We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Papeneiland Pub

Papeneiland Pub
Ranked #1,433 of 3,897 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Contemporary
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Was enticed in by the fairy lights. Great atmosphere and even better apple pie! Great find to relax in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aishah C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lachen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Charming, historic pub”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Papeneiland Pub was just across Prinsengracht from our B&B and therefore the natural first choice to have a beer after late night arrival. As we felt very comfortable, we returned every night. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
“Best apple pie ever with incredibly fairly price”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was appealed by the lovely and warm ambience when I saw its photos on a book and I decided to give it a go. What I didn't expect is how tasty the apple pie can be!! And I was also stunned by the portion in terms of the price. It is a tiny corner café (or more specifically, a brown café) with two levels situating by the canal, I went there in the afternoon and there wasn't fully seated. I truly suggest Papeneiland Pub to whoever is going to Amsterdam and want to find a fine place with good dessert to stay away from the tourist crowd. I will definitely visit again next time I go to AMS.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Timeless Cafe Life Encapsulated”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Located where the Prinsengracht meets Brouwersgracht, Cafe Papeneiland is a wonderful place to sit and have a beer or coffee, listen to the regulars chat, and settle in for a spell to watch the hustle and bustle through the large windows or sit outside. I found it warm and friendly and really enjoyed the ambience of this old brown cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Been here many times over the last dozen Years. Last here on a very hot August day. Greeted with a smile from Barmaid Babs and Owner Tiel. Just sit back enjoy a beer and Apple Pie and relax and enjoy the ambiance and History; bliss!

Helpful?
Thank PeterBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papeneiland Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Papeneiland Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing