We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made the city break to Amsterdam very special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent all round stay. Chris and David were welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts throughout our stay. Highly recommended. Right in the middle of the action. Easy to walk any where within inner and outer canal ring. Graham & Debra

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamleigh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I usually prefer hotels over B&Bs but this experience might just change my future bookings!

Let's start off with two reasons you probably should not book Tulip of Amsterdam:
- The B&B is located just next to the Red Light District. While the area seemed extremely safe and not at all dodgy, the more conservative guests might feel a bit offended walking around the area. There are lots of shops that offer "coffee", "toys" and "services" just a few streets away - If you catch my drift. ;-)
- The staircase and the bathroom are uncommonly narrow which might be a problem for some visitors. So keep this in mind before booking.

With this being said, everything else was simply wonderful. We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Tulip to the fullest. The location was convenient and we were able to reach all the main station, the museum and the shopping district by foot. The rooms but also the common area were utterly clean and well cared for. The breakfast was extensive with everything that we could have wished for, including a fully stocked fridge with more supplies. There were also mini fridges in the room with complimentary snacks and a bottle of wine.
What really stood out however was the service our generous host, Chris, provided. It was second to none. We received excellent advise for all the questions we had and truly felt welcome at all times. Chris also had the rare talent to be around whenever we had a query without ever being intrusive. We were also greeted with a bottle of Cava and a box of chocolate on our 2nd day as it was my girlfriend's birthday.

Should we visit Amsterdam again we will most certainly opt for Tulip B&B again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wei2Yue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This B&B is an interesting place to review, it had its good points and not so good points, I'll note them honestly below as I saw them and you can make you're own mind up as to whether this place is for you.
- location, very central on the edge of the red light district (not actually in the district I hasten to add), but not an up market district either and right next to a fishmonger. Whilst this wasn't a problem it is worth pointing out that there is a smell, but you cannot smell it in the B&B. An easy 10 mins walk from the train station
- friendly welcome and helpful owners
- small room, but clean and well stocked with breakfast snacks and fruit which was a real treat and a small fridge too - excellent - thank you!
- very steep steps to access room, if you have a large suitcase or have difficulty negotiating steps then maybe you'll need to think of another place
- uncomfy bed and this is where the B&B lost it for me, neither myself or my husband slept well for the 3 nights we were there and basically that's why you go to a B&B - to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulipofAmsterdam, Owner at Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are very thankful to read all the positive points but do regret to read that the overall-experience of these guests has not been up to their expectations.

As for the stairs, they are steep indeed – like in almost all historic houses in the centre of Amsterdam. However, we are more than happy to carry any luggage up and down the stairs. If you do have serious mobility problems, it is better to think of another place indeed – there is no elevator. Otherwise, we believe the stairs only add some charm to the experience of staying in a 350 year old historic building in the middle of the centre.

These guests booked our smallest room, which is 12m2. If this is too small, we do advise you to book one of our bigger accommodations. Our different rooms & room-sizes are clearly communicated on our website and on different booking platforms. In case of any doubt, please send us an e-mail.

As for the bed, we are using natural latex mattresses, all according to hotel-standard and 100% allergy-free. We learned that the large majority of our guests prefer this kind of bed. However, as we are aware of the fact that there is no bed which fits the preference of all, we do offer alternative mattresses for those who prefer to sleep in a less-firm bed. We would have been more than happy to change the bed for these guests, but were not aware of the issue. If these guests would have shared their discomfort during their stay with us, we would have had the chance to change their bed immediately.

As we do take the comments of our guests very seriously, we did decide however to re-think our communication-process regarding this issue. By doing so, we hope to avoid this situation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here on short notice in December 2013. A nice couple to tour the sites of Amsterdam. When we arrived we couldn't believe how easy it was to find (the directions are bang on) then to be welcomed by David and Chris made us almost feel at home.
David sat with us and went through a map to show us where we were located and the sites that were within walking distance. We spent 3 nights at the Tulip and would stay again if we come back. It was clean, the service was GREAT and the rooms had cute little touches that made it feel warmer. Definitely recommend The Tulip of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrownBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stead at the hotel from 13-16 february and we were pleasantly struck with quality of serviceThe place was very convenient, all within walking distance, the station, the channel, small small restaurants and the areasThe owner met us with a cup of coffee and told everything that we wanted to learn about Amsterdam. We spent unforgettable days off! We will be glad to return again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlisivnenko40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Tulip is a comfortable, clean place to stay in a great location with friendly staff and a house cat. There are little thoughtful touches throughout the property - it's obvious this B&B is a labor of love and not just a business.

The stairs up to the rooms are quite steep - that's about the only qualifying comment I could make about the Tulip.

Room Tip: The rooms are great - I just gave it a four out of five because of the steep stair climb which is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Very helpful and welcoming staff, comfortable room with useful guide books. Room contained dining table and fridge so easy to sort lunch. Basic and self service breakfast with use of a kitchen, but meant there was always perfect eggs for breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tibbshipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,480 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,825 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing