon but not salmon), and nicely served: it is worth 20 euros, which they charge if you don't take the complete package. But for the 75 euros open room service access, you don't get much of anything besides breakfast: you can ask for afternoon tea, but it consists of hot water, tea bags, and a few cookies (not a proper afternoon tea in my book), and you can ask for a glass of wine by way of apéritif (which may come with olives, or cheese, or crackers and mustard, or cashews, or some combination, depending on who is serving). In general, though, you won't be offered much of anything unless you ask for it. For example, there is turn down service, with water provided, but no chocolates -- though, if you ask, they will give you some.

In short, a nice place, but not good value, and I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us. We are sorry to hear that your stay could have been better and we'll be using your feedback to keep our services at the standards our guests can expect while staying at Hotel Seven one Seven. Hopefully we can show you this the next time your in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Good news is that they keep on high standards. The downsides: the breakfast menu doesn't change, would be great if they can amend it slightly depending on their guests wishes. The other thing (not very significant, but still) - the leading hotels manage to make reservations for the guests in the most popular restaurants even on short notices. In 717 concierge/reception try to do it's best but with no success so far. Anyway - good luck to the hotel!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SVG2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the requested restaurants had no availability. We do the utmost to arrange all the dinner reservations for our guests. Hopefully we can show you next time you are in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked at 717 after an extensive research as I was looking for a classy, romantic, intimate hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. 717 has it all and could have not made our stay more enjoyable. From the moment they opened the door until the time we left, we felt like we were living in our own house as everything was exactly as we had wished for. We stayed in the JR Tolkien suite and loved it: spacious, well furnished, comfortable bed, very elegant. As we are quite picky on breakfast, I have to say that it was well above our expectations and certainly worth the EUR 20 additional charge. As other contributors stated, location is perfect and staff are welcoming, friendly, young yet informal. If I were to go back to Amsterdam I would certainly stay at 717.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo_0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This entire stay at 717 was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and situated right in the heart of Amsterdam. Breakfast every morning was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep and there is no elevator. If you have any physical limitations, a lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#60 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing