We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely avoid!”
Review of Hotel Museum Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Museum Lane
Ranked #348 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
547
Reviewed 26 December 2004

Like other reviewers I was duped by the great pictures on this hotel's website. To be fair they do say that not all rooms have the great view shown on the site... understatement of the year. Our very small, very depressing room was unbelievably dark and also fairly noisy (right next to the 24 hour reception). The bathroom was the worst thing about the room, with the shower nothing more than a drain in the corner next to the toilet with a curtain round it... no tiles, very grim. For 100 euro it was a ripoff - I know space is at a premium in Amsterdam and it was the summer season, but I do think there are much better deals out there.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 721 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, UK
16
Reviewed 24 May 2004

Having keenly viewed pictures of this hotel, I was expecting a relaxing 2/3 star hotel. This hotel barely scraped as a 1 star, the room was very small, extremely dark and pools of stagnant water collected in the bathroom.
The breakfast was no better, cold mush of eggs and cereal with powdered milk. I was totally prepared for the different style of Dutch breakfasts and enjoyed many during my stay, this hotel’s breakfast was truly awful.
I left the hotel and ending up staying in the Hotel D’Amsterdam for 90 Euros a night which was of far higher quality. My advice – avoid this hotel!!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2004

when i saw the pictures in the brochure i was delighted with my choice, considering my partner and i just wanted a budget short break away from the stresses of the children and did'nt want to pay a huge amount. i happily booked a small double for a three night stay.
on arrival at the Art Gallery my delight soon turned to disapointment, the reception staff were friendly but did not offer to show us to our room let alone help with the luggage ! what we did receive was a broken key card and a pointing finger to help us on our way ! stairs in the beautiful city of amsterdam are generally steep and rather lacking in depth but a hoist would have been more appropriate for transport to our room! after negociating this with no guide and our luggage in hand the initial disapointment turned to something else. the room description as a "small double" was something of an under statement! our "clean and comfortable" room was nothing of the sort. the low lit rather grimy apearence of the room/cupboard was further compounded by the "en-suite" bathroom.
which had a distinct smell to it after a little investigation it was found that the stench was eminating from the showers drain, this was confirmed by the drain,
a drain which bubbled every time the toilet was flushed !!!!!!!!!!!!

so remember if you find yourself in an unexceptablel room go and complain straight away !!!

"our german guests have the better rooms because they complain so much" "sorry" was the Art Gallerys line of defence!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NikkiBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Giacomo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Samuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yvonneswinkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vincentlandelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#313 of 375 in Amsterdam
383 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 375 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#88 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,769 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#311 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,993 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#289 of 375 in Amsterdam
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museum Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museum Lane

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Art Gallery Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £35 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Museum Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museum Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing