We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, otherwise poor”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #355 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The only redeeming factor of this hotel is its location, from which you can walk into town in 5 minutes. I stayed in a twin bed room which was extremely small and the beds were substandard. The only access to the room was via a large number of extremely steep stairs, and wifi didn't work in the room. Furthermore the only toilet which worked in the entire building was in reception. Other reviews have detailed rather scary incidents of bed bugs, which I foolishly didn't check before booking. When I tried to cancel the booking I noticed a 100 Euro cancellation fee which is just outrageous. Each day I woke up with a number of small itchy lumps, however I am unsure if they were bed bugs or simply mosquito bites. As you can expect from being so close to the city, it was very loud at night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joshuames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

On arrival only one of the shared toilets worked in the whole building which is just unacceptable. I complained about this and was assured it was being fixed 'soon'. Unprepared to accept this we threatened to leave with refund and were given a room in another building across the road which had en suite bathroom. The room was still not of a great standard but it was clean and the bathroom functioned. This hotel is absolutely not worth the price they charge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good reception service, the wifi was ok in the room (not good, not bad), the breakfast was paid (5Euros) but fair, the toilet didn't have a locker, which was awfull, when you need to share a room with unknown people. But the bed was confortable, the location is good, and in a safe area of the city. It was fair enough for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gisleine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

there even no charge for your devices. Its very dirty. I saw some mouses on the kitchen. There is no special places for your luggage. There is only a little case for your documents. The bathroom and toilet is very very small

Room Tip: don't choose a 10 bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank northlandisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was in a 8 beds room, small room, normal cheap breakfast. But you get what you paid. The staff crew are super friendly and always helpful to guide when you are a solo traveller as me. The city its not too big, so after you learn using public transportation you can get easily all highlights from here ;)

Room Tip: Its ok, but ask on advance how to get to the hostel from central station, theres no free map nearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmescobars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Vile. For the price, truly vile. Narrow steep steps. Extra "guest" in my friends room when a mouse fell off a curtain onto her bed. And has Europe not heard of air conditioning? So hot as to be almost unbearable. Two good things, service from the front desk and location. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed in a private bedroon with shared bathroons. No complainings. It is worth to enphatise that this is a HOSTEL, despite it is writen HOTEL. Do not expect HOTEL treatment, you won´t find it. Bu t it is good and confortable specially for young travellers without much money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matheus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 376 in Amsterdam
215 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#332 of 376 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#300 of 376 in Amsterdam
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,117 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#281 of 376 in Amsterdam
238 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#145 of 376 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £41 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marnix Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing