We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I´ve made a lot of bad decisions in my life..”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“I´ve made a lot of bad decisions in my life..”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I´ve made a lot of bad decisions in my life, but I never really thought that choosing a hotel would be one of my worst.
I can´t believe how this so called "hotel" (imagine it to be more like a dirty prison cell without bars) can even exist. I mean there have to be some kind of health legislation for hotels in Amsterdam, right? However if you ever choose to stay here prepare for the following: Unfriendly staff, mould in every corner, miece crawling everywhere, bugs and other stuff are very common also. Don´t expect anything to be the way it has to be, the mirrors are broken, you´ll probably find faeces on the lavatory seat and also on the walls. The tap is unusable unless you just hold it with one hand still and turning it on with your other, and even than you risk that the sink will loose hold and crash on the floor.
SERIOUSLY, I´m not making this up!
We were there on New Year's Eve as a group of three. We spontaneously decided to book a room here for one night for 300€. I on myself tought for 300€ you could at least get a clean bed for a night..
It´s a shame that it is impossible to get your money back in Amsterdam, not even if you call the police.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    140
    212
    119
    296
See reviews for
40
133
144
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Myself an 2 friends stayed here for my Birthday (Jan 22-25)...after reading previous reviews we were dreading it! However as we only paid £126 for 3 nights between 3 of us so we can't complain! We had to climb 4 flights of stairs as there was no lift. Yes, the room was cramped (3 sets of bunkbeds) but we were out most of the time therefore it was ok for sleeping and showering. It was scruffy but there was hot water, clean towels and sheets...what more does one need for a 3 day booze up? Location was fantastic for bars and restaraunts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambo2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a ultra budget hotel that provides what you expected for what you pay. You would be hard pushed to find a cheaper place to stay indoors in Amsterdam. The other major advantage of this place is the location, very central, close to decent clubs and bar & restaurants. The stairs up to the room are very steep so watch out for that, all part of the fun for me. The 4 bed room we stayed in, bunk bed (no ladder please use the chair) and two singles. TV (worked), Shower (worked, you may have to play about with the temp control for a few hours), toilet (no button to flush, please remove lid and pull up flush from inside), radiator (hanging off wall), nice gap below window to act as air con (eco friendly). I like it when there is a mattress in the corridor which gets occupied by some random dude every night. Oh yeah and if any tiles fall off the wall during the night just blu tac them back on.

But yeah, it's a room..

Room Tip: Erm, one with a lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffHardy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My stay may not reflect how it is all year round at Marnix Hotel as I stayed there on New Year's Eve, a really busy time, but some things I encountered here were unforgivable.

First things first, my brother and I arrived pretty early in the morning (around 7:30am) and we were exhausted from traveling. When we arrived, we were greeted by a rude, foul jerk who told us we couldn't hang around/rest in the lobby until the 2 pm check in, and that we had to wander around the city until 2pm (meanwhile, there was clearly nothing they had to do in order to prepare our room). Only very reluctantly did he let us leave our luggage there while we roamed around, no map, no advice, nothing. Literally kicked out paying customers. I cannot believe someone would treat a paying guest that way, especially in an age where customer service and crowd sourcing has become so important. I'm not a particularly fussy guy, so we left our bags there and set off for town, thinking it was just one misgiving.

To say nothing of the 5% credit card fee which probably goes to show that all this place wants is your money, our room was filthy, floor was sticky, only one outlet for a ten person bedroom, shower was broken, gross, full of hair, bathroom had literally no ventilation, dirty, so so dirty, beds were full of stains, everything felt sticky and bare, they charged you for whatever they could, whether it was an umbrella, a razor, you name it. I was so glad to get out of there after only spending one night (for something like 180 euros, I don't even want to remember). Literally rubbish and if I could use the most foul language possible on tripadvisor I would.

Amsterdam is only just beautiful/friendly enough to bail this pit out, otherwise, our entire stay there would have been ruined. Staff are really unfriendly, they just want their money, they don't want to help at all. Spare the extra cash to stay somewhere decent, this is just not worth it.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here, which I don't see why you would, don't go for the ten pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stigg425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Kajang, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Current rating of Marnix hotel is pretty low and I find that surprising given my near flawless 2-nights experience there.

Room and the shared bathroom are very clean. The heater/radiator working fine, as well as the hot shower with pressure. One setback there is no elevator which is quite a hassle if you travel with heavy baggage but a none-issue if otherwise.

Location is just perfect. Ramplein tram stop just across the street in front of the hotel. Very convenient

If you are on religious diet, you can find some halal Turkish doner kebab or Indonesian cuisine around the area. They can be reached either by walking or take the tram one stop away

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfifAbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I'd read several negative reviews on TripAdvisor that were pretty disturbing, but the cheap b**tard in me prevailed and I decided to take the plunge for the sake of the unbelievable price - 79€ for two nights in mid-Jan.

En route to the 'hotel' (term loosely applied), I spoke with a few locals who expressed utter disbelief at the price, considering the fantastic location. It was also then I realised that this was more of a 'hostel' than a hotel. It did not help that a bartender I showed my booking slip to made a few jokes about the movie 'Hostel' (which did wonders for the tourism industry in eastern Europe, I'm sure) and commented on how I reminded him of the Japanese tourist who had her eyeballs melted by the blowtorch. Thanks, buddy, really.

By then I was overrun with fears of having my organs stolen (because my 'stunningly good looks' ensured that this was a greater possibility than my chances of being trafficked into drug prostitution), and upon arriving at the hotel address, I found that it was separated into two buildings - one containing the rooms, and the other for check-in. What was this?! Was I going to die here?

Thankfully, my fears were assuaged by the friendly staff at the check in. I was then shown to my room, which contained sleeping quarters for 3 (1 bunk bed + 1 single) and fresh towels. Very spartan, but nothing to complain about for a no-frills accommodation.

There was a private shower space inside the room but it didn't have a door and was separated from the rest of the bedroom by a plastic shower curtain, Norman Bates not included. What was also not included was a rack to hang your towels or clothes, so I had to place them on a chair outside the shower area.

As expected, toiletries and hairdryers were not provided, and the sink was located outside the shower area next to the bunk bed.

The toilet was shared by other guests on the same floor, but it was clean and well-kept.

The beds were pristine and bedbug-free. Unlike what other guests had experienced, there was no "wet dog" smell. Occasionally, the smell of pot would waft up from the streets outside, but that's only because of the hotel's close proximity to The Bulldog and other coffeeshops.

I found the reception staff very helpful, especially when asking for directions to popular tourist spots (yes, they speak decent English!). I later found that they were unnecessary because the hotel was located within walking distance of almost everything – the Anne Frank museum, Leidseplein shopping district, Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark, Van Gogh museum etc.

We were able to use the Internet in the common room by the reception area and I am pleased to report that I was able to safely check-out with my organs intact.

TL;DR: You get what you paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank do9berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Ok let me begin by saying, this is Amsterdam. Stairs are steep in all the old buildings and there are no lifts. We stayed on the 3rd floor in room 301. There were stairs, they aren't that bad.

Also everywhere in Amsterdam charges a city tax, its around 5%, this is never added to the price of the room and is always added when you get there. We paid cash so i'm not sure about extra credit card charges mentioned.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who let us into the room early, the reception area was clean and there were two vending machines some toilets and a seating area where breakfast was served, we didn't have breakfast but the area was clean. We were given a key card each which was needed to get into the building and the room.

The building smelt like air freshener, not like sick or wet dog like somebody mentioned!

Now the room, it was a tiny room for 3 people, one bunk bed, one single bed. Not much room, one window that was easy to open and one radiator that meant even though it was freezing outside, the room was lovely and toasty. The only other things in our room were a mirror, a box of tissues, a bin, a table and a chair and two power sockets (Tip: bring a 4 plug with you and a converter plug- instant extra power!).

The lighting was ok with two lights. One shared toilet per floor (3 rooms on a floor I think) that was clean (and had toilet paper!) but there was no hand soap. The shower was nice and clean and warm.

Somebody mentioned the shower wasn't very powerful but it was fine, theres a little handle on the shower head that lets you change the power.

Finally the beds were SPOTLESS. They were clean, crisp and white. The towels were spotless. We had new towels delivered the second day we were there. There was no bedbug bites on any of us in the room as per another reviewer said. One thing to note though was that the top bunk had no ladders so you had to jump up, also no railings so there would be a decent drop for anybody that sleep dances. I don't know if this is the same for all the rooms but I presume it is.

The location was fantastic with Melkweg club less than a two minute walk away and Dam Square a 10 minute walk with LOADS of shopping around.

We couldn't get the wifi to work but theres a hotel over the road called backstage hotel, we could get a pretty decent wifi connection off them (no password!).

It was quite loud but easy enough to sleep through, nothing worse than in any other city centre.

After reading the reviews about Marnix we were absolutely dreading staying here but we had already booked it, we were all pleasantly surprised its a clean comfy place to get your head down miles cheaper than a lot of the other hotels in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 368 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,041 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#274 of 368 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing