We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean, what more to expect for this price?”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Good location and clean, what more to expect for this price?”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Location is great, rooms are very tiny but clean, in all great if you're just looking for a place to spend the night while visiting the city throughout the day. Only bad comment, one the mattresses in our room was in very bad shape, had huge holes in on each side, but when we informed the front desk they were genuinely concerned and even offered us free breakfast. Just hope they will replace the mattress.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaux A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    140
    212
    120
    296
See reviews for
40
133
144
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good beds. Clean rooms. Nice bathroom.
Good service for what is costs. The location is very good.
Near from an important square, the night life, good pubs.
There's a lot happening in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Safe, clean, functional. Good hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The shower from the room above leaked on the bed and all down the side of the wall, it looked like sewage.(black with all kinda of bits and things inside it)
Got bitten around 25 times by bed bugs all over my legs and waist.
They claimed the wifi reached the room. When it didn't we asked if we could use another one. We was rudely refused and told to go away and get on with by the receptionist who wouldn't even take his ear phones out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEuropeanInterail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March with my sister. We loved it... perfect location and the rooms were clean and well looked after. Warning that the stairs are EXTREMELY steep but then again - what do you expect in Amsterdam!? We stayed on the very top floor.. and my sister is disabled (with cerebral palsy) but she managed the stairs fine without complaining once! For the price, there is nothing I could complain about. I loved this hotel and will definitely be staying here for my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky040690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived in early June 2013, the hotel is fairly easy to access from the airport via train and then tram. Room was private, secure and relatively clean.

The hotel is not overly central so if you will be shopping/carrying a lot I would recommend staying closer to the centre. The only bonus really was the coffeeshop located directly opposite the hotel, a friend in our group complained about bites (from inside the bed) and re-located to another bed but even when he returned our friend feared the bugs which were biting him had also been found in his bed at home (not there before the trip...).

Overall not a great hotel by anymeans; in fact "poor" describes it adequately. Always check the terms and conditions of your deal as the staff at the desk seemed to spring an inflated price than we were quoted...

Would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-F-R210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I was interrailing with my friends around Europe and we booked the 'hotel' Marnix as it was less money than other places in Amsterdam and we were coming to the end of our trip and, inevitably, the end of our budget. I realise that you get what you pay for, but we stayed in cheaper places that were so much nicer than this. The location was good (half way between the Rijk museum and the centre) but I would not recommend the Hotel Marnix. We stayed in a 10 bed room, and this was fine, however it was not clean - for example, there were blood stains on my sheets. The light switch in the bathroom did not have a cover and wires were exposed, this was the same for the toilet, which also did not flush. My friend got locked in the bathroom as the lock didn't work properly. In the middle of the night we woke to find rain coming through the ceiling (this had clearly happened before as there was a large patch of damp in the ceiling) and our things got wet. We told the staff and were only given a bucket to catch the rain in. Our roommate told us that he had seen a rat in the kitchen - I cannot confirm that this was true but it does not surprise me. Even if you are prioritising budget over cleanliness I would not recommend this hostel - it is not worth the money and in hindsight I would have preferred to spend just a little more for a better hostel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good hotel in general terms and with good relation price quality. The rooms are okay and the people that work there are very kind. The breakfast is not good in my opinion but is inexpensive as an advantage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank julianmoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 368 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,040 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#274 of 368 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing