We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Season Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Season Star Hotel
Ranked #367 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 March 2009

very easy to book, good value for 4 of us, two clean twin rooms with adequate and clean bathroom facilities, very friendly service, good breakfast, would definitely recommend and/or book again.
view wasn't much but again didn't go for the view out the window as did our sightseeing in the day.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuba414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

Me & my partner have just returned from our 24th Amsterdam visit, after 2 nights at the Season Star Hotel. We arrived on Sat 21st Feb at around 9am but was not allowed to book in till 2pm, which was ok as this normal with most hotels. When we got to the Hotel at around 2.15pm we was told that we could leave our bags in the room but could not stop as the room had not been finished by house keeping. This wasn't good news as we had been up since 4am and need to get our heads down for a few hours before going out that night.

We went to our room which was the top floor of the hotel and the 1st thing i noticed was the smell, the room smelt like sewage and the smell was MUCH stronger in the bathroom. The 2nd thing i noticed was the front window had NO curtains or blinds, this is not good as i was under the impression that we was booked into a 3 star hotel and this DID NOT look or smell like a 3 star hotel. The 3rd thing i noticed in our 3 star hotel was the window pain was broken in the window at the side of the room.

I didn't complain as i felt it wouldn't have gotten us anywhere and was only there for 2 nights, so we made do with it and tried not to be there as often as possible.

We've been to Amsterdam 24 times in the past 7 years and we have never had a room like this one at the Season Star Hotel and we never will go back to this hotel in Amsterdam again.

Please don't be fooled by the hotels GREAT looking website.

On a good point and the only good point to this Hotel is it's location as it is in the heart of Amsterdam, but there are loads of other hotels in the heart of Amsterdam so try one of them :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

This small hotel is ideally located two blocks from the Central Railroad station. (There is good rail service from airport to station.) My room was tiny, very tiny, but judging from the fire-escape outline floor map on the inside of the door, some of the rooms are bigger. Also I was a single traveler which I indicated when I made my reservation so I could have gotten a small room. The stairs to my room were steep, and the tread narrow for my big American feet, but I suspect this is the case with a lot of hotels in Amsterdam. However part of this hotel is serviced by an elevator so if one doesn’t want to carry luggage up narrow stairs, then make sure you are in the right part of the hotel. My room was in back and quiet, but since the hotel is on a busy street, there might be some street noise in front rooms. Breakfast was good, but minimal. Personnel at the front desk spoke English and were helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EugeneDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We had booked via website for 3 night stay with a non-smoking room with a view in this hotel. On arrival we were told there was no "room with a view" available but that the double room we had was very nice. This room was on the 2nd floor with no lift and the stairs are steeper than the stairs in the Anne Frank house. The room itself was an attic room with a tiny double bed. The window opened onto the back of another building. The bathroom had a slope to the ground, very dark , no soap in the dispenser and the sink was in the bedroom!! The smoke detector had been stuffed with tissue paper and the curtains were falling off the rail.....overall the room was a disgrace! I voiced my concerns to the receptionist who after some time said there was a room to the front that was available for 1 night. However, this was all a little too late, we declined to stay in the hotel. We got a hotel a few doors away slightly cheaper and it was luxury compared to this hotel!!!
I could not recommend this hotel at all.......

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
1  Thank k_kTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a week-end in Jan 2008. We had a twin room on the top floor (with lift) - room was at the back of hotel, so quiet. Small room with 2 beds pushed together, small bathroom but with new fittings, good shower, hairdrier, very clean.
Beds were comfortable and clean.
A/C worked well to warm the room. Small wardrobe space with a safe. Very good filling breakfast, good choice, continental breakfast, fresh croissants, ham+cheese+eggs..
We had no complaints and would recommend it and return. Yes the room is small, but we didn't stay in the room much, and hotel is just a short walk from the station and very central, trams stop nearby. Friendly staft at front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pizza&salsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Got a room here at the last possible minute after booking a trip that coincided with Queens Day - the busiest weekend of the year. Given that l was relieved not to be sleeping under a bridge, I was probably more forgiving of this quirky hotel than I otherwise might have been.

On the plus side the staff are quite friendly and the rooms are pretty clean. The Hotel is handily located for most of the obvious tourist sites and is also close to the railway station.

The negatives are essentially down to the archaic dutch architecture that's such a feature of the area. The building is narrow and high which means that the rooms are tiny with little in the way of facilities. No views, not much natural light and quite stuffy.

Worst of all, a significant number of the rooms can only be reached by means of staircases that seem to have been designed by MC Escher. The room we stayed in could only be reached on hands and knees - and that was before the consumption of a drop of alcohol!

I don't know what the annual casualty rate is but given the condition of many of the late night revellers I observed I assume it's significant.

Accomodation in Amsterdam is pretty expensive and this was no exception. The reality is you can expect to pay a lot for not very much.

The Season Star was undoubtedly an unforgetable experience but I was very grateful that we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Could not get any of the hotels we had been recommended because of a major conference in the city. Booked the Season Star out of desperation. Should have known better!
The room allocated-206-was tiny. Supposed to be a twin it was a single room with two beds squeezed in. Two bedside tables including lamps shoved into a corner at the foot of one of the beds! Single wardrobe with 2 coat hangars until we complained when we were given 2 more!! Smoke alarm hanging from the ceiling, extractor fan in toilet/bathroom not working. 2 tortuous staircases up to the room-no lift in this part of the hotel.
Redeeming features? Helpful staff within the narrow limitations of the place, reasonable breakfasts if you got there before 9.15am-not much left after that, including clean cutlery.Location was OK, accommodated bags on last day before travelling.
For the price this was not a good deal by any stretch of the imagination.
This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we felt very let down by this experience.
A and B. H. Lichfield, UK

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Silversurfer5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#242 of 372 in Amsterdam
521 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 372 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Centrum
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#308 of 372 in Amsterdam
12 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Season Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Season Star Hotel

Address: Martelaarsgracht 18, 1012 TR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Season Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Season Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Season Star Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing