We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average meal”
Review of Sogno - CLOSED

Sogno
Price range: US$22 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Passion and service is the strength of Ristorante Sogno. We would like to welcome you for an evening of fine dining in an unique Italian atmosphere. Enjoy our fresh home made pasta's, excellent service and all the best that the Italian kitchen has to offer. Alberto Guardascione, Chef of Restaurant Sogno, will approach you with the Slow Food concept to let you discover the best quality items of the Italian cuisine. Through a daily hard work based on trust with his own suppliers, he promotes the Slow Food concept that safeguard small-scale quality productions that still use traditional methods. We are very proud of the recognition we have received from Ospitalita Italiana, an Italian certificate based upon quality, ambiance, service, cuisine and atmosphere. Terenzio Ignoni and his team are very pleased to welcome you as their guest in Ristorante Sogno! Terenzio Ignoni, with his own knowledge about wines, will recommend you suitable wines to let you experience the best wine and food pairing
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An average meal”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had dinner at Sogno as it was convienent to my hotel

The wait staff was friendly and overall attentive

The food was average, nothing special. Tjhe menu has quite a large selection of pasta dishes.
Had the sea bass (25 Euro) which was served with olives and tomato sauce, which I found a bit salty (I do not use any salt). Had a ask for a small green salad to go with dinner, as none was listed on the menu. Was charged 7.50 Euro which seemed a bit pricey for what I received.

The wine selection was average and opted for a glass of red.

As the restaurant is part of the NH hotel, there was no special ambience,etc. So, if you looking for an average meal with no surprises than i will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a special meal at a restuarant with charm then I would look elsewhere

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very very expensive ”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We start whit tuna tartare whit mind.... The fish was but the mind where is it??? 15€( very small )main course nothing to remember (27,50 €)...about wine .... Really really very expensive ... In Rome for exemple one bott. of LEONE -tasca D'almerita is 6€ from represents wine and about 8,50 in enotec.....(if you are not believe search one internet) and this wine is 44€....the service was olmost profession .... Again in Amsterdam and never at SOGNO

Helpful?
1 Thank giovanni-ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This restaurant looked very fancy and flash, and very expensive.
We went in as a last resort as we were too tired to walk anywhere from the hotel.
I ordered a lasagne where it said "ham and artichoke" on the menu.
When I got the meal it was dry, burnt, made with absolutely no tomato sauce, and had beef, not ham!
My partner had lamb shank which was more like beef where it was dry and he had to carve it off the bone, not normally what lamb looks like.
The best bit about the meal was the free bread oil and balsamic at the start.
Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bevvy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Very Best in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

The food here was reasonable in price, but exceptional in its preparation, healthy ingredients and taste. The ambiance was superb, but the care given to us by Raffaele, Marcello and Maja was outstanding. We walked all over this beautiful city, but never found another restaurant that compared. We returned to Sogno twice. John & Anna Marie from Connecticut, USA.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fresh atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and always enjoy the surprising menus. The staff are friendly and attentive, the restaurant looks very crisp, clean and airy and there are lovely views towards the Leidseplein. Tasty Italian food, without the boring choices so many restaurants offer. Alltogether an elegant and pleasant restaurant for an Italian meal in Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sogno also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing