We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #45 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is definitely off the beaten path. The rooms are well appointed but could use some storing space and drawers. The room lacks some amenities such as a small fridge and a safe. The breakfast was good, what expected from an european Holiday Inn. The hotel is also very well managed and the personnel are friendly.
The hotel is conveniently located two short blocks away from the subway and trams 5 stations. This tram is perfect to go to most of the downtown attractions and museums. In fact, tram 5 is all we used while visiting Amsterdam. I highly recommend this hotel for solo travel or couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJ-Traveler-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay. Staff are great, welcoming and cant do enough for you. Great area with local shops near by and you really feel like your one of the locals. Highly recommended. Room was modern with funky bathroom with massive shower. Transport links are excellent number 5 tram into amsterdam centraal in 25 mins. ��2.60 for 24hr travel... great.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed at hotel for a short break, the hotel is 30 minutes from Dam Square by the tram which leaves just outside. The hotel is new, clean and well kept, the free breakfast is a good bonus. The thing that struck us was that the reception always greeted us when leaving or returning.

The area is quiet and secure, our car was parked up for 3 days @ £8 a day with no problems.
We will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mywinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I can not express how impressed my whole family was with this hotel.

We arrived and was promptly told about the parking (you need to pay but it's quite cheap).
We had three downstairs rooms alongside each other.

After booking in we all went to our rooms to 'chill out' before going to the city centre. The rooms was quiet we couldn't hear much going on even coming from the room next door (with my sister and her toddler - they are loud as heck but we didn't hear them).

The room its self was very clean, comfortable, modern and stylish! Excellent bathroom!

We had a coffee in the small lounge area near the reception before we all gathered to go to the centre. A new member of staff had just started and she was excellent in the service she provided she explained the tram system gave us a map explained there was some work going on so it was taking a detour showed us some places to go and even wrote down the station we needed to get off at when we returned incase we got lost.

My Nephew was not well so had antibiotic medicine with him which they kindly kept in the fridge for us as well as milk for his bottles.

Has free fast wifi and a decent TV in the room for when you just want to chilll from all the walking.

Will be returning here when ever i go to Amsterdam and i don't think i could give a more positive review, it was truly exceptional!

Only Con and thats being extremely picky is that there is plenty of tea and coffee in the rooms but only two sugar and two milk. But you are welcome to buy stuff from the supermarket and bring it back to the hotel so this was easy to resolve :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxine-Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, as it best evaluates our product and services offerings. The quantity of guest supplies in the room are according to the Holiday Inn Express Standards, please be advised that you can always call the Front Desk for extra supplies.

Thank you for letting me know and hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel 25th September and wish we had stayed longer! The staff are very helpful even letting us put antibiotics in their fridge along with milk both for our 2 year old grandson. The rooms are spotless. The breakfast very good with plenty to choose from. We WILL be staying there in the future (all 6 and a half of us) but it will be for more than one night next time! We all keep talking about how much we enjoyed it and want to go back NOW :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_N_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job, I have shared your compliments with them. I hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express South Amsterdam for 10 days at the end of August, 2013. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived early and our assigned room was not ready, they re-arranged things and gave us a room that we could move into right away. The people at the front desk always cheerfully answered questions and helped with special requests, and even the kitchen housekeeping staffs always had a cheerful greeting every day.

This hotel also has many amenities for observant Jews. Its daily breakfast contains a kosher section (including cheese, eggs, bread, milk, and (some) yogurts), with a sign indicating which items are kosher. They even have kosher sandwiches for sale in the lobby. We made arrangements with a local caterer to deliver food for Shabbat, and the staff put it in their refrigerator, and let us eat in the main dining area. The hotel staff makes special arrangements for Shabbat keys, Shabbat lamps, and keeping the lights on in your rooms, and is also very knowledgeable regarding local synagogues, stores and restaurants (the hotel is within easy walking distance to many of these). They also have a lot of this information printed up and readily available at the front desk.

The hotel itself is modern and very clean, with air conditioning and free wi-fi. The only thing that we felt the rooms lacked were shelves or drawers, but this is a very minor issue. We had a great stay, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s our pleasure to offer you great service.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit any time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a great stay at this very modern hotel. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was modern and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They had our room ready even though we arrive early, helped us with tickets, logistics and sightseeing advice and providing us with wine glasses for our evening drinks. They were very accommodating when we got food from the local store and set up for our dinner and drinks in the breakfast area (we were very careful to leave it tidy when we left since it was such a treat to have somewhere for us to all sit down and eat together). At first, we were concerned about the distance to town, but the tram stop was very close and it was an easy and pleasant ride in and out of town. The convenience of the grocery store, Jumbo, was an added plus. We enjoyed the breakfast which we found filling and tasty. We were in room 1 which we were concerned was very close to the lobby and the door which led onto our hallway, but we were not disturbed at all by any noise. We found the room location very convenient for access to the front door, the lobby and the breakfast dining area. We loved having the free wi-fi and the use of their two computers if we needed them. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arpc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing