We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice to make!”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best choice to make!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This gem in the heart of Amsterdam is THE place to stay. I visited this cosy and inviting townhouse for a short stay in midst December. The best choice I could have made! - thanks to 3 things: 1) The welcoming hosts, Oki and Frank, instantly make you feel at home and pamper you like no 5 star hotel ever could. Imagine a gracious continental breakfast decorated with a fresh flower brought to your room in the morning; a scent of Indonesian easy going life-style in the air. More reason to praise the hosts there is, but let me continue: 2) The traditional architecture of this typical Amsterdam townhouse in the Grachten quarter is a cultural experience in itself; you may feel like a true Dutch: Ah, that's how those canal houses look like inside. The ambiente of the furniture and decoration is a tasteful mix of modern and collected antique or collected items. And this place is spotlessly clean. And the precious Coco mattress!: It's for a prince/princess to sleep on: royal! The ensuite bathroom: deluxe! We had the luck to stay in the courtyard-room: spacious and very calm. 3) The location: You stay in the center center of Amsterdam in walking distance to all those sights you certainly have on your agenda: The famous canal/grachten quarter, the Rijks and Van Gogh Museum, the Palace and and and. 5 minutes from the guesthouse are nice, small and good restaurants/bistros. Also, public transport is around the corner. - I surely will come back here next time. Meanwhile it's your turn to enjoy Le Ouartier Sonang and beautiful Amsterdam! Ey, no wonder it's travelers' 1st. choice :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
383
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We love the experience we receive when we stay at this wonderful haven in Amsterdam. This is our second visit due to the care and comfort of our hosts. The attention to detail is why this place is so special. The bed is simply the best we have ever slept in and you receive a lovely welcome tray of breakfast to your room. Fresh flowers appear in your room and chocolates on your bed when they do a turn down service every night. It is in a great location with some lovely restaurants close by. Frank and Oki are very helpful guides to give you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyeireEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Thanks to Frank and Oki, our first trip to Amsterdam was superb. Your help and guidance on arrival was a great way to start our holiday. We could not have wished for a better location, so accessible in which to explore the city and surrounding countryside.The room and service was amazing and the breakfast was an absolute treat, which we looked forward to every morning. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Frank and Oki were the most gracious and friendly hosts while on our first time to amsterdam. They gave us a great welcome, excellent help and suggestions during our stay. Such a cute location. Like staying at a friend's house. A totally relaxing stay and a wonderful city to visit. Thanks Frank and Oki!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

As all the reviews I've read on here have said, Frank and Oki are the most gracious hosts and Le Quartier Sonang is definitely the place to stay in Amsterdam!

My boyfriend bought me here as a surprise for my 30th birthday and the Beautiful room, wonderfully comfy bed and amazing bathrooms make this place perfect as well as being able to have breakfast looking out onto the lovely leafy street.

They gave us great advice on places to eat and visit-try the Indonesian rice table, and also go to Pastis round the corner, a fab little bistro. The Nine Streets are also fantastic to wonder round.

We absolutely loved Amsterdam and will definitely be coming back, and staying with Frank and Oki when we do (and sorry it took us so long to write our review!). Nicole & Sky

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandNs_bigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Le Quartier Sonang! Frank and Oki's hospitality was second to none. Everything was perfect from the warm reception, to the kind send-off. The room and breakfast were great. Frank also gave is several recommendations that proved to be well deserved. The location was perfect as well. If we ever come back to Amsterdam (and I sure hope that we do), we will be sure to stay here again. Chris & Jacqueline Arizona USA

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bambilive
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here in Sept 2012, and it we were really pleased with our stay. Frank and Oki are wonderful hosts. They gave us lots of helpful information when we arrived, and if you needed anything they are very approachable. The room looked exactly like the website, and are finished to a very high standard. if this was a hotel then it would be five stars. The area is lovely, on a beautiful leafy street within easy walking distance to the center. It is very safe at night. Breakfast was lovely, fresh orange juice, fruit and croissants ect. There was plenty and it set us up well for the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and my partner often mentions going back!!! Dorry it took so long to write up our feed back, but your lovely xmas card you sent us reminded me. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing