We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The warm welcome included some great guidance on how to fill our days. The restaurant tips were just right for us. Frank gave us plenty of time and information to help with a flying start to a 3 day stay. Frank and Oki excel at their attention to detail in thinking of our every need. Wonderful hosts. Our bedroom was quiet and in perfect condition with many comforts. The location is well connected to the main attractions. A pleasant respite from the city centre. Easy walking along canals to everything we wanted to do. Would return when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The front bedroom was spacious with a good view of a classic Amsterdam street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NealJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
368
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

There is a reason why Le Quartier Sonang is number one in Amsterdam! The location is perfect if you don't want to be in the middle of it all. It is easily accessed from the airport via bus and a perfect location that puts you in walking distance of the museum District, The Anne Frank House and the downtown area. We found it best to take a cab upon departure, as it was raining, but a tram or a bus in better weather would do the trick to get you to the Central Train station.

The room was lovely. Decorated in white and chartreuse. There is a mini fridge in the room and breakfast is served in your room.

Oki and Frank care about your comfort and your stay. They are wonderful hosts and can supply with you information on eateries (several just around the corner) and anything you need while in Amsterdam.

I had bought a bottle of wine and when we returned to the room, wine glasses had been placed in the room. I liked that touch, as we hadn't requested them!

Perfect. Would recommend to any friends or family staying in the area!

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside with a balcony. Quiet. Lovely balcony with plants and flowers. Not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My short stay at the Le Quartier Sonang B&B was comfortable and convenient. They send me an email prior to my arrival providing excellent directions from the Airport to their address. Frank was also very helpful by helping me book my train ticket to Germany and also locating local restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The stairs to the room are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Consider yourself a lucky person if you get a room at Le Quartier Sonang. Why? Because it is a phenomenal B&B and they only have 2 rooms.

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in August on our way to Tanzania, and 2 nights on our way home. We've travelled extensively in many parts of the world, and prefer B&Bs or small hotels as our accommodation. This B&B ranks at the top.

The owners/hosts (Oki and Frank) are eminently suited to this endeavor. They are fun, considerate, helpful, and do everything to make your stay in Amsterdam memorable. When we returned in September for 2 nights, there were long-stemmed roses and a bottle of champagne waiting for us. We feel like we made 2 new friends by staying at Le Quartier!

We stayed in the front room (Chambre de Ville), which was spacious and beautifully decorated. There were two "easy" chairs to sit in, as well as a small table with chairs to eat breakfast at or use a laptop. Oki brought us a matching ottoman for our feet, which was a nice touch too and helpful to my husband who has a bad back. The bed is very special--a "coco mat" type that was wonderfully comfortable.

The breakfasts were just plain perfect. Oki promptly appears at your room with a small table and tray at your appointed breakfast time. There will always be fresh flowers on the tray, as well as fresh-baked pastries, fresh-squeezed juice, Greek yogurt, fruits, etc.

And I almost forgot about the one-cup coffeemaker in the room, along with other tea/coffee accoutrements. We loved this beyond description!

I always look for a B&B that has plentiful services nearby like restaurants, espresso bars, shops, etc., as well as being near public transportation. Le Quartier met all of these criteria.

Le Quartier had superb restaurants nearby, and every one of Oki-Frank's recommendations was a winner. We especially liked The Seafood Bar, De Italia, and Pastis. One night we took the tram to a wonderful Indonesian "rice table" restaurant that Oki used to work at: Tempo do Joe. What a great dining experience that was, since we had never eaten Indonesian cuisine. It turns out this is also an Anthony Bourdain recommendation.

There are 2 tram stops within 5-15 minutes walk, and we used the trams quite a bit to get to other parts of the city. Oki/Frank are more than happy to give advice on the various museums and other attractions in Amsterdam. The Museumplein with the 3 famous museums (Rijks, Van Gogh and Stedelijk) are a 20-minute walk.

Lastly, I have to mention again that the service is over the top. We had two very early morning departures from Schiphol. They called a taxi the night before, and then appeared at our door to carry our suitcases down to the waiting taxi.

Thank you, Oki and Frank, for a wonderful experience in Amsterdam. You've set the bar high for our future B&B experiences!

Room Tip: Chambre de Ville was great, but we have no experience with the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines IA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam (September 2013), and we wanted to make it special. Le Quartier Sonang played a big part in making it so. The B &B is in a quiet neighborhood yet only a few minutes walk away from the central part of the city. It is said that Amsterdam is a walking city, but we still were surprised that, without getting worn out, we could walk just about any place in central Amsterdam. So, Le Quartier Sonang was perfectly situated for us. The B & B itself is spotless, comfortable and very attractively appointed. But what makes it really shine is the gracious hospitality of Oki and Frank. They are the heart of Le Quartier Sonang. They made us feel like treasured guests in their home - from the moment we arrived to the time they bid us goodbye. They offered valuable suggestions on where and when to visit museums or other attractions; pointed us to restaurants that they thought we would enjoy; and then they were genuinely excited to hear about our adventures of the day. In a word, Le Quartier Sonang and its wonderful hosts are charming! We look forward to again visiting our new-found friends.

Room Tip: The Kamar Bidadari is at the back of the house. It has a spacious bathroom, a cozy table for Oki'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My mum and I stayed here for two nights and agreed that it was one of the best places we'd ever stayed at. Frank and Oki are extremely friendly and helpful and take pride in their work for the B&B, and it shows. The property is well located to walk to all the sights of Amsterdam, or to take public transport if one does not feel like walking. Everything was wonderful - from the bed, to the breakfast, to the clean floors and the extremely clean toilet. We have no complaints and would definitely stay here again if we are in Amsterdam! Thanks a lot again to Frank and Oki!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here in November 2012 for 2 nights. We were pleasantly surprised. I booked late the day before but I received a prompt reply within minutes from Oki and Frank. I chose this bed and breakfast due to the rave reviews. Our room was beautiful. Everything we needed was there. Frank wasn't lying about the bed either, it was a dream to sleep on. Breakfast was lovely. I was over the moon with the heated tiles in the bathroom! Couldn't fault a thing! Thanks Oki and Frank.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing