We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #48 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed 2 days here as we were visiting our daughter at University. The hotel is in a quiet location out of town but is only 2 mins walk to the trams which are fast and frequent into the city centre. Parking is about 8 Euro per day but free from 7.00pm Friday evening until 9.00 AM Monday morning.
Staff here were superb and definately better than budget hotel staff you find in some areas - esp UK!
Room was clean and nicely appointed. Bar and breakfast areas though small were excellent and though the breakfast was not extensive it was more than adequate to put us on for the day. I would recommend this hotel for visiting the University , and also the city if you use the tram system that the hotel can provide day cards which made it so easy and cheap.

Room Tip: No real advice other than floor 2 was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cablegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed in the staff are very good the rooms are excellent and clean the breakfast was also very good it is out of Amsterdam centre but a fifteen minute ride on the tram to the centre of the city

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neptune100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great compliment. It is great to hear that you consider our hotel as one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels! We always do our best to provide our guests service on the highest level. We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the hotel upon a future visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Amsterdam.
It is a modern, bright and very clean hotel.
Car parking was free for the weekend as it is in a business area. The hotel provides bicycles. There is also public transport into the centre, but we didn’t try that.
The receptionists were very welcoming and helpful both on arrival and departure.

We had a double room in a white and blue colour scheme, very fresh, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was relatively large with an excellent shower. There is air conditioning and also the option to tilt/open a window. The ‘wardrobe’ was an open hanging space, but that is fine as this is more of a business hotel designed for short stays.

Free and uncomplicated WIFI.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. There was a full range with something for everyone. No warm food, but various cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, eggs, warm rolls and pastries; a coffee machine with standard coffee, cappuccino, tea, juices and milk. There is also a small fridge with pre-packed portions of kosher food. The staff were continuously refilling plates and keeping the area clean – very pleasant and helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlottesTravelWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile


The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of Amsterdam, close to the Van Boshuizenstraat tram stop and a pretty nature reserve called 'T Kleine Loopveld. It is a clean and modern hotel with friendly and knowledeable staff. The rooms have tea and coffee facilities but no mini-bar but you can get drinks any time at reception. A nice feature of the bathroom is a blue night light that saves one’s eyes from getting dazzled when getting up in the dark.

The hotel has a very international feel and cater for people of the Jewish faith with a Kosher breakfast and a ‘shabbat observer’ card which you can leave in your room so that the housekeeping staff leave the lights on.

You can hire bikes for 16 euros each per day which seems quite expensive when you consider that a 48 hour unlimited tram pass costs 12 euros (available from reception).

A great place to stay and you don’t get ripped off like some of the hotels in the main areas of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zippyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our facilities.
I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!


Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great staff and helpfull, calm rooms and the breakfast was delicious!
The Tram is only about 3 minutes by foot which bring's you downtown Amsterdam! There is a Public parking place near by and at the weekends with no charge
Great hotel for less money to explore Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read your notes and thank you so much for your compliments towards the helpfulness of our team members! I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Pros
Staff great and very helpful (as last reviewer said especially Inge)
Superb location with extensive tram and metro services right next to the hotel to take you into town. Easily accessible from Schiphol using Amsterdam Zuid station. Supermarket close by.
Rooms nice with a great shower and BBC 1/2 - quiet air con which makes a change from most hotels.
Cons
Not very much at all
Breakfast was included but it would have been nice to be able to get hot food like eggs. Very samey if you stay a few nights.
No restaurant on site but theres loads up town by taking Tram 5 to Leidesplein.
Amsterdam hotel tax collected on check out even though I'd prepaid for my stay. Can't blame hotel for the tax but still a bit of a shock to be asked to pay more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. From the outset the staff were first class ( especially Inge ) They were always on hand to assist and were more than helpful when it came to giving directiions etc. Room was clean and functional with maid service each day.Would defineately recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del-wood54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 372 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing