We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #47 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and i was very pleasantly surprised.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with my endless queries concerning attractions and things to do around.
I stayed in the first room next to the breakfast lounge. I was skeptical about the room as i thought i would be woken up early in the morning with the setting up of the breakfast area but as a matter of fact i did not hear a thing and my sleep was not disturbed.
The room was very comfortable and very spacious for a 3 star.
The easy access to subway/tram was definitely a plus point except that you can't use cash to buy tickets from the automatic machines at the tram stop opposite the hotel. You have to use a credit/ debit card.
Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtravelaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff and hotel.

As we understand our guests like to travel in a convenient way and do prefer a hassle free stay in a hotel. Therefore one of our services that we sell the public transportation tickets as well in the hotel and can be booked to your room account.

For your future travel to Amsterdam we are looking forward having you again with us as one of our guests.

Yours sincerely,


Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We experienced excellent service, comfortable beds, a spacious modern room and a really good location for travelling about North / South Holland.
Easy access to central Amsterdam from rail and tram station round the corner and also a handy shopping centre, all out of sight of the hotel but very conveniently close.
The only down sides are the parking costs from Monday to Friday (It is a public car park and charges from 0900 to 1900, though weekends are free) and the restaurant is a bit small so it can get quite busy at times.

Room Tip: Anywhere is good here.....
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeniVidiViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed in both the Holiday Inn hotels in Amsterdam. What a refreshing product. Fantastic staff and comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms. Keep going this way! We will be back. The only issue was that we could not stay in the same hotel since the where fully booked. But I suppose that is what happens when many people want a great hotel.

Room Tip: be quick or they might be booked. Liked what happened to us.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in this new holiday inn express several times since it opened this summer. Compaired to other holiday inn express hotel very nicely decorated.Rooms are very good. Flat screen, airco,wonderful big shower!!
Breakfast included but compaired to similar hotels a bit poor. Coffee!
We like to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Nothing wrong with this hotel per se - it does exactly what it says it will. Having said that, it is not exceptional either because how exceptional can a Holiday Inn Express be? Staff are friendly and helpful. All fixtures & fittings are brand new. Generous shower cubicle, all-purpose soap/shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. Kettle, mugs and 2 sachets each of coffee, decaff. coffee, creamer, sugar, sweeteners and teabags per day. Complimentary toothbrush, razor, comb etc. available on request. There seemed to be a maximum of 4 brand new bicycles available to hire but at a fixed price of €15 per day, no half-day options, there were more attractive options in town (Mike's Bikes at €6 for 4 hours was our choice and no complaints there!). Breakfast is continental style as advertised so not as full as in UK HI Express which offers a hot option too. No hot breakfast food here except toast - even the boiled eggs were cool. Orange marmelade was lacking for our stay although there were other flavours: cherry, strawberry plus honey and nutty/chocolate spreads. Prepacked individualised cheese, ham and processed meats were a bit mass-produced in appearance but hygienic. Table space was at a premium at rush-hour. An unfortunate if sometimes hilarious one-off incident was the fire alarm at 0715 one morning, caused by burning toast we were told later; it would have been all over in seconds but triggered an open microphone at the front reception desk to broadcast everything that was being said there to all the rooms at loud volume/with intermittent squeals of feedback and took the staff over half an hour to find out how to switch it off. Location is a bit of a way out of the centre of course, 20 mins by Metro 51 and 30 mins by tram 5 to the Centraal Station. Both types travel on the same lines and stop at different ends of the same platform just 50 metres away. The hotel is not immediately obvious if arriving by Metro/tram but look for the building called Plaza BCC which coincidentally shares the same corporate blue & green colours as HI Express and you will find the hotel just behind it. There is a small shopping centre also adjacent including a good supermarket. It is not on a straightforward route from the airport either although this didn't matter to us as we were flying in early and heading straight to the centre first (plenty of luggage lockers for hire at Centraal Station). Return to the airport from the hotel is most direct by Metro 51 to Zuid Station, Metro 50 to Lelyaan and then the Sprinter train from there to Schiphol. We would stay again based on price, cleanliness and adjacent shopping and transport links but we might be tempted away by more central hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dove C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your comment and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the fire alarm we have taken action directly the same day. Due to a electrical failure the microphone kept open indeed. This has been repaired by the electrician. In case of a future fire alarm the microphone will be turned off automatically after the general evacuation broadcast. I sincerely apologize if you experienced any inconvenience due to this alarm.

All HI Express Hotels changes per region, taking into consideration the local, National, culture. This is indeed for in the UK a cooked breakfast, whereas in the Netherlands a boiled egg is served with the continental breakfast.

We are very much looking forward having you as one of our guests in the future. If so, please contact us directly at info.amsam@hiex.nl.

Yours sincerely,

Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice hotel in short distance from city center. Pro: new and relatively cheap. Good continental breakfast incl. (weekend until 12.00). Quite a/c in room and great power shower. The bed mattresses could be more firmer but instead the pillows are very firm. Large, panoramic windows, possible to slightly open (for those who do not like a/c).

Service very good and attentive. Breakfast self service with dash of personal service from assistants (good job Mohamed). I would suggest to introduce trays and big trolleys for collection (to save time and space). Space of breakfast slightly cramped but manageable.

Good quality of products on breakfast esp. tea and coffee.

Reception team very attentive and helpful (thanks Sylvia for the umbrella-you saved our day).

Tram and metro stops just 200 yards from hotel (multi day pass for all public transport recommended -prices on www. gvb.nl website).

Overall highly recommend for those seeking no frills accommodation in close proximity to Amsterdam City Center.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KP I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel was the nicest hotel we stayed in on a 10 day tour. We paid 99 Euros a day and this included a very good breakfast. The staff were especially helpful at all times. I did find the bed was too soft for me as I like a firm bed however my wife was very happy with it. Lots of fresh clean towels and an excellent bathroom with very good shower and complimentary shower gel. The room was a very good size and very clean. All in all an excellent hotel for visiting Amsterdam. The tram stop was 100 meters from the hotel and took 15 minutes to get to town I believe a 24 hour tram ticket cost 8 Euros a day but we bought a 3 day pass for 16 Euros. Car parking was 10 Euros a day which the hotel organised when checking in. Tip, visit the House of Bols for a cocktail experience, well worth the 12.5 Euro cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike554155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
617 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £97 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing