We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The location of the Tulip was perfect, one metro stop or a ten minute walk from Centraal Station. Like any authentic old canal house the Tulip comes with very steep stairs and no elevator. David carried our suitcases up to our very comfortable room without being asked. Breakfast was "fix-it-yourself" with provided coffee, tea, juice, milk, yoghurt, cereals, eggs, cheese, meats and bread. I actually prefer to fix my eggs exactly as I like them, so this was great for us.We enjoyed the attention of the resident cat, who was usually available to be petted. Highly recommended for people who would like an authentic experience with personable hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    29
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
248
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The B&B owner David is unbelievably nice to give my travel partner and I a very warm welcome and let us know what attractions to go once we reached his home. The photos showing on their official website is exactly how the room is i.e. warm, tidy, clean and cozy. From the selection of furnitures to the local holland decorations of the room, I can tell a great deal of effort and love is put in this place. The shower room is bright and clean, while the water is warm enough. Thanks to the free Wifi service which is stable and strong, I could reach my friend in holland via whatssap and facebook without a cost. In the morning, we can cook our own breakfast at the kitchen and everything is fresh. On the last day, we went to Alkkmar Cheese Market before returning to Paris, David is very kind to let us keep our luggagues at his place after check out. This warm stay is one of the things i miss most about Amsterdam and I will definately choose Tulip B&B again :D

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It was the first time I visit Amsterdam. David the host is super nice and friendly. He briefly introduced the places around and provide me with a map, which is very useful for my whole trip. Stayed over Jun 12-14 for 3 nights, have been walking hours and hours everyday, it is really nice to go back to a cosy decent place for a rest. The entire room is nicely decorated in Amsterdam style and there's a pot of elegant orchid. The shower place is clean and the water is warm enough. In the morning there are a lot of choices for breakfast, from fresh fruits to cereals to toast with all sorts of jam/chocolate/butter to go with. I could even have the chance to make the any style of egg that I want, as many as I could. The free WiFi service is easy to use and connect, accessable everywhere within the entire B&B area. They have a lovely cat staying in the lobby, which made my trip in Amsterdam even more memorable :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niv_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had booked two large rooms for 2 couples and a kid. The rooms were brilliantly decorated and had all the necessary stuff to make the stay very very comfortable. David, the host was great. Greeted us with a big smile along with assisting with the directions and the place (what to see, where to go etc). He managed everything superbly and made sure that every arrangement suited us the best.

The best part was the location - very centre and facing the canal. Almost everything was walkable, Amsterdam Central is very near (around 800m). Overall a great experience and will surely love to stay there again. Special thanks to David for the making the stay a memorable one and also for the souvenir :)

A highly recommended B&B to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asheesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Travelling with my daughter (24 yrs), and wished we had booked this place for our 4 days here instead of just one night. The location was great- very central. David was so welcoming on our arrival with a cup of tea and a sit down to go over a map and recommend us the best things to do in Amsterdam. We loved the room, it had a lot of character, right down to the towels that were folded into the shape of swans. David has thought of everything, we loved the little touches such as the Nespresso coffee machine in the room, complimentary stroopwaffels, quaint decorations and a fridge with more complimentary nibbles. Breakfast was wonderful, make it yourself with fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon and eggs etc- We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAustraliaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had the most enjoyable visit to Amsterdam over the weekend of 16/17 June. Made so, by the Tulip of Amsterdam.

Conveniently located, excellent rooms -deocrated to make them feel almost personal, a good host, a relaxed eating environment- all go to make The Tulip of Amsterdam a must-stay place.

This place is highly recommended. A pleasure all round.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucks_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

we stay over a weekend in this b&b. they have amazing location, almost in the city centre. Chris and David make as feel so special, we really didnt want to come back home. we already planning a new trip to Amsterdam. really what a great, great place. I wish i could stay longer.

Room Tip: Excellent location, great value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agusia1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Property: Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing