We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodations with benefits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #2 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Accomodations with benefits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

After we missed our flight connection to Amsterdam and arrived 7 hours later, Oki was a lifesaver! He printed our revised tour tickets and arranged to be home to receive our delayed luggage, all with a smile. Oh yes, the room is modern (and very clean!), the breakfast delicious, and the proximity to the sights in the old city saved us a ton in taxi costs and the hassle of public transportation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
377
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Le Quartier Sonang for 5 amazing nights. All the Trip Advisor reviews that I had read prior to our stay are absolutely true. The B&B is simply beautiful, but what truly brings it to another level of excellence were our hosts, Oki and Frank. I knew as soon as we stepped into their home we had made the right decision. We felt immediately at ease when Oki greeted us at the door with his warm smile. I just hope my review does justice to their superb B&B.

Our Hosts: Oki and Frank are the most wonderful couple we have had the pleasure to meet. They are so welcoming, funny, engaging, kind and very helpful. They both went above and beyond to give us suggestions on what to see and do, restaurants, and shopping which made our time in Amsterdam so amazing. Although I loved Amsterdam itself, I do think a big part of why we enjoyed it so much was because of our stay with Oki and Frank. Their personal touches were evident throughout our stay.....chocolates with a note wishing us sweet dreams, wine glasses and plate/napkins to enjoy the wine and cheese we bought to enjoy in our room.

Location: Absolutely perfect! The B&B is easy to reach from the train station (the directions we were given were spot on) so not at all difficult even with baggage. The B&B itself is located in such a picturesque neighborhood, you feel like you are in a little village. It was great to be in such a quiet location yet close to everything with an easy 10-15 minute walk to city center, museums. etc.

Our Room: There are two rooms and we stayed in Chambre de Ville. We have stayed at many B&B's across Europe and this room by far was a favorite. Where do I begin? It had every possible creature comfort that you could ask for. There was not one detail large or small that was overlooked, we wanted for nothing. The room itself was beautifully decorated in a neutral palette and had a small balcony filled with flowers. We had two comfy chairs, a small refrigerator, Nespresso coffee machine (which I loved), dining table with chairs where we ate our breakfast or used our computer. We were even provided slippers, another nice touch. We always looked forward to coming "home" after a long day of seeing the sights.

Bathroom: The bathroom could have come straight out of a magazine. Stunning use of slate, tile and glass. We loved the rainwater shower. Again, everything you could want. Nice fluffy towels and quality toiletries.....loved the Coco-Mat bath products, they smell fabulous.

The Bed: Okay, I had to give the bed its own category. I have never slept on any bed, not even my own that was so comfortable.....quality bed linens and pillows too. So many people have commented how wonderful this bed is and I now can say the same. It's like sleeping on a big soft cloud. It was hard to drag my body out of it every morning.

Breakfast: What a start to our day to hear the soft knock on our door and there was Oki with his beautiful smile wishing us a good morning with our breakfast tray. Our breakfast included croissants, breads and pastries along with jams, honey & assorted spreads, fresh fruit, yogurt and always a vase of fresh flowers. We made use of the Nespresso machine (have one at home) to complete our breakfast. Everything was fresh, delicious and presented so nicely. Needless to say we ate everything put in front of us!

Restaurants: We loved how there were restaurants right in the neighborhood where we stayed. It was so nice to walk less than 5 minutes (usually 2 minutes) to great places to eat. Take Oki & Franks recommendations on where to eat, they are spot on. The only night we "traveled" further was to eat at the Indonesian restaurant Temp doeloe....fantastic food and highly recommended. Oh and if you love gelato like I do make sure to go to Diciotto, fantastic.

Our stay here was truly exceptional and total perfection to us. We loved everything about Le Quartier Sonang and were genuinely sad to have to leave Frank & Oki. Hopefully we will be back to stay with them again soon.

Jodi & JIm
NYC

Room Tip: There are two rooms and you cannot go wrong with either of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiS809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The warm welcome included some great guidance on how to fill our days. The restaurant tips were just right for us. Frank gave us plenty of time and information to help with a flying start to a 3 day stay. Frank and Oki excel at their attention to detail in thinking of our every need. Wonderful hosts. Our bedroom was quiet and in perfect condition with many comforts. The location is well connected to the main attractions. A pleasant respite from the city centre. Easy walking along canals to everything we wanted to do. Would return when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The front bedroom was spacious with a good view of a classic Amsterdam street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NealJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

There is a reason why Le Quartier Sonang is number one in Amsterdam! The location is perfect if you don't want to be in the middle of it all. It is easily accessed from the airport via bus and a perfect location that puts you in walking distance of the museum District, The Anne Frank House and the downtown area. We found it best to take a cab upon departure, as it was raining, but a tram or a bus in better weather would do the trick to get you to the Central Train station.

The room was lovely. Decorated in white and chartreuse. There is a mini fridge in the room and breakfast is served in your room.

Oki and Frank care about your comfort and your stay. They are wonderful hosts and can supply with you information on eateries (several just around the corner) and anything you need while in Amsterdam.

I had bought a bottle of wine and when we returned to the room, wine glasses had been placed in the room. I liked that touch, as we hadn't requested them!

Perfect. Would recommend to any friends or family staying in the area!

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside with a balcony. Quiet. Lovely balcony with plants and flowers. Not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My short stay at the Le Quartier Sonang B&B was comfortable and convenient. They send me an email prior to my arrival providing excellent directions from the Airport to their address. Frank was also very helpful by helping me book my train ticket to Germany and also locating local restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The stairs to the room are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Consider yourself a lucky person if you get a room at Le Quartier Sonang. Why? Because it is a phenomenal B&B and they only have 2 rooms.

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in August on our way to Tanzania, and 2 nights on our way home. We've travelled extensively in many parts of the world, and prefer B&Bs or small hotels as our accommodation. This B&B ranks at the top.

The owners/hosts (Oki and Frank) are eminently suited to this endeavor. They are fun, considerate, helpful, and do everything to make your stay in Amsterdam memorable. When we returned in September for 2 nights, there were long-stemmed roses and a bottle of champagne waiting for us. We feel like we made 2 new friends by staying at Le Quartier!

We stayed in the front room (Chambre de Ville), which was spacious and beautifully decorated. There were two "easy" chairs to sit in, as well as a small table with chairs to eat breakfast at or use a laptop. Oki brought us a matching ottoman for our feet, which was a nice touch too and helpful to my husband who has a bad back. The bed is very special--a "coco mat" type that was wonderfully comfortable.

The breakfasts were just plain perfect. Oki promptly appears at your room with a small table and tray at your appointed breakfast time. There will always be fresh flowers on the tray, as well as fresh-baked pastries, fresh-squeezed juice, Greek yogurt, fruits, etc.

And I almost forgot about the one-cup coffeemaker in the room, along with other tea/coffee accoutrements. We loved this beyond description!

I always look for a B&B that has plentiful services nearby like restaurants, espresso bars, shops, etc., as well as being near public transportation. Le Quartier met all of these criteria.

Le Quartier had superb restaurants nearby, and every one of Oki-Frank's recommendations was a winner. We especially liked The Seafood Bar, De Italia, and Pastis. One night we took the tram to a wonderful Indonesian "rice table" restaurant that Oki used to work at: Tempo do Joe. What a great dining experience that was, since we had never eaten Indonesian cuisine. It turns out this is also an Anthony Bourdain recommendation.

There are 2 tram stops within 5-15 minutes walk, and we used the trams quite a bit to get to other parts of the city. Oki/Frank are more than happy to give advice on the various museums and other attractions in Amsterdam. The Museumplein with the 3 famous museums (Rijks, Van Gogh and Stedelijk) are a 20-minute walk.

Lastly, I have to mention again that the service is over the top. We had two very early morning departures from Schiphol. They called a taxi the night before, and then appeared at our door to carry our suitcases down to the waiting taxi.

Thank you, Oki and Frank, for a wonderful experience in Amsterdam. You've set the bar high for our future B&B experiences!

Room Tip: Chambre de Ville was great, but we have no experience with the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines IA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam (September 2013), and we wanted to make it special. Le Quartier Sonang played a big part in making it so. The B &B is in a quiet neighborhood yet only a few minutes walk away from the central part of the city. It is said that Amsterdam is a walking city, but we still were surprised that, without getting worn out, we could walk just about any place in central Amsterdam. So, Le Quartier Sonang was perfectly situated for us. The B & B itself is spotless, comfortable and very attractively appointed. But what makes it really shine is the gracious hospitality of Oki and Frank. They are the heart of Le Quartier Sonang. They made us feel like treasured guests in their home - from the moment we arrived to the time they bid us goodbye. They offered valuable suggestions on where and when to visit museums or other attractions; pointed us to restaurants that they thought we would enjoy; and then they were genuinely excited to hear about our adventures of the day. In a word, Le Quartier Sonang and its wonderful hosts are charming! We look forward to again visiting our new-found friends.

Room Tip: The Kamar Bidadari is at the back of the house. It has a spacious bathroom, a cozy table for Oki'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing