We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marnix Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
41
150
228
151
373
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
150
228
151
373
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is no hotel - it's a bad hostel. The beds are fine and it's a good location. The staff are rude - borderline aggressive. Walls are paper thin - you can hear everything that occurs in the shared bathroom. The door handle kept falling off the shared bathroom. The place is unclean. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neutralflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not a positive one. We have reported the issues you have addressed and are working on improving our services to ensure that these problems will not occur in the future. We highly appreciate your review, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went with three friends. We found the location confusing and a bit misleading - and I would agree with other reviewers that it's definately more of a hostel. Despite this, oddly enough, we weren't disappointed. We weren't in the rooms for any long periods of time however, I wouldn't recommend it for families (no way) or anyone wanting a romantic break.

Beds were comfy, bathroom small but adequate - and location was very good.

PHOTO - My photo of the entrance - you check in over the road, and the rooms are here - there are no staff or facilities here, it's literally just rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summer-berries84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

it's called a hotel, but i will review it as a hostel, because that's what it really is - a budget hostel. otherwise i would have to give it straight 1's in the rating column.

the first and most important thing - don't expect too much. it's relatively cheap for Amsterdam and it's located very near the city centre... Well, in fact it IS in the city centre. And that's great. But be prepared to spend as little time there as you can. We stayed in a 6bed dorm. The room was as small as it gets. Only beds and a washbasin + a shower and toilet. No tables, no shelves, no electric kettles, no glasses, only one socket.
It was quite noisy, as the walls are very thin, so we could hear all the noise from the corridor. It wasn't that bad, but if you have trouble falling asleep in such conditions, be warned.
It was relatively clean. I mean, not really hotel-level, but they emptied the bins, changed the bedding and towels every day.
The staff was quite helpful, can't really complain.
The only place you can store you valuables is near the reception, in the dining room, but the lockers are so small, you will have trouble fitting in a laptop or a bigger camera.

However, there were no mice or bugs (i read some reviews here mentioning them) at leat in our room. So it wasn't THAT bad. I was pretty scared after reading the reviews, but it was actually quite ok, just don't expect a hotel standard - rather a cheap hostel one ;) And I wouldn't really bring a girlfriend with me if I were you ;) but for a guys only party weekend it'll pass ;)

it's really 2,5/5 (and only when treating it as a hostel, not a hotel it calls itself), but i'll round it up to 3.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Black_Bizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Terrible accommodation, not even 1 star! But jeez is it to much to ask to be clean?

Second of all we phoned within 30min of making a booking, to say we selected the wrong date... yes, what do you think happened? After a week of emails (only form our side) and phone calls (only form our side)... Finally phoning up to x4 times a day, I finally heard: No the owner will not change your booking, and we will lose the money for the extra days were are not suppose to stay there. So strange as it was almost 2 months before the date of arrival. VERY UNHELPFUL STAFF, and for another part, you would expect people working in a hotel in the Netherlands to be able to converse in Dutch. They could only speak English, and I find that a bit strange... maybe the IND should pay this place a visit.

Room Tip: Dont book here!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed in this as hostel and it turned out that its hotel and this hotel is very good according to the price you paid the owner of hotel is very cool indian guy and best thing about this hotel is it is very city center of Amsterdam actually

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank TolgahanAydin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews