We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Nearby Hotels
US$663
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
407
294
57
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
294
57
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskosher breakfastjumbo supermarkettram and metrola brochettecity centrebig supermarketpublic transportquiet areatakes minutescentral stationgood sizegreat showerfree wifiboiled eggsminute walk from the hotelday passhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My hubby and I booked a last minute trip to Amsterdam and there were very few choices to be had in regards to hotels. I was originally bummed I couldn't find availability at a nice hotel in central Amsterdam.
When we arrived I was pleasantly shocked by how nice this Holiday Inn was! The staff was very friendly, the hotel seemed brand new and the room was wonderful! It was so big! The bathroom had a wonderful stand alone shower. The only negative was that the hot water and water pressure in the shower kept changing. It was very difficult to find a warm setting without burning my skin or freezing myself. The room was super clean and the beds were very comfortable. I love how they had "hard" and "soft" pillows to choose from.
I found the location actually very ideal. It was in a quite area compared to central Amsterdam. The metro was about 2 minutes from the hotel and it was a scenic 20 minute ride into town. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank purpleladyslippers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My fiance and i stayed here from 5th-8th April and in short THIS HOTEL IS AMAZING!!!!

GREAT LOCATION....tram stop yards from hotel and just a short 20 mins ride into town....fabulous!!! Supermarket, flower shop, bakery and pharmacy right beside hotel with decent prices not tourist prices. Such a quiet area at nigt! Bliss!!

GREAT STAFF....they couldnt do enough for us, so polite, their english is superb!!

This hotel is uber clean and modern...i challenge u to find an unclean surface!! ROOMS ARE SPOTLESS, CLEANED REGULARLY AND SOMETHING YOUD EXPECT OF A 5 STAR HOTEL NOT 3!!

BREAKFAST IS GREAT....good selection and the bread rolls are yummy!!!

PRICE IS EXCELLENT CONSIDERING YOU PAY OVER €500 for 3 nites with no breakfast in a 2 star dirty hovel around dam square.

I CANNOT SPEAK HIGHLY ENOUGH OF THIS WONDERFUL HOTEL....WILL BE STAYING HERE AGAIN ON OUR NEXT TRIP TO AMSTERDAM FOR SURE!! AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller10150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is conveniently located close to tram line 5. If you do not want to go out at night, or would like to be in the middle of the buzzbuzz of a major city, this is a hotel with usually a very good price-quality relationship. Breakfast is always included in the room rate, and the price for single and double occupancy are the same, the hotel is clean, not very noisy with very friendly and has a helpful staff. The basic breakfast is simple but good. Kosher food is also available. We had a good stay.

Room Tip: Sometimes there is the noise of landing Airpalnes from Schiphol. Could be that you hear this less in a room on the west side of the building.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoppevM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is just a 25-minute journey out of Centraal Station on the No. 5 tram or the No. 51 Metro, which stop just a three minute walk away. Tickets for unlimited travel for any number of days are available at Centraal Station.

The room was extremely clean and evenings and nights were very comfortably quiet. The staff were wonderful - always greeting you with a smile when you returned and most helpful when planning what to do during the day. There are a few restaurants within a walk from the hotel but (recommended by staff) the Indonesian Takeaway is well worth a visit - and the Hotel is quite happy for you to use the breakfast dining area, plates and cutlery to enjoy the meal in peace, with the bonus of the small hotel bar nearby.

We really would recommend the Holiday Inn Express South and, the next time we visit Amsterdam, we will certainly make for this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ter888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear you spent a nice time in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This really is a good Hotel. The service is excellent and the friendly staff helpful. The Hotel in general is first rate and a continental breakfast is included. The rooms are nicely furnished, soundproofed, well appointed and tended daily by the service staff. The hotel is only 25 minutes from Amsterdam central station by metro (No 51 line). The Number 5 tram provides a different route into central Amsterdam. Both of these are only 100 - 150 yards from the entrance of the Hotel which is easy to spot from the station platform. There is a good supermarket again only 150 yards away. You can purchase the superb public transport passes from the hotel reception. Wonderful stay, will definitely return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews