We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good as a hostel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #332 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good as a hostel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

So I read the bad reviews before I went and was expecting the worst and I was pleasantly surpised!! Yes it is not a hotel, it is more a hostel, but what do you expect for the price you are paying but it was great for what we needed it for, Amsterdam is expensive and we were a big group who just needed beds and showers. It was clean and comfy enough, and the place was cleaned everyday and you recieved towels and breakfast. It was close to Leidesplain Sq, well connected and easy to find. It is not the ritz but if you want something basic i would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    134
    206
    111
    280
See reviews for
37
129
134
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We, in a moment of madness, after spending hours looking for somewhere cheap to spend a night in Amsterdam, booked this without reading any reviews. We thought for the money we were paying it would be decent enough. Biggest mistake!
Firstly, after spending nearly an hour walking there, were greeted with, you owe us more money, but if you pay cash you dont have to pay it.. suspicious. then they gave us a key, and told us to walk down the road until you found the right number building, and you let yourselves in off the street. the hotel sign was above some steps to i presume better rooms so i cannot speak for the whole hotel. When we finally worked out how to open the front door with no instruction, we climbed a damp and mouldy smelling (and looking) staircase and found our room. The had given us the wrong key so we had to walk all the way back down the street, and back again where upon arrival they just laughed with no apology, before we could finally get in our room. There were flies hovering around, dead ones collected in the lightshade, empty beer cans on the window sill and out the window which 1 person alone could not lift was a small garden being used as a tip. There was no mirror and dodgy electric plugs. The carpet had stains and was actually damp in places. Surprisingly, the bathroom (shared with other rooms) was clean and modern, which was out of place with the rest of the building. there were also constant bangs and thuds of builders above and going up and down the stairs, with dry paint flaking everywhere. i will not go back and couldnt wait to leave first thing in the morning, I didnt feel safe or rested at all when i was there.

Room Tip: all rooms in the building down the road are run down and it is a hostel not hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emsc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam while on an exchange program, and stayed at this hotel (hostel actually) for a good 3 days. The service at the reception was good and I had a few extra friends along who hadn't booked in advance. But the staff was kind enough to arrange for them as well.

Breakfast was complimentary and well stocked pantry meant we ate to heart's content. Though the amenities are bare minimum, I would recommend to fellow travellers because it is easily accessible and inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Dear god how I wish I had read the reviews properly before booking a night here. And thank god it was just one night! Upon arrival we were sent of down the road to a separate building, (think something out of a saw film) once we opened the doors we were greeted with a cocktail of smells, ranging from damp to animal feces. The walls had mold, the carpet was rotting, its no surprise really that they sent us to our room rather than showing it to us since it was such a disgrace and massive false advertising. Oh, they also gave us the wrong key for our door, so we had to go back and get that too. Our room was literally two single beds, and a lamp. The window was more or less a guillotine that could cut of your hand if you tried to leave it open, but at least we were supplied with a brick and slab of wood to keep it open, even better still, the outside windowsill included some old beer cans encase we had any doubts about how well the room had been cleaned. There were also constant bangs and crashes coming from above, although its nice to hear they were finally improving the place its a not appreciated all day long.

There were however a few positives of this so called Hotel.. The shared bathroom was nicely decorated and funnily enough smelt far cleaner than the rest of the rooms, which was a nice change. Its quite nicely located near a bus and tram stop, and the actual area is very pretty and walk-able from Amsterdam Centraal.

Overall 3/10. Rooms were far too under-equipped, unclean and overpriced- perhaps if it was more reasonably priced it would have been ideal for a backpacker just to stop off and leave things, although it didn't seem very safe to do that! I felt betrayed that I wasn't shown the room in any of the "professional" photos, and was annoyed that it was such poor standards for the moderate price. The only upsides were the location and shower. I still strongly recommend you avoid this place if possible, even on a tight budget i'm sure you can find a much preferable location. Sorry "Hotel" Marnix but you are officially the worst accommodation I've stayed in before.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Did I mention there was dark matter smeared on the walls in the bathroom ? You have to be STONED to be able to crash in this dump, i would expect to pay no more than €5 a night for this room like this then I could understand it...the bed was like a giant soft sponge and practically sank to the floor when you try to get on it,either that or you were rolling off! the bed linen was white and clean looking but the pillow and duvet underneath was stained with god only knows what. The giant windows were really filthy and not been washed in over 7 years id say, it looked as they were smeared with mud deliberately and they couldn't be opened, this added to no ventilation = stale air .. Yuk! The bathroom had dodgy shower curtains and mad shower heads. I did not unpack because I was truly scared something might crawl into my bag. Stay here if you want to find out how low you can go ... Despite all that Amsterdam is a fun place and I'll be back ..only in a top hotel next time

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joinstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hostel (since I refuse to call it a hotel) is located in 2 separate buildings so standards might probably vary...
Nevertheless: the hostel is partially in renovation and for example there was bo water in one of the bathrooms. The windows open in only some of the rooms, so it's hot, stuffy and so on. Defonately no air conditioning.
The worst part was the hostel cancelled our reservation without any notice and althou we ended up arguing ourselves in anyhow, we has to pay more cash not to be homeless for the night.

Room Tip: Choose another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Well what can I say about the Maar-Nix. Fantastic hotel/hostel. Friendly staff, speedy check in, even got a discount at check in. Highly reccomend the Marnix stairs experience. Air con, safe balcony with view and spacious rooms with dressing area. Choice of various showers. Wake up siren. Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeroyJenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#314 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#281 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#253 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing