We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #46 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This really is a good Hotel. The service is excellent and the friendly staff helpful. The Hotel in general is first rate and a continental breakfast is included. The rooms are nicely furnished, soundproofed, well appointed and tended daily by the service staff. The hotel is only 25 minutes from Amsterdam central station by metro (No 51 line). The Number 5 tram provides a different route into central Amsterdam. Both of these are only 100 - 150 yards from the entrance of the Hotel which is easy to spot from the station platform. There is a good supermarket again only 150 yards away. You can purchase the superb public transport passes from the hotel reception. Wonderful stay, will definitely return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    271
    44
    5
    1
See reviews for
124
272
23
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great value, and a short trip into town makes this place a very good deal.
Free parking on the weekends also.
Only downside is limited local restaurants, just eat in town instead, and go to cafe de klos.
Catch train to Centraal then just wander.

Helpful?
Thank Lincoln Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean, good size and quiet room. Good staff. Very close to the public transport, tram 5 the best way to go to the main attractions in the center. Public parking at reasonable price. Free wifi and breakfast included.
Breakfast area too small compared to the number of rooms, it might be difficult to find a table.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank faith6feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect location as it's right next door to the train station and a 5 minute ride into Amsterdam! The hotel was so clean and we felt very safe. The breakfast was delicious and more than we expected. Will definitely stay here if we come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review to share your experience with other travellers!
We are very pleased to read your compliments with regards to your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, well kept and friendly staff. Breakfast free and more than adequate (continental style) Public parking charges during the week of €8.40 a day just outside but couldn't advise taking a car to Amsterdam really. Would definitely use again. Only downfall is no evening catering but have arrangement with local delivery fast food outlet or eat before returning to hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Neat and clean but a very small hotel. Not too many choices for breakfast. Expensive compared to the services it offers. But the location makes up for it. Walking distance from the supermarket and tram station.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. I’m sorry that you were unhappy with the selection of breakfast items. With regards to our product; Holiday Inn Express provides a complete package with rooms of 20m2, bathroom with shower, free continental breakfast and free wifi which meets, and luckily in many cases exceeds, the expectations our guests.

Please let me know if there’s anything else we can do to improve our service to you.
We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you’re in the area.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Myself and my other half stayed here in January 2014.

We were looking for a base for our 3 night stay in Amsterdam and saw this place and thought it looked great.

The hotel is around a 20 minute tram ride in to the city centre which for us we actually quite liked as it meant we saw a little bit more of the "real Amsterdam" and also had time to check where we were going etc before getting off in the city!

There was also a Metro at the tram stop which I believe is a little bit quicker. Both the Metro/Tram stop is a 1 minute walk from the hotel just by the shops.

The hotel itself is extremely clean with all furnishings well maintained and the communal areas looking spotless. I saw them being cleaned on a regular basis.

The bedrooms were also really well maintained and looked great. The bathrooms in particular the shower were great and just what you needed after being on your feet all day!!

You could not argue with the breakfast - a continental selection with meats, croissants, eggs, toast etc and gallons of coffee setting you up for the day ahead. The staff (apart from house keeping!!) were extremely friendly :)

I would return to this hotel for sure if I ever came back to Amsterdam.

Just 2 points:

1. We had our Do Not Disturb sign on our door for 2 days running as the first night we had a looooong day and wanted to have a lay in. At around 11am on the second day we had a knock on the door of the room and a rather grumpy lady from house keeping stated that as we had our DND sign on the door for 2 days straight they HAD to come in and clean the room??? I stated the room did not cleaning and we were relaxing (it really did not need cleaning) and yet this lady stated that it was policy that if DND was on the door for 2 days running they HAD to clean the room and that it was in the rooms book - which it quite clearly was not. As I did not back down another female asked me when we were checking out to which I said tomorrow and then all of a sudden was told not to worry about it - what a silly situation that was!

2. The TV is advertised as having a multitude of foreign channels such as BBC1 & 2 - In reality there were around 6 stations, all in Dutch. Whilst I did not intend to spend my time watching TV in Amsterdam it would have been nice to watch a little in bed after a long day. If that could get sorted and also a quick word with housekeeping then this place would get 5 stars!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeyr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, as it best evaluates our product and services offerings.

I would like to inform you that we have TV's with multitude of foreign channels in our rooms. It might be possible that there was an error with the TV channels during your stay.

I regret to read that housekeeping came in your room while you had a 'do not disturb' card on your door. For security reasons, it is our policy to check the room if it has the DND sign on the second day as well. Unfortunately this procedure was not communicated to you by our housekeeping department.

My sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in our hotel. Please be assured that the issue has been discussed within our team and various actions are already in place to ensure this does not re-occur in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#38 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing