We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to beating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

You can read about all great features of that place in reviews of other customers - all is true. I only say that if you're looking for B&B apartments in central Amsterdam you can't find anything better regarding accommodation conditions, level of service, atmosphere and price. You can find even after-care service there - I left my rucksack in the train before our departure from Amsterdam and David helped me a lot in communication with NS train company regarding my lost (it's almost impossible to contact with NS from abroad).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WasMarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Chris and David were helpful in every way, from storing luggage to carrying luggage up the "Dutch staircase" to providing maps, train schedules, restaurant recommendations, wine, and breakfast food in our room to facilitate our verrry early morning trek to Alkmaar cheese auction. Great location, close to everything even a cab stand right outside the door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary or Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights with Chris and David and found they were excellent hosts, very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. We wanted to stay in a central area of old Amsterdam, in an old style of house, and the Tulip of Amsterdam was the perfect choice for us, complete with a very friendly house cat! Very quirky interior, but well appointed and a fun place to stay. We had the room at the top, back of the house which was quiet and had the added novelty of vaulted ceiling timbers! Breakfast was very sociable, sharing the dining kitchen with other guests, as you prepared your own breakfast from a vast selection of hot and cold food. We know where we will be staying next time we are in Amsterdam, we can't recommend it highly enough, thanks guys!

which included the National Holiday on Saturday for 'Kings Day'

Room Tip: When we were there the Kings Day events made the area very noisy at night in the lead up, so a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathygovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hi all
We stayed for a week and I can´t thank enough Chris & David ( the lovely owners ) for everything. The room was really nice, breakfast was amazing, Chris even took the time to buy chocolate cake for my girfriend and many other details after asking for our tastes & preferences.What to say about location . This was my third visit to Amsterdam and this location is honestly unbeatable. 1 minute away from the Red Light district and still quiet and classy . It´s right in the Niewmarkt surrounded by cafes and really close to the Chinatown were you have tons of great restaurants if you are a foody like us !. EVERY QUESTION we had they answered us always willing to help us and they made us feel like home. I really recommend this place and will defitinetly stay there every time I go back to the city . Thanks guys for everything and keep the good work :) !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice place to stay. A little noisy early mornings because of birds nest near the window.
Located in the heart of city. you don't really need public transport even for Amsterdam central station..
Very nice owners and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aidin594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location, wonderful hosts. Comfortable accommodations. The printed instructions made it easy to find this jewel of a B&B. No detail was overlooked. Marvelous breakfast, a great cafe next door and dozens of good restaurants very nearby. Hop on the tram and in a few minutes you are viewing the greatest art treasures in the world. In a word, Perfect

Room Tip: Buy a 3 day pass for the tram, cheaper that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Due to a flight delay, we arrived at the Tulip for a midnight check-in. Chris welcomed us with a much appreciated bottle of white wine. He invited us in and made us feel right at home. We've never encountered such a gracious and welcoming host.

Loytje is the the hotel entertainer and the star of the establishment. We have fallen in love with him and would've liked to spend more time with him.

The rooms are beautifully designed but beware of the steep stairs. If you find it hard to cope with the typical Amsterdam staircase, this one won't be an easy ride, particularly if you've just returned from a visit to one of the nearby coffeeshops.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lior c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 372 in Amsterdam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#5 of 372 in Amsterdam
253 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £136 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing