We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #50 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel was the nicest hotel we stayed in on a 10 day tour. We paid 99 Euros a day and this included a very good breakfast. The staff were especially helpful at all times. I did find the bed was too soft for me as I like a firm bed however my wife was very happy with it. Lots of fresh clean towels and an excellent bathroom with very good shower and complimentary shower gel. The room was a very good size and very clean. All in all an excellent hotel for visiting Amsterdam. The tram stop was 100 meters from the hotel and took 15 minutes to get to town I believe a 24 hour tram ticket cost 8 Euros a day but we bought a 3 day pass for 16 Euros. Car parking was 10 Euros a day which the hotel organised when checking in. Tip, visit the House of Bols for a cocktail experience, well worth the 12.5 Euro cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike554155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had stayed at this quite, neighborhood style hotel for 4 night, together with our two kids. The hotel is brand new, modern designed, rooms are big and spacious with big windows overlooking the neighborhood. All staff members were at all times willing to help and be of assistance. The hotel is located around 8 km out of the city center, but both train and tram station are within 2 minutes walk. Around the hotel there is a supermarket and little local restaurants. Very pleasent, intimate stay at this lovely hotel. Most recommended!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is locate in a very nice and quiet neigbourhood, walking distance from all kosher restaurants, bakery and supermarket with kosher products.
The hotel serves a kosher breakfast with halav israel.
My only complain is I asked one of the staff to make the spring of the door softer, because I walk with sticks and it was hard for me to open the door as it was, the manager answered that they cannot do it because the maintenance specialist is in holiday for 3 weeks, and nobody knows how to do it, (a very poor and not reasonable excuse).
Beside this, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the friendly service of the front desk, especially Sylvia.

Room Tip: There is no cupboard in the room, so don't take clothes from suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arina1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciated your stay and are glad you returned home safely.

It is within the rules and regulations for fire safety that we cannot undo any ledges which hold can give any potential risk to your and other guests safety. It was a fact that our engineer was on a holiday, however this was not the reason that we could not help you. I am terrible sorry for this inconvenience. For future means please inform us accordingly if you have special request. We do have a hotel room for our disabled guest, which was perhaps more to your needs. However this room was occupied already.

I am most sorry you were misinformed about this fact.

Yours sincerely,



Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've just arrived back and already feel obligated to thank the wonderful staff and hotel manager!!- we stayed at the hotel for a week with our two daughters 6,8 From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel the service was perfect!-friendly and helpful staff Great service from a free breakfast to help with printing our tickets to an amusement park we ordered last minute and needed to print anything asked was met with a smile and helpfull information. The rooms were comfortable clean and well designed -cleaning service was great to. Located a half minute walk from a main tram/metro station that will take you strait to the center of it all in no more then 10 min trip-and still stay in a green calm spot For any jewish /shabbes observing Jew this hotel is a perfect choice since it's located right in the center of anything u might need and the hotel is well provided with anything to help ur stay an easier one from kosher breakfast to a card to place for the cleaning service on shabbat to leave your choice of lighting as it is..-thought out to small details! We will defiantly return and advice anyone looking for a great place to stay in Amsterdam To book this great place!:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yakob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I missed my flight in Amsterdam and ending up staying at this hotel, although it is expensive to get to the hotel via cab, we took the train over and had a great stay. The staff is super friendly. They even pre packaged a breakfast for us for our early flight we had

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gr8one816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The room is a good size, with basic standard of fittings. The bed is way too soft, the pillows an unusual shape. Everything is fairly new and in good order. The bathroom is good size and functions well. Bathroom supplies are basic multi-purpose pump bottle.

The breakfast is basic, but nice. Most things are individually packaged, so no problems with freshness.

Value is good, compared to the central Amsterdam hotels. The cost of parking is a signficant factor for inner Amsterdam hotels. Here, parking is free for the weekend. Service was very good. It is very quiet and dark, so sleep is good (except the soft bed).

The big negative is the location. It takes 20 minutes, plus walking and waiting time to get to the Centre of the city. The means popping into the hotel for a rest or out for a quick drink is not an option. In hindsight, we would pay the extra for the city stay, as it really impacted on the experience for a short visit (2 night). I would prefer to save the money in other areas (say on meals) next time and find a cheap parking solution.

My wife had issues with the smell of dogs in the hallway. The room was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarneyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am very sorry to read that you found the bed to soft. If the reception staff was aware of your discomfort we could have made your stay more comfortable by taking initiative to resolve your issue. We are very proud about our breakfast and stimulate freshness of our foods and hygiene.

Please be informed that we do not allow any pets in our hotel, except guide dogs for our vision impaired guests (which so far since the opening we did not had any requests for). As mentioned we like to keep an high comfort of hygiene in our hotel.

For your future booking please contact us directly at info.amsam@hiex.nl for your booking enquiry.

Yours sincerely,

Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed one night before returning to the states. The staff is fantastic, friendly and helpful with everything we needed. Rooms are new and nicely decorated. Breakfast was great. It's a little of the beaten path, near the metro station but 20 minutes out of the city center. A taxi arrived in five minutes to take us to the airport. A truly pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redinsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#41 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 376 in Amsterdam
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing