We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and awesome owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome owners”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The location of the B & B was perfect. Both Chris and David couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We had tons of questions about using the train, getting tickets for some of the museums and getting to some of the out of the area sites. David was happy to answer all of our questions and helped using his computer to reserve tickets and look up best times for connecting trains. Again the location couldn't have been better. We were there for a week and the were within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stubaru56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    29
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
248
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. An easy walk from Central Station. A great 'home from home' with friendly, helful hosts. Our room was lovely; nicely furnished with lots of little touches to make it special. The breakfast kitchen is a great idea; eat what you like and cook when you are ready. Then it is just a few minutes walk into the centre of the city. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. Thank you David & Chris (and Lotye)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TruroJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

David and Chris at Tulips were friendly and helpful to us even before we arrived answering all our nervous questions promptly. Arriving early and jet lagged from Texas, we were greeted with a coffee a chat and helpful information.
Our room was extremely clean, attractively decorated in blue and white with tulips everywhere and ample coat hangers. Included was a complimentary bottle of wine, snacks, coffee, tea, and soft drinks in the refrigerator. Breakfast was self-serve with many hot and cold options.
As previously noted by others, Tulips is Canalside and 1/2 block from lively Newmarket Square which had multiple venues each day and outdoor/indoor cafes perfect for eating, drinking and people watching; but as our room was in the rear, it was quiet. The bed and pillows were crisp and cozy. The bathroom was large, clean and had ample hot water. As is traditional in Amsterdam, the houses are narrow and have steep stairs, but David carried my luggage for me.
We stayed 3 nights and would stay there again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located in the rear so all are equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A quick ten minute walk from Centraal Station takes you to this traditional canalside home. Chris and David let us drop our luggage after the overnight flight between 8-9am even though their last guests had yet to check out. From this location just off Newmarket, you have very easy walking access to much of central Amsterdam. The B&B has very cozy en suite rooms (complete with a bottle of wine), and access to the main kitchen so that you can cook your own breakfast. A truly friendly cat is also sure to make you welcome. The only warning -- traditional canalside houses are narrow which means that the stairs are steep and winding in a way that is challenging to the arthritic, but fun to the more able.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found Tulip an ideal place to stay - central location not far from all the sights, large room at the back of the house which was very quiet and a help yourself breakfast served from 8 to 11am which was a very relaxing way to start the day! Wine, coffee and soft drinks were provided in the room which was a nice touch too.

Chris and David were great hosts providing us with recommendations for eating out locally which we tried and were not disappointed.

We enjoyed our trip to Amsterdam very much and would thoroughly recommend Tulip!!
Thanks guys!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fatbikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I visited Amsterdam for a business trip for almost three weeks. I met the most accommodating Chris and David and greeted me with delight. I selected the Cloud9 Room, a heaven in the middle of the city. This room was right for me even though breakfast was not included. It didn't matter. There were loads of cafe and restaurants right out side the house -- less than a minute from the house anyway. Grocery store was within reach. Besides, I wake up very late. Breakfast was served very early. Hahaha.

I loved the interior. The colors of tulips were splashed on the lobby and the kitchen area and experienced the dutch countryside atmosphere.

Showers were running great and my room was very neat and you'll meet the owner of the place, Lojtya - the cat. Hehehe!

Truly a vacation I will never forget and absolutely a trip fit for a KING!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I spent 3 nights in Tulip of Amsterdam B&B and it was really nice.
The Amsterdam type house is really well decorated, you really feel welcome here and the location is just central. From the house you can easily walk to the sightseeing places and see as much as you want.
Chris and David are wonderful hosts, they make you feel like part of the family.
I would surely recommend this place and I wouldn't go anywhere else if I come back to Amsterdam one day.
Caroline fron France, may 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Property: Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing