We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great hotel on tripadvisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #47 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another great hotel on tripadvisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Schiphol airport train (€2.60) to Amsterdam Zuid (direction Utrecht Centraal) 8-10 minutes. We will then use the IAmsterdam card to take Tram 5 or Metro 51 (direction Westwijk) to Van Boshuizenstraat stop. Hotel was able to store our luggage, but rooms were available and we checked in and went on a canal cruise. The staff at this hotel are outstanding and met our every need. We were a party of 5 with 3 rooms and had breakfast included in out room rate. Anything we asked for or wanted, the hotel staff was very accommodating. Both of the restaurant recommendations were great and we enjoyed our stay. How can you go wrong with the best from Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    272
    44
    5
    1
See reviews for
125
274
23
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very new and clean hotel.
Express service: quick breakfast, check-in, check-out. Efficient. Crowded.
Rooms and beds are small.
Airconditioning silent.

5-10 min walk to Ziggo Dome, Arena, Heineken Music Hall, Train Station (train takes 15 min to Amsterdam Central) and other Arena facilities, shops, restaurant.

Parking 20 euros a day.
When going into the city, park at Arena P1 and get a P+R (park & ride) ticket. You can park all day for 8 euro's when you bought your metroticket at the GVB kiosk within the garage.

Holiday Inn Express reception is on the 2nd floor. Ground floor is for the general Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander_Stulemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was nice to read your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your compliments!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had reserved an apartment using FlipKey for our 2 week stay, unfortunately when we arrived at the apartment the hall REALLY smelled and the apartment did too. The cleanliness and apartment set-up was unacceptable so we got out of there fast. The only place we could find that was reasonable with space was the Holiday Inn. They were so helpful, cheerful and professional. Our room was clean and roomy, internet and breakfast was free and they even had bikes you could take out for a few hours for free as well!

Room Tip: we had the 2nd floor room 215, it's a little large and quiterr since it is at the end of the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your stay with us. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

this is a good place to stay with good rooms, clean and new.
Close to Metro and Tram going downtown.
Besides the price per night, the only negative point is that there is no free parking during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayukirool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, as it best evaluates our product and services offerings.
I would like to inform you that there is a public parking area next to the hotel with several spaces at € 8,40 for a full day and in the weekend free of charge.

Please let me know if there’s anything else we can do to improve our service to you.

Sincerely,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family has a planned trip in July 2014 to drive from Paris through Belgium into The Netherlands. We always choose to stay in Holiday Inns as a first choice because we have always had a good experience, and a membership their the IHG Rewards program. Upon reading the reviews we were satisfied with the location. These hotels do not allow more then two people to a room, which is unfortunate with a family of four who enjoy being in the same room, but understanding these guidelines we booked two rooms. We are traveling with a child with a disability so we saw there were rooms that had a sofa bed so we made a special request to have a room with a sofa bed to attend to our special needs child and his therapies. We were told through the corporate offices that a sofa bed was not always available but that a roller bed could always be requested because there are only a limited number of rooms with the sofa. We made our reservations with the two rooms requesting the sofa bed if available or the roller bed with the understanding that there would be an additional charge of $54 per night for the roller bed. Traveling as a family with a child with a disability can sometimes add additional costs and we expect that on occasion. So we are prepared to pay more. However, AFTER booking the rooms, we promptly got an email from the front end manager Alma [--] who told us that there would Be NO roller beds available even with a month in advanced booking. (A first for us!) and repeated questions on just how many people were in the rooms was it 3 or 5 people? Then a suggestion to get three rooms while completely ignoring our explanation of a special needs child and the therapies needed. When we responded to the email to give the details they needed for our sons care, and to explain that we were 4 people in two rooms, our letter was never responded to. Knowing this was not going to work for us, we looked for another hotel that met could meet our accommodation requests and canceled our reservations less than 24 hours later at The Holiday Inn South Amsterdam. The reservations we made were handled both on reward points and a full payment non refundable booking. We did not anticipate such accusations nor insensitivity as we use Holiday Inns often. We received an email of the canceled nights from Alma [--] explaining that we would not be getting a refund for the night paid on the non refundable booking. I suppose that is the risk: You pay first then are informed that you will not be getting the requests at all, not even a chance of them. We wonder if the rewards points being used is what did not give us a chance to pay an additional $54 per night for a bed, not sure. We were, however, offered to re-book for an additional $101 after our cancellations. I will say, this hotel is good at getting money from you no matter what. This hotel gets a score of 10 for making money and a score of 0 for accommodating disabled persons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks for sharing your experience.
With regards to our product; Holiday Inn Express provides a complete package with rooms of 20m2, bathroom with shower, free continental breakfast and free wifi.
Our hotel has 80 rooms, one room is designed for disabled guests and eight rooms have a sofa or rollaway bed. Unfortunately we were not able to provide you a room with an extra bed and we regret that you were told that a rollaway bed could always be requested which is not the case. Because we felt very sorry not being able to accommodate you, we have refunded the room charge despite the non-refundable conditions which you have booked. We will take every measure to ensure you that this doesn’t happen again and we hope that you will stay with us on your next visit so we will have the opportunity to make this up to you.

Your sincerely,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a great place to stay. Close to Metro to get downtown. Great Rooms good bed. Great bathroom. The Breakfast had plenty of good choices. Great little restaurant around the corner. Would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have left my receipt of the City Tax I paid at the hotel. I emailed the hotel, requesting them to send it to me. The receipt was sent to me within 30 minutes. I really appreciated their efficiency.
I have to add that I enjoyed their service and hospitality very much. I will definitely stay in the hotel when I go to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South!
It's great that you have appreciated the Holiday Inn Express concept that we deliver.

We look forward welcoming you back in our hotel on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind Regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#38 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing