We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION in Amsterdam!”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECTION in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

From the moment we walked through the door, Frank and Oki were there to guide us through their beautiful city while providing top-notch service and amenities. On our trip we visited Paris, Rome, and Amsterdam. There was no comparison to our stay at Le Quartier Sonang in Amsterdam. The room was spacious, airy, and thoughtfully decorated. The bed is exactly as described, "a cloud." You are able to see and feel the thought and care Frank and Oki put into running this bed and breakfast - from the beautiful breakfast presentations in the morning to the turn-down service at night complete with chocolates and a note - there are no other words other than perfection to describe our stay. To top it off, Le Quartier Sonang is perfectly located. You can walk to all the major sights in less than 20 minutes. However, it is tucked away enough on a beautiful side street to be quiet and serene while in your room. This bed and breakfast truly deserves its excellent ratings. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
398
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a wonderful romantic vacation in Amsterdam, and Oki and Frank's amazing B&B was definitely a big reason why the trip was so great. From the moment we arrived, Frank and Oki made us feel welcome with a personalized check-in--pouring us a glass of wine, circling point of interest for us to visit during our stay on a map, and providing restaurant recommendations (all of which were superb!).

We stayed in both rooms during our stay and they were both unique and wonderful and very nicely appointed--felt like a 5 star hotel. The Chambre de Villa has a beautiful street view, while the Kamar Bidadari has a beautiful back terrace--perfect for sipping wine or enjoying breakfast. My husband and I thought both rooms were gorgeous and equally appealing for your stay. Also the bathrooms are amazing--we both raved about the showers. All in all the rooms are a very nice size and very attractive.

What really made our stay so great were the personal touches--Oki's amazing breakfasts each morning, Frank leaving us little house slippers etc. Frank even woke up at 7am to make sure we didn't oversleep our early morning flight!

Do yourself a favor and stay here! The best place we stayed out during our entire 3-city European vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Okla
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A great big thank you to the owners, Frank and Oki, for all of their hospitality during our 3 night stay in Amsterdam.
After a glass of Chardonnay, Frank helped us plan how to realistically best use our time in Amsterdam, which was very helpful. Le Quartier Sontag is in a quiet part of the city but very close to museums and great neighborhood restaurants.
Oki's attention to detail is evident in everything he does, from the coco slippers left by the bed to the beautiful breakfast trays each morning.
We will definitely return one day and will hopefully send many friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back. The courtyard is a fascinating snapshot of life in Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyArchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This house is delightful...and the owners of the property 'Oki & Frank' are the nicest hosts you could wish for. Although this is a B&B, it really feels like you've dropped in on old friends who have opened up their house for you. The house is situated in a quiet leafy residential area, the street and surrounding areas are lined with bicycles in typical Dutch fashion, very picturesque and charming. The room which we stayed in was decorated to a very high standard, very airy and light and tastefully decorated. One of my two favourite features was the beautiful french doors which opened onto a balcony, although the balcony overlooks the back of some other residential properties and their gardens, it was very quiet and private - I found it to be an added bonus as you get the experience of what it feels like to live in Amsterdam. Another feature which I loved, was the 'Coco-Mat' bed...a very luxurious feature for a B&B! The attention to detail in every respect is really exceptional, from the friendly welcome to the chocolates placed on our pillows when we returned after an evening out. I can't really fault anything, and I am a bit fussy! We will definatley return to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PLBLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our stay at Le Quartier Sonang really made our trip to Amsterdam! Frank and Oki's kindness and hospitality made us feel very welcome. The room was beautiful and with the little extras (we even had a pair of slippers each!) there was nothing more we could have asked for. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Location-wise it was perfect! In a quiet residential area and within walking distance of the center of Amsterdam, it could not have been more convenient. All in all we had a fantastic time and could not have hoped for a better stay or better hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This B&B is located in a quiet and friendly neighbourhood near the museum area. During a very warm welcome we got great tips for dinner and sightseeing. Lots of nice restaurants and shops around the corner. The Bandadari Room is more than comfortable, with a luxurious bed and beautiful bathroom with spacious rain shower. In the morning we had a breakfast with lovely season fruit on the balcony. Everything breezes perfection combined with a homely atmosphere. Never met better or friendlier hosts at a B&B. The first ranking in Tripadvisor is well deserved!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarjoIijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

During our trip stayed in B&Bs in Brussels, Paris and Amsterdam and Le Quartier way by far and away our favourite. The house was full of nice touches and attention to detail. The breakfasts were healthy and tasty, and the room is equipped with a new coffee machine and fridge. The bathroom was pristine and the bed luxurious. As hosts Oki and Frank were more than happy to share their local dining tips and other insider knowledge. The house itself is just a short walk from the nine streets and the museum district on a nice, leavy street. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWB294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing