We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #47 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A mixed bag!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

If you like to walk out in the evening and soak up the atmosphere this one is not for you! On the plus side the staff are great, there is free wifi and the hotel areas and rooms are very nice. Rooms have coffee and tea making things and a good free continental breakfast is included. There are free bikes if you fancy a trip out and the countryside is not far away. The hotel is close to a tram stop but it is a good 35 minutes into the main station of Amsterdam, the area around the hotel is very quiet with only a couple of restaurants. Try La Brochette (French) or Bellini (Italian). Other than that there is not a lot and for this reason you may want to stay closer to the centre. The hotel staff are very happy for you to buy some food at the local Jumbo supermarket which is very close by and they will provide plates etc for you to eat in the breakfast area. There is parking close by at about 9 euro for 24 hours which is cheap by Amsterdam standards. The downside for us was the bed......it seemed cheap and was so uncomfortable. Also the pillows left a lot to be desired, just too fat and overstuffed even the so called soft ones.I realise this has not been mentioned on TA before, perhaps I am picky having previously stayed at an Ibis where the bed was just fab. A decent nights sleep is a priority! Also there was nowhere to put clothes away, a few hangars in the room with a small hanging space but no drawers. I just don't like living out of a suitcase which is what was needed here.

Room Tip: Don't think there is great sound insulation between the rooms so ask for a quiet room if this bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pishy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear pishy1,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    268
    44
    3
    1
See reviews for
121
270
23
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Hotel service is simply first rate, friendly & extremely helpful. The Hotel provides a good breakfast to set you up for the day, which is continental style, with meats, boiled eggs, croissants, cereals & yoghurts.

2 Mins walk to the nearest Metro & Tram line which take you into Central Amsterdam & some other interesting stops on the way.

Definitely recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel is a credit to the group and has to be the best HI express that I've stayed in. Great rooms, modern areas, wonderful staff. Lauren (lorien?) was just brilliant helping out with trips etc and was so friendly. loved the hotel and quiet area with only a 25 min tram or metro into the city centre..,we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely. Very clean and modern. Staff who I came into contact with we're great and friendly and very good English.
The hotel is hidden away from 'main' Amsterdam. It's very quiet. However if you want the surreal ness kept at bay then this is the hotel for you.
I personally didn't like the fact on a night in the town it was on my mind about how to get back, as it'd cost about €35 to get back and no one likes to stump up that when it'd be €4 on the metro.
The buffet is very continental. Coisants, cereal, selection of cheese's, tea bags, spreads.
Don't expect no bacon and eggs but its a decent spread of food.
In brief, very nice hotel tucked away from the madness in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseiniho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a 3 day break in Amsterdam
Superb hotel
Staff were all fantastic , especially Chavi whose attention to detail was outstanding
Took 20 minutes by tram in to centre of Amsterdam- very easy
Would highly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieM4764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this hotel not knowing much about the area. It turned out to be an excellent value, clean, convenient and a place I would highly recommend. The two front desk staff that helped us could not do enough for us--after we were travelling all day to get to Amsterdam--their names were Yvonne and Alicia. The hotel manager went way out of her way to ensure that we got a room even though we were there way early. Linda de Jong was wonderful. I wish all places that we stay had staff like these super folks. We highly recommend this hotel! And we got a super price compared to everything else we priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! What a pleasure it was to hear about how our team members helped make your stay even more special. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I’ll be sure to share it will all my colleagues here at the hotel.

The next time you will visit Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

If you are looking for a good quality, comfortable, new hotel, around 20 mins on a direct tram line (it's a 2 minute walk from the hotel to the tram stop), this is a ideal. Admittedly it's outside of the city, but I've stayed there 3 times, and apart from service hitches during the first visit (it had just opened), if you just want a good priced, good quality sleep and satisfying breakfast, I can't fault it. Avoid the ground floor rooms as some noise does drift from reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themastersexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#40 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#142 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing