We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marnix Hotel (i.e. HOSTEL)”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #354 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was advertised as a hotel but is a hostel. We had a private room with two beds. The good points were that it was centrally located and we had a sink and and mirror in the room even if we had to share a toilet and shower. The bad...the rooms were not real clean and the mattresses sucked worse than any other hostel that we stayed in. (It had a large bump in the center so it made you roll to the edge and nearly fall off the bed) Someone mention in another review that the beds were like prison beds and I have to agree. We started out on the fourth floor with steep stairways but they did change us the next day to the first floor. (We are old and tired...LOL) No kitchen there to use but that did not effect us.

Room Tip: This is NOT a hotel. It IS a HOSTEL! Highter up is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Perfect if they got kitchen and no big pimpin in the weekend...I know in Adam everyone do the same but still Iz not Fair.they say hotel but I see no difference with an hostel:-) .breakfast Fair file euro Iz too Much. Some of the Bhutan do not leave Open the common area

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is old and dirty, there was dust on the furniture, the curtains were filty, tv didn't work, the first room they give us was on the 4th floor and no elevator. So after I complained they switched us to a different building across the street but in same condition. The beds looked like from a prison. Whatever you do DO NOT STAY HERE!! The area is also not very good!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anapereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I've stayed in a lot of hostels and I really don't need a lot, but for 40 - 50 euro to share a dorm where nothing works and everything is falling apart definitely is not worth it. Plus their internet access is a rip-off and the computers always freeze.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CraigMac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have never seen such micro room before ....whit inside shower ...Thank´s God!!
not even one shelf on the room or bathroom.
Fourtyfour high steps to the room ..good work-out.
Idon´t know but one thing is for Sure ...Never come back to the Marnix Hotel.

Room Tip: Try Another Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 4ilhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Good enough, we have been there 2 nights. Good located nice area, good quality/price. Easy to get there. Cool staff, always avaible and open. Cool that they have wifi also on the too roof...little bit smelly the stairs that's because so tiny and no windows there at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatteoST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recommend this hotel for backpacker. The dormitory room is good, the staff are friendly, and even for you that travel with your spouse, it is also recommended for you, as long as you are a couple of backpacker. No lifts in this hotel, if you bring a luggage, you will need a porter or a strong muscle to make it up to your room.

Room Tip: If you bring a luggage, please request a lowest possible floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adhi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 375 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 375 in Amsterdam
195 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#296 of 375 in Amsterdam
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#149 of 375 in Amsterdam
470 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#316 of 375 in Amsterdam
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £31 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marnix Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing