We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #50 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

3 night stay - Hotel located very close to Tram line 5 - station can be seen from the hotel - so if you are travelling by car, just leave it at the hotel and travel by public transport to the city center. Parking is free from Friday 6 p.m. to Monday 9 a.m. After that it is Euro 1.50 for an hour or Euro 9.00 I believe for the day. Hotel very comfortable and included Continental Breakfast which was very good indeed. The Receptionist in charge (Juliette - sorry, may have mis spelt that) on the night we checked in was very helpful and gave us good guidance to the surroundings and the city center.
The air-conditioning did not work all the time even though it showed a green light on the remote that it was on! Not sure if this is centrally controlled from a control room but it got a bit stuffy as it was a hot summer's day on one of our nights there.

Room Tip: Ideal for sight seeing Amsterdam city and the surroundings - if this is your aim than stay here and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here due to lack of rooms in central Amsterdam due to a very large convention. I wouldn't say the price was spectacular (because of demand from the convention) but in the end, this was a great place to stay. It is a little bit off the beaten path (many people could not give us directions), but it was in a quiet area just off one of the trams. Not a far trip at all to get to the center of Amsterdam. It was modern, clean, service was great. They had a very nice complimentary breakfast. One thing to note - it is in a residential "suburban" area and there aren't many restaurants or places to pick up food if it becomes late in the evening. We had no problem going to a nice dinner while out sightseeing and then taking the tram back late at night. The stop is about a one minute walk from the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The room was very modest, but quite modern. If you are going to be spending time outside of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesswc779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here earlier this year for a business two days. There was a really friendly welcome from reception, and I checked into an immaculate, standard Holiday Inn Express room -with comfortable bed and good quality bedding - together with a selection of pillows and a fine power shower. Breakfast was just what you would expect, and with fresh coffee and rolls it made a good start to the day . Public transport is fine for reaching central Amsterdam by frequent tram or metro (the station is 2 minutes from the hotel). Schiphol airport is easily reached by bus or metro. What cements the good impression is the outgoing and happy staff - always willing to help

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crwydryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed during a business trip there.
A typical HI Express, relatively new, great room, normal HI express breakfast, nothing spectular but worth the price.
Very friendly staff and good location.
Outside centre of Amsterdam in the south, but just a 3 minutes walk away from tram station. 30 minutes till central station, quite resonsable....and on the way to the centre you can explore much more of Amsterdam then the usual standards.
Quite residential area, parking no problem, plenty of spaces, not busy and between 6 pm and 9 am free of charge !
Will stay here again, definitely! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgbertRudolstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

It was very nice to read your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our first vacation (together my and my wife) since we had married in 2002, its was very hard to get my wife out from children, but when she got to the hotel she felt like home the service was great also the food in the morning the room was very nice and clean the area of the hotel is the ideal to be there in Amsterdam and feel a great vacation, i would like to thank all the hotel personal and special to HAVI that helps us in all the issues that was(minor that related to find good food and good place to go, next year I'm coming with the 'Gang', again thanks for great vacation.
Yoram Malka.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoram_malka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Amsterdam. We would like our guests to consider our hotel as a home away from home and it is very nice to see that we did succeed.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here in late May on business. Arrived early around 10am to a friendly welcome on reception. My room wasn't ready so dropped of my luggage into a secure room by reception and went off to explore the sights of Amsterdam. My room was on the 1st floor above reception and was perfect for all my needs. Roomy, with comfortable beds and a selection of pillows and an awesome shower. Also a good selection of food for breakfast.
I cannot fault the hotel at all. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable and the location was great. Very quiet area with a combined tram and metro stop just 200 yards from the front door to take you into central Amsterdam within 15 minutes. Restaurants, supermarkets and shops just round the corner.
Will return here if I'm ever in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay with us. I will discuss your nice comment with our team and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Modern hotel with comfortable rooms and complete breakfast. Clean and well isolated. Easy access to the center by metro and close to the airport. Peaceful location close to the university. Recomendable

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Nowicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 376 in Amsterdam
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing