We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oki and Frank are the best!”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oki and Frank are the best!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My g/f and I stayed here for two nights last week on our way back to the US from the Balkans.

The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood just blocks away from the "Nine Streets" area. Getting to/from Schiphol Airport was easy via the 197 bus, which costs 5 Euros and takes 30 minutes.

We stayed in the room at the back, which has a nice terrace and wonderful view of the garden. The room was spacious, yet cozy. The bed was very comfortable.

Oki and Frank were excellent hosts, and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.
Our holiday began with a wedding in Zwolle, which is about 90 minutes east of Amsterdam. After the wedding festivities we returned to Amsterdam for our flight to the Balkans. Oki and Frank allowed us to leave with them our wedding clothes, which freed us of the burden of having to carry them for the rest of our trip. We simply picked them up when we stopped in Amsterdam for two days on our way home to the US.

Each night when we returned to the room there were chocolates waiting for us on our pillows.

And for the coffee drinkers, there is a Nespresso machine in the rooms, with a fine selection of coffees, which are replenished each day.

For the environmentally conscious, Okie and Frank run the B&B in an environment-friendly way.

And just when you thought it could not get any better, every guest gets to take home a stylish pair of Coco-Mat slippers.

Book a room here. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron10009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
391
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Le Quartier Sonang Bed & Breakfast is perfectly located within easy walking distance of all the top sites in Amsterdam such as the Vondelpark, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, Western canals, Anne Frank House, and various local residences and shopping districts in the Jordaan area. Our bedroom faced the garden (inner courtyard) and was recently renovated. It had a beautiful bathroom, spacious bedroom/sitting area (even by North American standards), and it had patio doors that opened up onto the courtyard. It is also located in a quiet local neighbourhood away from major tourist accommodations. Fresh breakfasts were served to us in our room. We really enjoyed eating our breakfasts while sitting in our room with a view of the courtyard. We arrived in Amsterdam after a two-week river cruise from Budapest. We could not have picked a better place to spend the last three days of our vacation. Oki and Frank were wonderful hosts and made us feel comfortable the moment we arrived. Oki gave us some great suggestions for local restaurants and some interesting, but hidden, attractions. Be sure to ask him how to find Begijnhof - a hidden courtyard that hosts the oldest building in the Netherlands. I highly recommend staying here and I hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Both rooms are located on the second floor; one faces the courtyard (our room) and the other faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercury752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This small B&B will surely astonish you with its lovely rooms! Mine, with enormous windows, facing the quiet street, was exceptional! Beautifully decorated, yet not fussy, immaculate, with superb bedding and delicious, healthy breakfasts delivered to you (even though I had an early flight, I still had a tray brought to my door for a predeparture morning meal!). It's the type of place you don't want to leave for the day because it's so enjoyable just to stay on the premises and soak up the atmosphere of Amsterdam right in your room. The hosts are kind, friendly, attentive, and the location is superb! Just a short walk to the museums and to excellent eating places. I have been to Amsterdam many many times and I've stayed in fine hotels there, but this is without question my very favorite place. The only problem is that it's quite loved by returning guests so you must book ahead!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a great week in Amsterdam. The visit kicked off well when we met Oki and later Frank. They were both ideal hosts who offered great advice on touring Amsterdam and a side trip to Delft.

The room with Coco-mat mattress was so restful. The breakfast was healthy and great. I would give it all 6 stars if possible.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CLCIFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here at this lovely little B&B. Oki and Frank were very hospitable.

The room was so comfortable and the location was quiet plus convenient. Modern bathrooms. Beautiful little balcony full of flowers.

Every morning we looked forward to the thoughtfully made breakfast. Something different each time with fresh juices, croissants, jams, yogurt, cheeses and an egg complete with a different flower of the day.

Chocolates were always on out pillows at night.

We felt truly taken care of!

Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is the best B&B I've ever stayed at. We arrived to a warm welcome by Frankie and Oki who were gracious hosts. Our room was immaculately clean with flowers and lacked nothing. The location is perfect (close to the museums and transport). Breakfasts were divine and served in our room.

When we made our reservations everything was handled professionally and promptly.....what a pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winelover729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

everything is true. everything. plus... Arriving early from Los Angeles, we were gently and warmly adopted, oriented, 'coffeed' , and the bags disappeared without a whisper up to the room. Plus... Addicted to coffee as I am, their in-room machine made wonderful cup after cup after... plus... Terrific senses of humor; wish we liked our friends this much after three days... And Ok, the bed is the best in the world, the location perfect, the room delightful, both inside the room and bath, and looking out the floor to ceiling windows, the breakfasts a great collection of fresh berries, fresh squeezed juices, baked goods, cheeses, yogurt...all served when asked to our room, ... better book in advance, and stay at least three days. better 30. Thanks, frank and oki.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room and loved the view and open feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,267 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing