We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Ranked #327 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for short break.”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for our trip to Amsterdam. On arriving we had to pay city tax which was about €20. We booked this hotel through easyjet and it was classed as 4*. We stayed in a double room which was a bit small but ideal just to sleep and shower for me and the girlfriend. The room was clean, Shower was brilliant, Wifi in the hotel was free. They had a restaurant/food area which we never tried. Tram stop was outside hotel no.25 goes to central station 15 min journey. Hotel was just a short tram journey to Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank icyauno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    92
    88
    52
    61
See reviews for
22
109
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It is a good hotel. A little bit expensive and the breakfast was not inclusive in the price which was aa down side of it. Rooms were clean and quiet. Probably we got the rooms on the old side of the hotel and those seem to be smaller. There is a tram line just in front of the hotel which takes you in 15 minutes to the centre. We tried walking and it gets you there in 25 minutes. Very nice service.

Room Tip: better on the new side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed one night. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Room a bit on the small side but it was good value. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roblesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I did not book directly with the hotel. Booked 2 rooms online and encountered some surprises upon check in. When I booked the room I thought my credit card was charged but there was only a hold put on the card. I had to pay for the rooms on arrival and the exchange rate was higher and resulted in an additional $40 dollars. The website indicated that there was parking available. Yes there is but it is about a 20 minute tram ride and walk or expensive hourly parking on the street near the hotel that was always full. We took the tram to the parking and had to drag our suitcases to and from the hotel. The parking garage was 16 euros. The rooms were clean and modern. The bathroom had European style tub/shower, toiletries, and a hairdryer. Our room faced the street with the tram so there was some noise when the tram was operating. Breakfast was 15 euros and was adequate. There were restaurants and shops near the hotel. A large flea market is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You can buy a day pass for the tram and it was easy to get to the town center by tram. Hop on hop off buss stop was a short walk from the hotel and a great way to see Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to avoid surprises. Do not take a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Savoy for 2 nights on business. Good location with clean presentable rooms. Check in fast and efficient with all wifi details given. Room very clean and fresh with view over street. No noise nuisance. Breakfast was adequate with a good choice but a more powerful toaster would be useful.
Check out had no problem.
All in all the stay was good value compared to other locales and would certainly have no problems in recommending or staying there again.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank spatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Arrival: Check in was simple and the member of staff friendly.

Car Parking: As we had arrived by car we were informed that since it was Easter street parking would be free until 9.00am on the Tuesday. The hotel has no private parking. Parking turned out to be 2.5km away at the Olympic Stadium. The up side was parking was €8 for 24 hours plus a return tram ticket for each person in the car, there was still a 500m or so walk to the hotel at the end of the tram ride OK no big deal in the way of a walk but a nuisance. If you stay in Amsterdam it would be best not to take a car. If you want to see the bulb fields and the Keukenhoff Gardens by car then think about near by Haarlem. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel will take you to the city centre, just buy your ticket on the tram.

Room: A little small but very clean and well looked after. The room had a TV, twin beds, a safe and a mini fridge but no tea / coffee making facilities – for that you had to go down to the lounge/breakfast room. The shower was over the bath which while it worked well is something I dislike because of all the climbing in and out but again the room was very clean. The bedroom had a small “balcony” shared with another room that provided a view over the back gardens of the surrounding buildings. Somewhere to go to check the weather but little else, it didn't even provide much light to the room.

Food: Self-service breakfast which was OK but nothing special, choice of cereals, cold meat, fruit (some fresh some tinned). The hot food was scrambled egg – a little over done, beans, and sausages etc't., didn't try them so can't comment on the quality. Various breads were available along with croissants. The toaster was of the light domestic variety and took too so long to do anything I was loosing the will to live and settled for scrambled eggs on warm bread. Orange juice from a machine, coffee from a machine, which was very good... what does it say about the place if everyone talks about how good the coffee machine was? The breakfast room itself was clean but a bit too utilitarian for 4 stars.

Want and evening meal? Not available. For anything other than breakfast or snacks you have to leave the hotel (this is 4 star remember). Fortunately the street has many good restaurants to choose from but on a wet night with the temperature at 5C it would have been nice to have the choice to eat in the hotel.

Checkout was as easy as checking in but I was a bit miffed having to lug the cases into the car while two members of the staff stood smoking. Perhaps I was expecting too much from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelp_clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

we stayed here during Febuary when the weather was very cold,we booked through Venere,whom still on their website promote this hotel as offering "free drinks in the lounge" we have stayed with this hotel a couple of years ago when they offered an all inclusive package,so when i saw the price on Venere for our dates i jumped at it,what a dissapointment when we arrived,the hotel has been taken over and no longer offer all inclusive and asked if we wanted to buy breakfast,again we thought this was included,i wasnt happy to say the least,we didnt purchase breakfast as it was overpriced.
The hotel itself is in a quiet area about 20 min tam ride from Dam Sq,so best to buy travel pass,there isnt much open at night in this area so had to travel back into city,the rooms are clean and the beds are so comfy,electronic type,dvd player in room,nice bathroom,didnt think much of the staff,not happy looking or friendly,i wont be staying here again.
I did email Venere to complain but no answer back, we actually ended up having one of the best trips we've had in this amazing city,but cost us a lot more than originaly thought,next visit in June

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTimbergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,709 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#219 of 367 in Amsterdam
711 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#174 of 367 in Amsterdam
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#270 of 367 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#301 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing