We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #78 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

All I wished for. Great vibe and lovely service. I felt at home, and that was lovely since I had a busy week.
Thanks a lot again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elena55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Seven one Seven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

This hotel is absolutely my number one in Amsterdam. We had a beautiful suite Tolkien with beautiful view. The hotel is full of great staff, they still offer to the guests biscuits, tea, cakes, drinks.. That was so fine. The location is fantastic, close to museums, canal and many other attraction. Don´t forget to rent a bike on Mikey´s!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The hotel was one of the best in Holland. We stayed Schubert room for 2days and the room at the top for 3days.
Great and Exclusive service and everything in the hotel was just perfect.(I loved the complimentary breakfast)
I miss Hotel 717. The staffs were also super nice.
You should definitely stay Hotel 717 when you go to AMS.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theodori83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I am lucky enough to have a friend who lives out in Amsterdam and the boy has never been so this June it seemed the perfect excuse to drop in on her for a few days and to sample the veritable delights of the 717 Hotel. I have had my eye on this gorgeous urban oasis for a while after hearing another friend raving about the afternoon tea which comes with the price of the room.

The hotel is situated in a prominent position on the Prinsengracht canal and was inhabited for many years by a prosperous sugar trader. The rear part of the house was built first and dates from the 17th century, but in 1810 the property was extended towards the Prinsengracht to demonstrate the owner’s wealth to his fellow citizens.
At that time, the rear of the house still served as a ‘sugar mill’. The neighbouring properties were also under the trader’s ownership and served as depositories for the raw and refined sugar.

During much of the 20th century the property fulfilled a social purpose, after which in 1996 it was completely restored and in 1997 it was officially opened as a hotel.

On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly hotel manager Brita. As soon as the heavy front door opens you know you are in for a treat as your eyes are drawn to the delightful prints on the walls and stunning antiquities throughout.

After signing in Brita swiftly took us to our room. He had chosen for us the Franz List suite. As the name suggests this particular suite has a very musical theme! Situated on the ground floor of the house it is an attractive, 50 m2 suite with a comfortable sitting room at the front, and a quiet bedroom at the patio side of the house it also has a very roomy walk-in shower. After a very refreshing dip in the shower we sat down to our afternoon tea in the stunning sitting room. It is really cosy with windows just below street level so you can look up and out at the passers by. It was a particularly rainy Dutch day but that didn't bother us a jot as we sat down to watch Trois Coloeurs Bleu on the sleek Bang and Olfusen tv.

Our afternoon tea consisted of petite fours and delicious Williamson earl grey tea. Big thumbs up from the girl in this relationship. I admit I am a tea snob and being English, when one goes away one is usually greeted by limp, insipid tasteless tea. This is the crack cocaine of the the tea world.

After the film we retired to our bed for an afternoon nap. The bed is huge and just the right level of firmness. 717 use Egyptian cotton sheets and you can tell. After a blissful couple of hours sleep we met up with our friends for a stroll around the 'Nine Streets' to get in some vintage shopping. I went a little crazy and bought a pair of navy, vintage Biba, stacked heels in an ultra cool star print. Amsterdam has a mean collection of vintage shops!

Later in the evening we went back to the hotel and brought our guests in for a night cap. Often frowned upon in most European hotels but the dapper night porter didn't bat an eye lid. This is Amsterdam after all;)

In the morning we took breakfast in our suite. You can also have it in the delightful Stravinsky room or in the summer, outside in the shaded patio.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 717 - a true 5 star boutique hotel.

For more views like this check out our blog -

http://gypsettravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Perfect location, stunning rooms and friendly staff. Bliss! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldychase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Bright and large suite like room. Nice furniture with a lof of interesting heavy cloths, curtains.
Tea, coffee, biscuits, wine was served at any time (and free of chare) in one of the three living rooms with always burning fire-places ot in the room.
Recommendations für dinner have been very good and very much in line with our expectations.
So it was a pleasant stay for a marathon weekend in a real personal, small, nice AND professoinal hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt-Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The 717 is a beautiful town house sitting on one of Amsterdams unique canals near the 9 streets shopping area and just down the road from the Anne Frank museum. The house is immaculate with beautiful rooms and incredible friendly service. I was there with my 11 year old daughter for a one on one treat, and they really could not have been more amenable....ready with advise, booking restaurants and general information. You ask for a cup of tea and it comes with delicious chocolates, biscuits and mini cup cakes, when a glass of wine it comes with nuts and olives.....and all, the drinks and the snacks, are complimentary. Such a nice touch that adds to this feeling like a very luxurious home from home. I can not recommend it highly enough and hope to come back with my husband soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyEEEEEEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
870 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 371 in Amsterdam
610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,534 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £281 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing