We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another reason why we love Amsterdam!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Oh, I think it's the hardest review I've written by far... It is simple to write acid reviews about places and things that have disappointed you, so much easier to write nice things for places that you had the good fortune to discover.
But, when it comes to talk about PERFECTION, what could you add??? Especially when you see that many others before you have said pretty much everything that you could do it yourself?
We've realized (2 of us, plus our daughter) that, once again, we have made the perfect choice, when we're greeted by David (and Loytje). His smile won us instantly and assured us that we will almost certainly spend a week in Paradise.
Briefly about Tulip b@b- fantastic location (10 minutes walking from Central Station, in the middle of historical center), walking distance to anywhere, never had to use public transportation, perfect room, everything you possibly need, spotlessly clean, generous breakfast, ingenious type self-service (although, in some mornings, it wouldn't have been so bad to make us someone else the omelettes...).
The house is a terrible mix between old and new, art and utility, represents the essence of Amsterdam, past and present. Romantic, sexy, cool.
About hosts... a perfect combination between the enigmatic David and the effusive Chris, wonderful fill by Loytje, the adorable resident cat.
The perfect place for a base to discover the most beautiful city in the world!
P/S. Especially for David- another romanian language lesson- Multumim foarte mult (thank you very much)!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mateesescu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

The location of this little gem is perfect! Hosts David and Chris were very helpful and friendly, but not hovering over you like in some B&B's - we liked having our space.
The place is central (within walking distance) to many of the attractions - canal boats, red light district, train station, buses, shopping, Chinese district, etc.
We were warmly greeted by our hosts and the cat. Coffee was offered and served and then we were given a run down of the area, it's attractions, and how to get around. All questions were answered and we were informed to just ask if we had more questions. Maps were given to us with highlights pointed out and circled - perfect!
Our room was very clean, tastefully decorated with Dutch themed nick knacks and pictures. A lot of thoughtfulness went into the room.
The room had:
Fresh Flowers
Nespresso Coffee and Machine
Water kettle and teas
Assortment of Biscuits
Sparkling Water
Assortment of Cereals
Fruit Basket
Wine
Refrigerator
Small Flat Screen Cable TV
Small Table and 2 Chairs
Bathroom with sink, toilet, shower and a window which opens.
Hairdryer and Flat iron
Lots of hanging space for clothes

Note: Our room was not suitable for people who have problems with stairs. The stairs were very narrow and steep to climb. As well, there was a stair to step up into the bathroom.

We definitely recommend the Tulip B&B and we will definitely stay there again if we return to Amsterdam.

Book early to assure a room!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blitzpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam. The B&B was everything that we had hoped for, not a luxurious and stuffy Hilton, instead a beautifully decorated and fully equiped old Amsterdam accommodation in the heart of the city. The breakfast accomodation was excellent, the location was perfect, walking distance to anywhere in the city center, which allowed our total immersion into Amsterdam life. The managers, Chris and David, made our stay special, treating us like close friends, providing guidance on exploration of Amsterdam. The stairs to the rooms are steep, so it may not be the best accommodation for those travelers who are handicapped, unfortunately. That said, for us, it was great, when we return to Amsterdam we'll stay at the Tulip of Amsterdam. Don & Lori

Room Tip: As I said the stairs to the rooms are steep, not suited for handicapped travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 987S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The location of the B & B was perfect. Both Chris and David couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We had tons of questions about using the train, getting tickets for some of the museums and getting to some of the out of the area sites. David was happy to answer all of our questions and helped using his computer to reserve tickets and look up best times for connecting trains. Again the location couldn't have been better. We were there for a week and the were within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stubaru56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. An easy walk from Central Station. A great 'home from home' with friendly, helful hosts. Our room was lovely; nicely furnished with lots of little touches to make it special. The breakfast kitchen is a great idea; eat what you like and cook when you are ready. Then it is just a few minutes walk into the centre of the city. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. Thank you David & Chris (and Lotye)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TruroJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

David and Chris at Tulips were friendly and helpful to us even before we arrived answering all our nervous questions promptly. Arriving early and jet lagged from Texas, we were greeted with a coffee a chat and helpful information.
Our room was extremely clean, attractively decorated in blue and white with tulips everywhere and ample coat hangers. Included was a complimentary bottle of wine, snacks, coffee, tea, and soft drinks in the refrigerator. Breakfast was self-serve with many hot and cold options.
As previously noted by others, Tulips is Canalside and 1/2 block from lively Newmarket Square which had multiple venues each day and outdoor/indoor cafes perfect for eating, drinking and people watching; but as our room was in the rear, it was quiet. The bed and pillows were crisp and cozy. The bathroom was large, clean and had ample hot water. As is traditional in Amsterdam, the houses are narrow and have steep stairs, but David carried my luggage for me.
We stayed 3 nights and would stay there again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located in the rear so all are equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A quick ten minute walk from Centraal Station takes you to this traditional canalside home. Chris and David let us drop our luggage after the overnight flight between 8-9am even though their last guests had yet to check out. From this location just off Newmarket, you have very easy walking access to much of central Amsterdam. The B&B has very cozy en suite rooms (complete with a bottle of wine), and access to the main kitchen so that you can cook your own breakfast. A truly friendly cat is also sure to make you welcome. The only warning -- traditional canalside houses are narrow which means that the stairs are steep and winding in a way that is challenging to the arthritic, but fun to the more able.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 340 in Amsterdam
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £86 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing