We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near as bad as people say. ”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as bad as people say. ”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Ok let me begin by saying, this is Amsterdam. Stairs are steep in all the old buildings and there are no lifts. We stayed on the 3rd floor in room 301. There were stairs, they aren't that bad.

Also everywhere in Amsterdam charges a city tax, its around 5%, this is never added to the price of the room and is always added when you get there. We paid cash so i'm not sure about extra credit card charges mentioned.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who let us into the room early, the reception area was clean and there were two vending machines some toilets and a seating area where breakfast was served, we didn't have breakfast but the area was clean. We were given a key card each which was needed to get into the building and the room.

The building smelt like air freshener, not like sick or wet dog like somebody mentioned!

Now the room, it was a tiny room for 3 people, one bunk bed, one single bed. Not much room, one window that was easy to open and one radiator that meant even though it was freezing outside, the room was lovely and toasty. The only other things in our room were a mirror, a box of tissues, a bin, a table and a chair and two power sockets (Tip: bring a 4 plug with you and a converter plug- instant extra power!).

The lighting was ok with two lights. One shared toilet per floor (3 rooms on a floor I think) that was clean (and had toilet paper!) but there was no hand soap. The shower was nice and clean and warm.

Somebody mentioned the shower wasn't very powerful but it was fine, theres a little handle on the shower head that lets you change the power.

Finally the beds were SPOTLESS. They were clean, crisp and white. The towels were spotless. We had new towels delivered the second day we were there. There was no bedbug bites on any of us in the room as per another reviewer said. One thing to note though was that the top bunk had no ladders so you had to jump up, also no railings so there would be a decent drop for anybody that sleep dances. I don't know if this is the same for all the rooms but I presume it is.

The location was fantastic with Melkweg club less than a two minute walk away and Dam Square a 10 minute walk with LOADS of shopping around.

We couldn't get the wifi to work but theres a hotel over the road called backstage hotel, we could get a pretty decent wifi connection off them (no password!).

It was quite loud but easy enough to sleep through, nothing worse than in any other city centre.

After reading the reviews about Marnix we were absolutely dreading staying here but we had already booked it, we were all pleasantly surprised its a clean comfy place to get your head down miles cheaper than a lot of the other hotels in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    141
    212
    120
    296
See reviews for
40
134
144
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

If your ideal stay is one where there are bed bugs, rude and unpleasant staff, un- hygienic facilities, dirty rooms and ridiculous prices - come here!! This is the absolute pits, I have never stayed somewhere so foul. It ruined our trip to Amsterdam, leaving us bitten, dirty and like the staff had completely abused us,

Don't stay here

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Madde11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The place is dirty, rooms are very small and crowded. We got a room with broken toilet and after reporting to the front desk no one came and fixed it.
Shower is very dirty with no steady stream of hot water. Water pressure is ridiculous. ..
No cleaning service for the room.
The room is very dark and the light is insufficient (it feels like a flashlight light).

Read VERY CLOSELY the fine print. When we ordered the hotel it says in the receipt free breakfast included and including tax - when we to the hotel they charged us extra for taxes (about 50 euro more then what was expected) and apparently the breakfast costs 5? per person.

My advice to you - stay away!

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The confusion in some of the reviews is that the property seems to operate in two distinct models. A hotel with private facilities and a hostel with 4-12 beds in each room. I stayed here last month for 2 nights and never having stayed in a hostel before was "fearing the worst"after reading some of the reviews.
I checked in early afternoon and was allocated a bed in a 6 bedded room with a private shower room. The room was basic and not very well decorated but the bed was comfortable and both the sheets and towels were immaculate as was the shower room and toilet. All the reception staff were very friendly and gave great advice on finding local supermarkets and attractions. The lower ground floor area next to the reception was good for relaxing with other guests and you could use the fridge, microwave and utensils for your own food and drink I bought locally a bottle of wine for just over 2 euros, a microwaveable ready meal for the same and can of lager for 50 cents ( the average price was 5 euros in a bar).
Yes, the entrance to the room was back outside, next door down and yes, the tread on the stair was very narrow and quite steep because it is an old building and yes, my room was under the stairwell leading up to the 2nd and 3rd floors so I could hear people going up to their rooms and yes the hall areas had cheap laminate so it was noisy to walk on and yes, the wifi seemed to be problematic the further you were away from reception, but I didn't come to Amsterdam to sit on a computer/facebook/twitter, but it was all worth it because for the price I paid I couldn't have pitched a tent at a camping site.
I believe that the rack rate in some of the private rooms is around 100 euros a night and for what I saw that is completely overpriced but if you are lucky and have some nice quiet/friendly room mates then you could have a pleasant stay for around a TENTH of that. I did, but maybe I was just lucky!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back had no road side noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegettingoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

it's on budget hostel in perfect location near to city center
it was clean all the time but missing some facilities like lockers
you have only your bed and you could use the bathroom and shower that's it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I've been here for 3 nights among with 2 friends in a 4 beds room with private b athroom; it was clean from our check-in 'till check-out. The guy even asked if we'd need something..perfect if you need a room just for sleeping.. right in front of the hotel there's the bus stop connecting to the schiphol.oh and wonderful position, with bikes you can get anywhere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverTouan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 368 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,041 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#273 of 368 in Amsterdam
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing