We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I want to see the real one in St Petersburg”

Hermitage Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Portrait Gallery of the Golden Age at Hermitage...
Ranked #68 of 540 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is an Amsterdam-based extension of Russia's famed Hermitage Museum. Thera are three exceptional collections to be seen: - The first is from one of the world's largest and most famous museums: the Hermitage in St Petersburg. The museum of the Tsars, with more than three million objects. From 4 Feb 2017 until 17 Sep 2017: 1917. Romanovs & Revolution. The end of Monarchy. And from 7 Oct 2017 until 27 May 2018: Dutch Masters from the Hermitage. Treasures of the Tsars - Exhibit two: Portrait Gallery of the Golden Age - wonderful Dutch group portraits from the Amsterdam Museum and Rijksmuseum collections. - Exhibit three: Outsider Art Museum - We show work from new and absolutely orginal artists, from the collections of museum Het Dolhuys.
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I spent a few hours at the Amsterdam Hermitage. The exhibition was on the Silk Road. The collection was amazing and quite extensive. The building itself is nicely maintained and renovated, with a rather nice dining facility. It certainly is an excellent addition to Amsterdam's museum-scene, especially considering the historical tie between Amsterdam and Peter the Great.

Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"golden age"
in 97 reviews
"portrait gallery"
in 46 reviews
"spanish masters"
in 46 reviews
"russian history"
in 23 reviews
"great exhibition"
in 42 reviews
"outsider art"
in 14 reviews
"on display"
in 68 reviews
"van gogh"
in 84 reviews
"current exhibition"
in 12 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 19 reviews
"amstel river"
in 23 reviews
"audio guide"
in 56 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 14 reviews
"museum card"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful museum"
in 20 reviews
"visited this museum"
in 12 reviews
"art lovers"
in 12 reviews

658 - 662 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We returned for a third time last month to the Hermitage, Amsterdam's outpost of this first rate museum in Russia. The show this time is all about the riches and artifacts of the Silk Road trade routes over many hundreds of years. This all concerns a part of the world that very few Westerners know much about. I found it fascinating. This museum is expensive, but free with the Museum Card. Don't expect to jump the line with the Museum Card; the day we went the card reader was kaput and we had to wait on line anyway. There must be a better way!.

2  Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a branch of The Hermitage Museum in St Petersburg, Russia, which offers a unique opportunity to see treasures from the St Petersburg museum without traveling quite so far. The museum has no permanent collection (other than a small exhibition about the history of the building), but rather mounts two major exhibitions a year from the collection in St Petersburg and their popularity determines the crowds as well as the price of admission. The current exhibition, The Silk Road, is excellent and includes many unusual artifacts, textiles, maps and historical explanations about travel and trade between the East and West as well as interesting information on the archaeological digs that brought this almost lost history back to life. I spent about 2 hours enjoying the exhibit and it was time well spent.

The museum is included in the IAMsterdam tourist card, but there was a 3.50 Euro supplement for this exhibition and I had to get a ticket (apparently, that's not necessary if you have the Museumkaart). Otherwise, the full-price adult admission is 15 Euros. There was no line when I arrived about 10:30 a.m. last Sunday. No photos permitted.

1  Thank Anonymous621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The exhibitions at the Hermitage are always interesting and well presented. Expedition Silk Road is no exception, although I did find it a bit abstract. I am already looking forward to their next exhibition which starts in September 2014.

1  Thank gerdav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Interesting and amazing views of artifacts from the SILk Road. You can pick your path to start your travels East or West. Follow University students as they explore parts of the Silk Road today.

Thank futureworldtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermitage Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing