We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brownstone a cosy stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amsterdam Brownstone B&B
Ranked #258 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 December 2005

Great place to stay, little bit out of centre, but easily accessible by tram or walking. A bit of a noisy street. But Stephanie was a fantastic host. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gouri9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 9 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Arizona
13
Reviewed 6 March 2005

I don't know what the other reviewers are talking about!!
First of all... The breakfast is awful. They lay out stale bread and bad coffee. I was expecting something edible since they had breakfast in the name of the place... but no.
The stairs to get up to your room are the steepest stairs I ever climbed. More like a dangerous winding ladder. And there was no help. Belinda the woman who answered the door did not offer to carry our bags at all. It was torture carrying our bags up 3 flights of dangerous stairs. I hurt my back in the process.
This place is like someone’s apartment and they rent out a room. And the people that live there are in the next room. So you feel like you have to be very quiet all the time. The bathroom is not private, and there is one telephone, which is not in your room. And the people do not tell you where to go in Amsterdam.
And they clean the bathroom and change towels every other day which I thought was weird.
For the price you are better off staying somewhere else.
This place was one step above staying in a hostel.
I felt cheated that I actually had to pay them soo much to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 March 2005

To our future guests,

In relation to the last review we like to explain what is the meaning of a Bed & Breakfast.
A B&B means staying in people’s home, by Dutch law the owner or host has to live in the building.
It’s a totally different atmosphere as in a hotel, staying in a B&B means , small, intimate, and meeting other guest and learn about the city from the host.
The building in where the Brownstone is located is from 1883 and there are as written in our website, very stiff stairways. And because the house is a national monument we can not change the stairway. But of course it makes the house more typical and gives it his special atmosphere. On our website no-where is mention that we have telephones in the rooms, there is a phone in the guest kitchen and our guest can make free telephone calls in the Netherlands! If small things like the taste of Coffee are not to your satisfactory, it’s a little thing to just let us know and we will be more than happy to change this and make your stay more perfect. We don’t see a reason why not to speak with us about it while you are here and then when you are home to complain. We also take in consideration the environment and so we change towels every other day, but also if you like extra towels just let us know and we will provide you with as many fresh towels as you like. To us its very important we have guest staying with us who like to stay in a B&B, and like all the information from above and on our website, We do think we give more service than any other hotel, but if you need the strictness of a hotel, please don’t stay with us, if you want to stay the Dutch way, in a typical Amsterdam house, with a typical Dutch breakfast, you are very welcome to stay with us.
Warm regards,

The Brownstone B&B Amsterdam









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
aberdeen, scotland
11
Reviewed 7 January 2005

Lovely place to stay in a superb location! B & B is kept very clean and the host Belinda put on a great breakfast. Cant say there was a down side but prepare for a giggle getting your suitcase up the traditional steep spiral staircase!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
14
Reviewed 28 September 2004

My wife and I loved staying here. The location is great. The city is beautiful. The hosts are friendly but stay out of your way. The overall shape of the hotel is excellent. Everything is very clean and neat. Only downside which i think you will find often in this town is the stairs. This didnt bother us too much but we carried on. You cant ask for a better location in the city. Will definatly come back here.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
14
Reviewed 4 May 2004

We had the most wonderful stay in the Brownstone B&B. The location in Amsterdam is very central and only a few blocks from the Ann Frank Huis. The accommodations spacious with a modern decor and all bathrooms are kept very clean. The hosts Robert and Ramon truly look after you as part of their family and welcome you into their lovely home. We had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam which was mainly attributed to our time spent at the brownstone.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
White Plains, NY
19
Reviewed 25 April 2004

I have stayed at the Brownstone twice, and if I ever go back to Amsterdam, I'll stay there again. It is a very modern B&B that feels like an elegant 4-star hotel. The rooms are colorful, cheery, and extremely clean. You can tell a lot of attention has been paid to every detail. There is nothing musty about this place, even though the building has retained the charm of the old Dutch rowhouse it used to be. The owners are the friendliest guys you'd ever want to meet. They carry your bags for you, make an impressive breakfast every morning, and are more than happy to offer suggestions for exploring Amsterdam. Finally, the location is excellent: in the center of town and right down the street from the Anne Frank House and Westerkerk. You simply cannot go wrong with this place.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Finland
12
Reviewed 24 April 2004

I just want to recoment this B&B to anyone looking for a great place to stay in amstedam,very clean,very home!in the center of Amsterdam.Thanks once again for the very nice accomodation ,conversation and a great hospitality,the breakfast and everything you both did for all of us,we were very impressed and happy to stay at your B&B.really hope to come back next year.keep that hard work!!!all the best.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#205 of 372 in Amsterdam
952 reviews
Jordaan
No photo provided
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#206 of 338 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
#50 of 338 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#37 of 237 in Amsterdam
142 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#82 of 338 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Brownstone B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Brownstone B&B

Address: Rozengracht 158, 1016 NJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £70 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Old Amsterdam at the Brownstone B&B. This charming 1900 Old-building was completely restored in 2001, preserving its romance and charm, while adding new amenities and conveniences to make your stay more enjoyable. The hosts have travelled the world and have worked in some of the best Hotels. The Brownstone B&B provides the warmth and quality of personal service and hospitality that can only be found in a Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing